We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We relaxed in this beautiful place enjoying all it has to offer”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Loire Valley Retreat
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 15, 2009

We went to Chateau de Charge as we were looking for a place to get together with friends who live in various parts of the world. We wanted to enjoy our time together, being able to relax around a glass of wine and/or by the pool and also discover the beauty of the Castles.

Our hosts renovated this place with taste, combining tradition and modernity. They made sure we always had we needed both at the Chateau but also to best wander around.

There is much more to discover in the region.. We will be back either for a romantic week-end or with our friends.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vincent-Veronika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (338)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

323 - 329 of 338 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2009

We stayed for just the one night in Chateau de Chargé, and it was utterly fabulous, the only regret we had was not to have stayed longer! Charlotte, Jérôme and Louis are wonderfully welcoming and so attentive to the needs of their guests.

One of the huge plus points from our point of view was the 'child friendlyness' of the establishment, all the little ones are perfectly catered for right down to Ceebies in the morning....

The guest rooms are really incredible and the family suite is out of this world, it has been restored and tastefully decorated and is really spacious. There are gorgeous views onto both the courtyard at the front of the Chateau and the gardens at the back. The childrens room was perfect for the girls and the bathroom in the tower was really fun.

Both my husband and I found the whole experience really relaxing, and I know the little ones had a great time too. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Weemush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2009

Top quality service in all departments
Rooms extremely well appointed with quality furnishings and products.Very spacious
Much productive thought had gone into the needs and wishes of guests of all ages
and those of varying interests. Beautiful guest sitting room and excellent guest kitchen
Relaxed atmosphere but plenty to do and many spectacular places of interest and beauty
to visit. A haven for lovers of fine wine and good food.
Our age group ranged from 22 to 60 and all were happy

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jumellesBrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2009

We (as a family) had a great time at Chateau de Charge, it is not easy to find some where where children are really welcomed - in a lot of places they are tolerated!!
Our very busy 4 yr old was very happy whether playing in the courtyard and in the play area in the garden and of course the heated outdoor pool,she also got to help our host Jerome to harvest potatoes from the garden.
Us adults were looked after too,Jerome treated us to an evening sampling/tasting some less known local wines explaining types of soil etc.Sitting out in the courtyard in the setting sun. Charlotte is a mine of information about things to do in the area and there is plenty....Zoos,farms, chateaus,wineries,castles...the list can go on and on and on..
The accommodation is wonderful large rooms for families ,our room had a great bathroom with an enormous bath,good sized shower and loads of space.
Breakfasts were a really relaxed affair..I mean relaxed as in you weren't put under loads of pressure to be in and out of the kitchen by an absolute time. Plenty of croissants,pain au raisin and pain au chocolate.
Having a kitchen to cook something for ourselves in the evening was a bonus and there is a pretty good supermarket nearby(by car) in Chinon to pick up supplies as you need them
All in all a very good experience and this is only their 1st season things can only get even better and better.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BilliWicklow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2009

Last weekend saw us through a French experience truly memorable! It was our short vacation in the heart of France for 3 days.

Since Monday the 1st June was a holiday in a few countries in Europe on account of Whit Monday (or Pentecost Monday), we had been planning to make the best of the weekend. So we drove off on Saturday the 30th May morning to the Loire Valley region, the valley along Loire, the longest river in France, and known for its chateaux & wines.

We chose to stay at Chateau de Chargé, a private luxury chateau, dating back to 1429, located in complete isolation between farmlands on the banks of the Vienne, a tributary of the river Loire, and a few kilometers away from the commune of Chinon, in the ''department'' (district) of Indre-et-Loire in central France.

We arrived in the evening at around 6pm to the chateau after a driving for over 650 kms. The journey took an extra hour since the GPS directed us to take the inner ring of Paris instead of outer, and Paris traffic, even on a holiday, is heavy. It was made worse by an accident that caused a jam for several kilometers. The journey till Tours, the capital of Indre-et-Loire, was typical motorway. After Tours the drive became more scenic. We were greeted upon arrival by Charlotte, an Englishwoman and her French husband, Jerome. The Anglo-French couple, both with international careers in the past, bought the property seeped in history & wine cellars a couple of years ago, worked hard on making it perfect by 2009 Easter to let their guests in modern times experience royal comfort in an old time castle meant for the French aristocracy. What adds to the flavour of the place is that unlike a large & swank commercial hotel, there are just four suites, and that Charlotte & Jerome live there with Louis, their four year old son, their 2 cats, and their dog Milou (the French name for Snowy, Tintin's dog). Charlotte, besides being a fantastic cook & a lovely hostess, and Jerome, besides being a wine aficionado & a great host, are both wonderful & caring people, and are able to make one feel at home immediately.

After unpacking we took a shower, changed & met for an apéritif at the garden. Charlotte's brother & his wife, who were travelling back to England the next day, joined us. The garden where we sat is situated across the living room with a view to the kitchen garden, the sheds, and the fields beyond. Jerome opened a bottle of a local white sparkling wine (not allowed to call it champagne, for territorial copyrights!) and Charlotte got us crostini & nuts to munch on.

We moved for dinner to the dining room for guests. Jerome suggested a local red wine which was good. Charlotte had prepared a tasty meal of a quiche with goat cheese, leek & bacon for an entrée, a beef casserole & a pork tagine for the main course, 3 kinds of cheese before dessert, and a pear tart from a local bakery for dessert. Jerome left the three of us to dine in private after lighting a fire at the old-fashioned fireplace. After dinner we put Nano, our son, to bed and joined the rest in the living room for more wine & long stimulating post dinner conversations. Charlotte & Jerome are extremely good conversationalists, and the evening, therefore, ended well.

After a good night's sleep followed by a breakfast of juice, bacon, croissants & coffee, we set out in our car to explore the region. Charlotte & Jerome gave us a couple of maps & some tips on what to do. We visited 3 chateaux, one at Usse which had inspired the tale of the Sleeping Beauty, one at Azay-le-Rideau and one at Villandry with a lovely garden. We also walked a bit alongside the river, and drove back to Chinon for cakes & coffee, and for visiting a wine cave.

That evening Jerome asked whether we preferred to have dinner with them, to which we gladly agreed. We met again for apéritifs at the garden; today Jerome opened a bottle of a local rosé wine and explained some concepts of wine through distinction by flavours & smells. Tonight's dinner was in the family dining room alongside the open kitchen, and was as delectable as it could get. Charlotte served a salad with ham & cheese as starter, followed by a main course of Pork Casserole & Coq au Vin, served with rice ( & french fries, especially for Nano), a selection of 4 kinds of cheeses, and an apricot tart baked by her & served with vanilla ice-cream. Jerome served a white & a red wine from the region. The post dinner conversations with the wines continued on the dinner table after Nano went to bed.

It was tough leaving their hospitality the next day. We left around 1 in the afternoon after a visit to the wine cellar & picking up some wines to bring back.

Arjun Basu, Antwerp, Belgium, 4th June 2009

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arjun_basu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 29, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2016, traveled as a couple
1  Thank karend323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 29, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank David7556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chinon hotels
1.2 mi away
Chateau de Marcay
Chateau de Marcay
#1 of 1 in Marcay
516 reviews
2.2 mi away
Imago
Imago
#1 of 2 in La Roche-Clermault
95 reviews
4.0 mi away
Domaine du Heron
Domaine du Heron
#1 of 1 in Riviere
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Manoir de la Giraudiere
Manoir de la Giraudiere
#1 of 1 in Beaumont-en-Veron
171 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hotel Diderot
Hotel Diderot
#1 of 15 in Chinon
927 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hotel Au Sans Souci
Hotel Au Sans Souci
#4 of 15 in Chinon
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loire Valley Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loire Valley Retreat

Address: 2 rue de Charge, 37500, Chinon, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Chinon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Chinon
Price Range: $254 - $294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four beautiful self contained cottages set in a 15th-century Loire Valley Chateau and its outbuildings, entirely and lovingly renovated in 2008 & 2011 by the English and French owner managers. Peace and tranquility combined with warm hospitality. Very family friendly. Delicious French table d'hote meals available three evenings, breakfast included every day. Fully gated heated outdoor pool, free wifi, babysitting available, fantastic range of Loire Valley wines. Suites to suit a couple, a family of up to five, or book the entire place to sleep up to 16. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Loire Valley Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loire Valley Retreat Hotel Chinon
Loire Valley Retreat Chinon, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing