We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A truly great spot in chateau country”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Loire Valley Retreat
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We had such a great time two years ago when we brought our grandchildren that we brought 10 friends this time to experience the wonderful hospitality of Charlotte and Jerome. As travelling foodies, our stay couldn't have been nicer or more accomodating. We were able to visi t a goat cheese farm, two vineyards, have a picnic lunch in one of the wine cellars, visit local markets, and experience a cooking demo with the top chef in Chinon. All this accompanied by excellent local wines. Charlotte and Jerome did an outstanding job for our group. Don't pass up an opportunity to stay here!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sweetwater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (338)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 338 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2013

We had an absolutely delightful stay at the Loire Valley Retreat and our only criticism is of ourselves - we wished we'd stayed longer!

Upon arrival we were promptly greeted by our hosts, Jerome and Charlotte, and shown to our generously proportioned room, a shared living area and breakfast room and the grounds around the house.

The chateau has a historic yet homely feel and we thought the property was beautifully maintained and felt quintessentially French. For us it was a lovely taste of French country life and we felt we could have spent much longer there.

We loved the town of Chinon, where we went for dinner on the first night. (Chinon is a short drive of about 10 minutes up the road and, now that we've explored much more of France, I can conclude that it is definitely one of the nicest towns that we've visited.) However, we were also very content to have dinner at the chateau itself, which we did on our remaining two evenings there. It was on the slightly more expensive side, but based on the four delicious courses we ate, I can assure you that it was good value for money for delicious home-cooked French fare. (The only part of me that wasn't so grateful is my waistline, but I've accepted that this is an important part of the French culinary experience!)

This is definitely a very family friendly place. There is a cute pet donkey in the backyard, as well as a goat and some sheep (don't worry, there is adequate fencing around them if you're less keen on animals!) Although we were travelling as a young couple without children, we quite liked this aspect and we would definitely visit again.

My only advice would be to plan your activities perhaps a little more than we did in advance, depending how active you like to be. There is so much to see in terms of castles in the local areas and beautiful villages that I felt like we could have seen more during our time in the Loire Valley. Then again, the chateau is equally a great spot for R&R, so it really depends on your intentions!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelWritingAddict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

This was our second stay here and we loved it just as much (if not more) than last time. We stayed in the "La Tour" accommodation which had a huge bedroom for us, a smaller one for our 21 month old and downstairs an open plan kitchen / lounge. The accommodation was to an excellent standard.

We opted to eat at the property for 6 nights during our week stay (the kitchen closes on a Wednesday). This suited us really well as it meant we could have some wine with dinner and not have to worry about getting around etc etc The childrens' meal at 6pm was excellent too and our son loved it. Overall the food is fantastic!!

There is a heated swimming pool, swing and slide, lots of toys, various animals including a donkey, goats and chickens. All of this meant that our son had a lovely time there. There was always something for him to do or play with. A fellow guest described the place as "parent friendly" and I think that is so accurate as it made everything so easy for parents. That's not to say that only parents are welcome, as that is not the case. There were lots of couples without children staying when we were there and everyone said how amazing the place is.

Finally there are lots and lots of things to do within the Loire Valley region. We visited a Bioparc, Terra Botanica, a fair amount of chateau with child friendly gardens and an aquarium to name a few of those things. They were all excellent!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MichasUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Excellent stay. Kids centre.
We loved being there. One of the places where a warm atmosphere is to have children. Your children and yourself can relax. Very nice. The combination of welcome, rooms, food and wine make it one of our favorites places to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laurens v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

An exceptional stay, with a lovely family. This stay was very comfortable and the food was excellent. Our host provided a welcome that was more akin to staying with family and friends.
The Chateau is very comfortable and we stayed in the 2 person boulangerie suite which provided UK television, a very comfortable bed and modern bathroom.
I have no hesitation on recommending a stay at the chateau, with Charlotte and Jerome, and with lots to do in this area of France it makes for a perfect holiday.

Room Tip: This venue prides itself on being family friendly and welcomes children and babies; however the gene...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeoffSurryUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

This was our first holiday with a baby in tow (7 months old) and we were slightly worried about how it would go. We needn't have been! Charlotte & Jerome had thought of everything: from the box of toys left in the room to the home cooked baby food every evening.

For the grown ups it was also great. The chateau is in a lovely setting, the rooms are comfortable and the food was very good. But what makes it excellent is the hosts. Charlotte and Jerome are really friendly and welcoming and have created a wonderful atmosphere at their charming hotel. There are so many little touches (that you don't get at other places) that add up to an excellent holiday.

Room Tip: This is also a place we'd stay without kids but would ask for the Boulangerie as it is a bit fur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Milloney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

We found the Loire Valley Retreat on a website advertising family friendly locations. It looked beautiful and just what we were looking for, and on our arrival we were certainly not disappointed. In fact the beauty of the chateau and its location surpassed all our expectations. The chateau itself is stunning and the rooms are tastefully and thoughtfully furnished. The grounds are lovely and spacious and surrounded by beautiful countryside as far as the eye can see.

The children loved the outside space with its playground, trampoline, swimming pool and vast gardens. They fed the goats and donkey in the evening, and collected fresh eggs from the hens which they wrote their names on and kept for breakfast the following morning.

No review would be complete though without mentioning the owners, Charlotte and Jerome. They could not have been more helpful or friendly. Being parents themselves they recommended brilliant days out with the kids, from child friendly chateaux to picturesque picnic spots. Nothing was too much trouble and they made us feel very welcome (and Jerome has an excellent taste in wines!).

Hopefully we'll be back next year!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BurleyBantam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chinon hotels
1.2 mi away
Chateau de Marcay
Chateau de Marcay
#1 of 1 in Marcay
516 reviews
2.2 mi away
Imago
Imago
#1 of 2 in La Roche-Clermault
95 reviews
4.0 mi away
Domaine du Heron
Domaine du Heron
#1 of 1 in Riviere
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Manoir de la Giraudiere
Manoir de la Giraudiere
#1 of 1 in Beaumont-en-Veron
171 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hotel Diderot
Hotel Diderot
#1 of 15 in Chinon
927 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hotel Au Sans Souci
Hotel Au Sans Souci
#4 of 15 in Chinon
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loire Valley Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loire Valley Retreat

Address: 2 rue de Charge, 37500, Chinon, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Chinon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Chinon
Price Range: $254 - $294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four beautiful self contained cottages set in a 15th-century Loire Valley Chateau and its outbuildings, entirely and lovingly renovated in 2008 & 2011 by the English and French owner managers. Peace and tranquility combined with warm hospitality. Very family friendly. Delicious French table d'hote meals available three evenings, breakfast included every day. Fully gated heated outdoor pool, free wifi, babysitting available, fantastic range of Loire Valley wines. Suites to suit a couple, a family of up to five, or book the entire place to sleep up to 16. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Loire Valley Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loire Valley Retreat Hotel Chinon
Loire Valley Retreat Chinon, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing