We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highlight of Our Vacation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Loire Valley Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Loire Valley Retreat
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Highlight of Our Vacation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

Best. Place. Ever. Jerome and Charlotte have created the single most restful, friendly, satisfying vacation lodging we have ever visited. Perfect combination of history--restored 15th Century (and earlier) buildings, with 400 year-old graffiti--and modern luxury in the form of the pool, stunning rooms, etc. Excellent food, including a special, early meal for kids. Jerome's focus on well-priced local wine is an unexpected plus. Extremely kid friendly--I can see from the other reviews that our daughter was not the only kid who literally cried when we had to leave!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    320
    8
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
157
120
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Kirkland, Washington
Level Contributor
245 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

Lovely retreat near the sweet town of Chinon. Jerome and Charlotte do work graciously to make your stay all tha tyou wish it to be - whether helping you with a day itenerary or making your day on property relaxing. Jerome knows his wines and it was fun to discover some local special ones - hard for us to find even in Toulouse. These are from low sulphite productions.
Dinner for kids served at 6pm if you wish at a large kid friendly table makes life so easy. Our daughter loved this and didnt want us to go out in the evening. Frankly after a day of touring it was a welcome respite to return back to the Chateau. Here we could chill on property by the pool or feed the donkey. Dinner for adults was at 8pm so most of the kids were thus fed and tucked nicely into their rooms, yet we ate outside near the rooms so we were closeby as needed.
We arrived and were greeted by Jerome and offered a welcome glass of local rose as the kids ate and the adults toasted. Was nice to hear from other guests about their journeys here too.
The rooms are well appointed. We even had some grafitti tucked by our window from th 1700s from the kids on property. It was fantastic.
there is a reason it is 1 on TA for family retreat. It is both welcoming to families and yet also zen and peaceful for the adults. Well done!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lajolla1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

Imagine driving through rolling fields of green and gold and coming upon a welcoming oasis of hospitality that makes you feel right at home in a property with historic character and old-world charm. Add to that hosts and the cutest kids who make you feel like you are the only guest. If you have kids who love pets and nature this is also a great place to come meet, pet and feed Caesar the donkey, the goat, the chocolate brown sheep, chickens, and a very sweet cat and the star Milo the dog.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carlyle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

I usually am looking a bit forward to going home, but not this time. My daughter actually cried when we left. Staying at the Loire Valley Retreat was definitely the highlight of our vacation and I absolutely loved the kids meals they had almost every night...and the kids loved it too. The adult dinners and breakfasts were too good actually, as I gained more than a couple pounds. It was so peaceful and relaxing there and plenty of things for the kids to do that I'm trying to figure out when we can all go back again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moretown, Vermont
Level Contributor
100 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

During our 15 day exploration of France and Italy, the Loire Valley Retreat was by far our most absolute favorite place. The Chateau Charge itself is not to be believed: gorgeous, yet restrained; a mirage in a sea of wheat and poppy fields, yet oh so real. Refined and elegant, yet down-to-earth and comforting. Charlotte and Jerome are first-class hosts and inn-keepers, attending to all our needs and wants. They are so friendly and generous, we feel as if we made friends, not acquaintances. Our room in the main chateau, the family suite Le Grenier à Sel, was so tasteful, so comfortable, and so grand. The complementary mini-fridge was restocked every day, as was our the assortment of in-room espressos and teas, as well as the scrumptious L'Occitane en Provence toiletries in the luxury bathroom. Robes and slippers included, as well as a heated towel rank, deep bathtub, and over-sized shower. Breakfast in the dining room is generous and more than filling: pain au chocolat, croissants, eggs, cereals, yogurts, cheeses, meats, lox, nutellas, jellies, and more. We ate all three nights at the Chateau, under the careful and exquisite culinary skills of Chef Franc. We loved being able to explore the Tourraine and Loire Valley countryside all day, but come home at the end of the day, only needing to freshen up for dinner at 8 pm right at the Chateau. Perfect. Chinon itself is a most lovely medieval town with an incredible fortress to explore. You are perfectly situated to explore the famous (and not so famous) chateaux of the Loire Valley right from Chinon.

I would go back in a heartbeat: it was the highlight of our grand, fairy tale European adventure. Dreams really do come true: Thank you Charlotte and Jerome from the bottom of my heart!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank snowyknoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

We would like to thank Charlotte and Jerome for a wonderful stay at Chateau de Charge at the end of this June.
Getting there was easy having been given excellent directions from Chinon. The Chateau is wonderfully rural, the wildlife is excellent, especially the owls but it is still within very easy reach of Chinon, a town with a chateau, a beautiful river,market,shops etc.
Our accommodation the Boulangerie was to a very high specification in all aspects, thoroughly clean, spacious, charming, what more could you want !
The breakfast was excellent. The evening meal was also extremely good, with lots of helpfull
advice about the possible choice of wine, we ate at the chateau every night but one on our stay. As a result of the atmosphere we soon made friends with the other guests, offering tips to each other about the possible places to visit etc.
There are lots to offer for all ages quiet corners in the garden, a spotless outdoor swimming pool, play areas and equipment for children and a guest lounge.
The area is an excellent centre for visiting the Loire, Vienne and Cher valleys. On this visit to France we especially enjoyed the magnificent gardens at Villandry and Leonardo de Vinci's house at Amboise, but the list of places to visit for all ages is huge.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

This was the perfect place to spend a few days in the beautiful French countryside after busy Paris. Our two teenage children enjoyed the experience as much as we did. A gorgeous chateau, good food, swimming pool and all of this close to the beautiful little town of Chinon (which of course has its very own fort!). There is so much to see in this stunning area and we loved our time here. Charlotte and Jerome were welcoming and helpful and made us feel right at home too. Excellent!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aussiedowns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chinon
1.2 mi away
Chateau de Marcay
Chateau de Marcay
#1 of 1 in Marcay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
20.9 mi away
Le Haut des Lys
Le Haut des Lys
#1 of 3 in Villandry
5.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
4.6 mi away
Logis Manoir de la Giraudiere
Logis Manoir de la Giraudiere
#1 of 1 in Beaumont-en-Veron
4.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Hotel Diderot
Hotel Diderot
#1 of 15 in Chinon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 878 reviews
8.5 mi away
Fontevraud L'Hotel
Fontevraud L'Hotel
#1 of 3 in Fontevraud-l'Abbaye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
16.9 mi away
Chateau De Verrieres
Chateau De Verrieres
#5 of 24 in Saumur
5.0 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loire Valley Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loire Valley Retreat

Property: Loire Valley Retreat
Address: 2 rue de Charge, 37500, Chinon, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Chinon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Chinon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four beautiful self contained cottages set in a 15th-century Loire Valley Chateau and its outbuildings, entirely and lovingly renovated in 2008 & 2011 by the English and French owner managers. Peace and tranquility combined with warm hospitality. Very family friendly. Delicious French table d'hote meals available three evenings, breakfast included every day. Fully gated heated outdoor pool, free wifi, babysitting available, fantastic range of Loire Valley wines. Suites to suit a couple, a family of up to five, or book the entire place to sleep up to 16. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Loire Valley Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loire Valley Retreat Hotel Chinon
Loire Valley Retreat Chinon, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing