We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another truly wonderful holiday!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Loire Valley Retreat - Chateau de Charge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We have just returned from our third summer holiday at Chateau de Charge and once again found it to be everything we were hoping for. Charlotte and Jerome are exceptional hosts and the quality of their accommodation and service has been outstanding for all the time that we have been coming here. We can’t recommend it highly enough. We will be returning again sometime soon!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bfai57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (338)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

145 - 151 of 338 reviews

Reviewed September 21, 2012

I took my girlfriend here for a surprise weekend, and ended up surprised myself. Located in the Boulangerie room (which has tastefully incorpoated remnants of an archaic bakery), the layout of the grounds gives you a feeling of private space while only being a short walk across the courtyard to grab a bottle of local wine, or wander through to the swmiming pool. We loved the unique touches (the tomato garden in ruins), the incredible architecture, and the super-well thought through hospitality - nothing was a problem.

Chinon, the area it's located, is beautiful and loaded with good restaurants and good wine, not to mention interesting nearby towns, town markets and castles within bicycle distance.

I would come back here or recommend this place without hesitation.

Room Tip: No idea - I think we got "the leftovers" and it was superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wandering_josh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

This was our second visit to Chateau de Charge and it did not disappoint. Charlotte and Jerome are such excellent hosts and now with Philippe, their new French chef, the combination is awesome. Everything works here, from the quality of the rooms to the ease of bringing your children to a place that is so child friendly. In addition, the ambiance created amongst all guests at dinner was a real highlight of our trip. This was a superb holiday and we cannot help ourselves - we have to come back! Rob, Fiona, Isobel and Eloise

Room Tip: The Chambre du Chatelain is great if you have young children as it has an adjoining triple room. It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Borisandpixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Loire Valley retreat for 2 nights. We had an absolutely amazing stay. The chateau is so peaceful and elegant. It feels very secluded and is the perfect getaway from the city for both families and couples. Charlotte and Jerome were so kind and amazing hosts. Charlotte offered us many activities and made reservations for dinner/wine tasting--we felt truly taken care of. We also had an amazing dinner at the chateau with great wine and great company. Staying here was one of the highlights of our week long trip to Paris and the Loire Valley. In Paris we were going, going, going--so it was so nice to take a few days and be pampered in a peacefully, serene environment. Also, the town of Chinon, which is only 15 min away, is very cool.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emily Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Having now been to Chateau charge three times, we have really got into the swing of it! Charlotte and Jerome are truely brilliant at their job. They make their guests feel like visitors in their own home. They are there if you need them, but never invasive, have time to stop and chat, but will equally leave you to your own devices if you prefer! Every morning someone is around to ensure guests are happy, have plans for the day and know where they are heading. If not they have lots of suggestions or are quite happy to direct you to the pool, the shade under the tree, or let you head out for a quiet saunter in the peaceful lanes. The area has heaps to offer for every age group. We've been back to the Loire three years running and still find lots to entertain us and our two small children (14mths and 3yrs) The accommodation itself is gorgeous. Boutique hotel chic. The meals, delicious and the wine difficult to resist. We chose to eat each evening with the other guests and as ever Charge appears to attract likeminded people who are interesting and easy to get on with. The added bonus for parents being the safety of the location and the fact that all the children staying there got on together and by the end of a blissful week, were all looking after each other! If you are thinking of visiting - just book it, you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: we chose the grenier a sel and the two kids slept in the chambre des chouettes. Perfect having them...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kate h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Amazing - this place really lives up to all its great reviews.
Brilliant for families, great for adults. Very relaxing. Jerome's wine advice and Charlotte's delicious food made for fun evenings. We have already booked for next year!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2adults2kids1car
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

We stayed at the Loire Valley Retreat for the third time in August. It was the third time, but we were still as happy as we were at the first time. Jerome and Charlotte welcomed us with great hospitality and we enjoyed a good evening meal with nice glasses of wine. It was as magical as always!
We are already planning to go back there for the 4th time and we are sure that we will have a magical time yet again!

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank Noriko2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chinon hotels
1.2 mi away
Chateau de Marcay
Chateau de Marcay
#1 of 1 in Marcay
516 reviews
2.2 mi away
Imago
Imago
#1 of 2 in La Roche-Clermault
95 reviews
4.8 mi away
Manoir de la Giraudiere
Manoir de la Giraudiere
#1 of 1 in Beaumont-en-Veron
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 mi away
Domaine du Heron
Domaine du Heron
#1 of 1 in Riviere
34 reviews
4 mi away
Hotel Diderot
Hotel Diderot
#1 of 15 in Chinon
927 reviews
5.2 mi away
La Balastiere
La Balastiere
#7 of 24 in Chinon
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loire Valley Retreat - Chateau de Charge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loire Valley Retreat - Chateau de Charge

Address: 2 rue de Charge, 37500, Chinon, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Chinon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Chinon
Price Range: $175 - $261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four beautiful self contained cottages set in a 15th-century Loire Valley Chateau and its outbuildings, entirely and lovingly renovated in 2008 & 2011 by the English and French owner managers. Peace and tranquility combined with warm hospitality. Very family friendly. Delicious French table d'hote meals available three evenings, breakfast included every day. Fully gated heated outdoor pool, free wifi, babysitting available, fantastic range of Loire Valley wines. Suites to suit a couple, a family of up to five, or book the entire place to sleep up to 16. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Loire Valley Retreat - Chateau de Charge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loire Valley Retreat Hotel Chinon
Loire Valley Retreat - Chateau De Charge Chinon, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing