We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second Visit, just as spectacular”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Loire Valley Retreat
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Second Visit, just as spectacular”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We made our first trip to Loire Valley Retreat one year ago and enjoyed every moment. This second trip was just as fantastic! Looking at the 200 top reviews other guests have already left, I'm not surprised at the consistent top rating they have earned. Everything- absolutely everything is perfect. The rooms, the service, the food, the facilities, the welcoming attitude to children (rare in France)- this place is a gem. In addition, this area of the Loire is gastronomically and culturally rich. There is no shortage of things to do or simply places to be and soak in. One highlight of this last trip was our wine tour with Alan- we felt like we had a real peek into the art and love of winemaking in this region. A plus all around- you'll adore this property and its owners!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Sylvia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    329
    8
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
164
120
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We (2 adults, 5yr old and 3yr old) stayed for a week at Chateau de Charge, and it was a fabulous experience. This is a wonderful property that has been renovated to the highest standards, and we could not have asked for more from Jerome and Charlotte, the owners. It was an ideal property for our family to stay.

We stayed in the main house, in a room ideal for families - a huge sitting room/main bedroom, with fireplace, sofa, chairs, desk, TV and double bed, connecting to a smaller room with 3 single beds and a wide selection of toys, and connecting into the bathroom (in the circular tower of the house!) The room was decorated and maintained to a very high standard, was tidy, clean and very comfortable. The TV receives British channels. The views from the room were delightful, including a view over the play area which the children adored - swings, slide, play-house and climbing wall. Next to the play area, the mini-farm included a donkey, goat, 3 sheep and 3 lambs (turning into 4 during our stay!)

Charlotte and Jerome (owners and hosts) could not have been more helpful for the entire stay - they had pre-booked bicycles for us, were full of suggestions for places to visit, and were more than happy to accomodate any special requests. Things like toys in the room, children friendly menu for dinner, and drawing things at dinner time make all the difference.

Jerome's extremely well-stocked 'wall of wine', guaranteed not available in supermarkets, deserves special mention. Every bottle has been personally selected, and comes with a story behind it and at very reasonable prices. The only disappointment is that a week's visit is too short to try every bottle...

I cannot recommend this property highly enough - we felt like we were at a home from home, and it was an excellent base to explore the area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank sheepdip2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here 18 months ago and arranged another visit for a family celebration. They were 13 adults, one wheelchair user and 4 children. All of us were all very nicely taken care of and many personal touches were made for the birthday "boy". Jerome and Charlotte are extremely hospitable and nothing seems too much trouble to ensure all guests enjoy their stay from the personal welcome to each member of our party to the wave goodbye. Our lasting memory will be the family meals and wine flights we enjoyed, with the ingredients and wine sourced locally (from a friend down the road).

Thank you both once again, we wish you a successful 2013 and happy 40th to you both this year.

From the Kings, Wilkins, Mogridge, Quintrell and the Bessents

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cassidyandbobby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We found is very refreshing to find quality accommodation in the Loire Valley that was very family friendly. The owners have small children and this place caters for families beautifully with play equipment, cubby houses, animals to feed, drawing at dinner time, earlier dinner for kiddies if needed, baby monitors, toys in the family rooms, dvds etc. We had a wonderful time and were sorry we could only stay the one night. The chateau, rooms and grounds are stunning. We got the family room with the separate kids room which was no problem. Rooms were huge and decorated to a high standard with fires and also a mini bar fridge. The beds were the most comfortable I've ever slept on (with the exception of my own!). We had dinner at the Chateau and it was very enjoyable fresh and to a high standard. Breakfast was excellent too. Excellent choice of wines to purchase and enjoy.
I have nothing bad to say about the place and the setting in the middle of the county fields is also stunning. We hope to return one day.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kyliedbu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

After our trip at La Cimentelle in Avallon, we spent a lovely time here at the Loire valley retreat.
Beautiful setting. The B&B was gorgeous, rooms tidy and clean. The service was high standard.
We felt as if we were at friends home. Lovely stay. The Loire Valley is stunning. Lots to see and discover. It is a must. Thank you for all your attention.
We will be back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PPZO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin, ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

My husband, son (age 3) and daughter (age 1) stayed with Jerome and Charlotte in June 2012 and I have to say we had a lovely time. Charlotte and Jerome are very accomodating. We stayed in a family room which was absolutely huge! The children had their own room adjoining ours, again tons of space. There was lots to keep our kids busy each day: toys galore (my son loved building lego on the terrace outside the breakfast area) a great playground and a lovely and safe pool. The food was very nice and Jerome has an excellent wine list and is happy to recommend wine for any occasion. We felt very much part of the family, enjoying the family dinners with the children outside. It was possibly the best family holiday one could hope for....lets face it travelling with toddlers is never easy! we spent quite a bit of time at the chateau, venturing out for mini day trips in the morning and relaxing outside while our little one napped upstairs (baby monitor outside!).
All in all, a very pleasant stay and also reasonably priced. I rarely write a review on tripadvisor (last time was 2008 I think) but have traveled quite a bit. Nowhere is perfect but Loire Valley Retreat comes fairly close.
Thank you Charlotte and Jerome (and your great kids! and Phillipe the chef) for a great vacation and hope that all is well with the baby!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jennifer m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We (8 of us) love to travel a little off the beaten path. Just 10 minutes outside of Chinon, we found this fabulous Chateau. Renovated beautifully with modern baths, but old charm preserved in the bedrooms and throughout the living space. Easy access to all the sites in the Western Loire Valley. No need to search for a restaurant, the meals were excellent, we only planned to dine on site one evening but immediately booked our second. As we visited in late October, we were the only guests, so we had the dining room to ourselves, our hostess and private chef who gave us outstanding options for our 4 course meals Excellent wine cellar with a great selection of moderately priced Loire Valley wines, so if you don't get to all the vineyards, you can have great tastings in the Chateau. Regrettably, our stay was only two nights - we should have booked a week. Charlotte was an exceptional hostess. Don't miss this gem. This was the best lodging, dining and wine we had during or 10 day tour through Loire, Normandy and Bruges.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are oversized, modern facilities The upstairs suite is plenty of space for a fami...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Loring F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chinon
1.2 mi away
Chateau de Marcay
Chateau de Marcay
#1 of 1 in Marcay
498 reviews
20.9 mi away
Le Haut des Lys
Le Haut des Lys
#1 of 4 in Villandry
283 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hotel Diderot
Hotel Diderot
#1 of 15 in Chinon
912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.7 mi away
Chateau de Rochecotte
Chateau de Rochecotte
#1 of 2 in Langeais
283 reviews
8.5 mi away
Fontevraud L'Hotel
Fontevraud L'Hotel
#1 of 3 in Fontevraud-l'Abbaye
404 reviews
15.8 mi away
Hotel de Biencourt
Hotel de Biencourt
#1 of 10 in Azay-le-Rideau
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loire Valley Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loire Valley Retreat

Property: Loire Valley Retreat
Address: 2 rue de Charge, 37500, Chinon, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Chinon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Chinon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four beautiful self contained cottages set in a 15th-century Loire Valley Chateau and its outbuildings, entirely and lovingly renovated in 2008 & 2011 by the English and French owner managers. Peace and tranquility combined with warm hospitality. Very family friendly. Delicious French table d'hote meals available three evenings, breakfast included every day. Fully gated heated outdoor pool, free wifi, babysitting available, fantastic range of Loire Valley wines. Suites to suit a couple, a family of up to five, or book the entire place to sleep up to 16. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Loire Valley Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loire Valley Retreat Hotel Chinon
Loire Valley Retreat Chinon, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing