We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highlight of our Trip to France”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Loire Valley Retreat
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Highlight of our Trip to France”
Reviewed May 1, 2012

My fiance and I were lucky enough to experience this treat during our trip to France this past week and a half. We stopped over in the Loire for a few nights after spending a week in Paris.
This was the highlight of our trip.

We arrived and immediately felt as though we had entered a modern castle. The air was fresh and the grounds were lovely and well manicured. They even have sheep and chickens on-site!
We stayed in La Chambre du Vigneron, a huge suite with a fireplace, sitting area, and gigantic spa-like washroom. It even has a view into the estate's cellars which offered a very lovely, rustic view. The room comes equipped with luxurious toiletries, complimentary still and sparkling water, and a nice hair dryer (ladies, I know you'll appreciate this). It is very clean (even the washrooms are spotless) and the bed is more comfortable than the ones at the Four Seasons ;)

The complimentary breakfasts are also worth noting as it is stocked with nice juices, fresh coffee, farm fresh eggs, good yogurts (even plain yogurt in glass bottles!), and more. There's a coffee maker (Krug I believe) in your room for the perfect cup of espresso in under 10 seconds.

The owners, Charlotte and Jerome, were attentive, nice, and offered wonderful service and recommendations. They set us up with a restaurant reservation, private wine tour (must do) and a chef's table experience.

On our first night we ate at a nearby restaurant, Au Chapeau Rouge. For $50 Euros you can get a spectacular tasting menu - some of the best food I've had in France. I'm not sure if it's a Michelin Star restaurant, but it was as good as some of the one, two and three stars I've experienced. Service is a little slow though, I think they were short staffed that evening.

The other two nights, we ate at the chateau. The first night was in the dining room with another couple also staying at the chateau. The second night, we tried their chef's table where you can sit in the kitchen and eat as the chef cooks for you. The chef, Philippe, is funny and amicable so he was a real treat to "host" our dinner. He even let me jump in there and learn to cook with him. It was a delicious and interactive experience that still very much stands out as the best meal we had in France and one of the most-fun experiences. I made a video of it, you can find here http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ihmCCJp5EAE

Otherwise, we spent time doing chateau tours, experiencing the region, and fantasizing about moving there ourselves. I think that's the biggest problem about our stay there: by the end, we wanted to stay forever!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mel and Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    329
    8
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
164
120
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2012

Cannot say enough about this wonderful retreat! It is everything all the gleaming reviews say and more. The rooms are modern and updated while maintaining the charm of the old chateau. The location is beautiful and peaceful. And last but certainly not least, the hosts were absolutely amazing. Their kindness and generosity is unlike anything we've experienced. The very last day we had to check out early, but Charlotte was kind enough to make us breakfast to go the night before. This is just one example of how this couple goes above and beyond. There shouldn't be any question of where to stay in the Loire, as this is the only place on our list when we return!

Thanks so much Charlotte and Jerome!

Cheers,

Mike and Kelly Faillo

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nkygirlinlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2012

We have now stayed at Loire Valley Retreat three times at varying different stages of our own lives, firstly with relatively small children [now slightly bigger] also with the wider family unit, inlaws and outlaws included - there is nowhere quite like it. This was our first time in the Gîte 'Les Ecuries' and our only disappointment was the weather! Unfortunately that is beyond the control of Charlotte and Jérôme, who would no doubt have tried to fix it for us, had they been able. A wonderful Franco/British couple with an amazing business and home. The Gîte is impeccable and so beautifully peaceful, the BBQ and private terrace was itching to be used and we will make it a point of honour to be back when the weather is better. All the little extras we have become accustomed to from the family suite in the Chateau were present in the gîte, and the mix of UK / French channels is perfect to keep little ones occupied, especially when the heavens open.The Fields [all children included] are wonderful hosts to both the little ones and the bigger ones, I don't think I would want to stay anywhere else in the Loire Valley. Philippe the Chef has returned for the season, and we were delighted to enjoy his cooking on our first night. The Fields, the sheep, the hens, Christo and of course Milou will be sadly missed. Until the next time.....

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Weemush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2012

Went with my wife for one night between our Lire Castles tour.... and was really a very relaxing and premiun experience. All details very well kept, and superb hospitality and service from Jerome and Charlotte (owners). Great food, great wines, comfortable rooms, spectacular view of French countryside, and candide service... what else can we have expected? Really exceede our expectatctions. Congratulations.
Sofia and JP

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JPSimonP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2012

We stayed here for an overnight escape from Paris. Jerome and Charlotte are perfect hosts and their knowledge of the area and local wine and restaurants is excellent. They have restored the chateau and rooms to a wonderful level of excellence and comfort. By far one of the best places we've stayed in France. Comfortable beds, Nespresso machine in your room, Ipod dock, large rooms, beautiful bathrooms with lovely l'Occitane shampoo and soaps, and fireplaces. You will not be disappointed if you book your Loire Valley stay with Jerome and Charlotte. They're outstanding innkeepers and helpful beyond measure! Thank you for everything!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigCheeks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2012

This was our first stop after landing in France from Australia and it could not have been a better start to our European adventure. We are a family of four with two young kids under five and we spent a week in the new gite in the stables (les Ecurie). Charlotte prepared a dinner on arrival, including some local cheese and wine, which was perfect. The accommodation was fully self contained and very comfortable. The kids loved exploring and playing in the garden at the rear of the chateaux and we loved the Nespresso machine and other little touches. Above all Charlotte and Jerome are great hosts and nothing was too much trouble for them. Highly recommended if you are in this part of the world!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zeljko N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2012

As the other reviews suggest, it is really difficult to fault Chateau Charge - Jerome and Charlotte are fantastic hosts.
We travelled with our 9 month old son - on arrival we were asked if he would like some food, and 15 minutes later he was tucking in to a bowl of home made mush that looked good, even to me!
The rooms are very comfortable - very boutique style, with flat screen TV's, Nespresso coffee machines, towel robes etc.
Outside is a playground for kids, and plenty of toys on hand to occupy all ages.
Charlotte cooked two delicious meals while we were there (she has Weds night off but you can pop into Chinon - about 3 miles away - for a good selection of restaurants). Jerome has a great selection of wines on hand, from many small local producers, and all reasonably priced.
This place is a real gem and I just hope it doesn't get too popular - we'd like to be able to return!
It is about a 5-6 hour drive (assuming a couple of stops on the way) from Calais - we went on down to the Dordogne which took a further 4 hours. It is a regular trip for us, and we usually stop in the Loire on our way, and this is by far the best place we've stayed in that area.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stevie_ddd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chinon
1.2 mi away
Chateau de Marcay
Chateau de Marcay
#1 of 1 in Marcay
497 reviews
20.9 mi away
Le Haut des Lys
Le Haut des Lys
#1 of 4 in Villandry
280 reviews
4.7 mi away
Manoir de la Giraudiere
Manoir de la Giraudiere
#1 of 1 in Beaumont-en-Veron
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Hotel Diderot
Hotel Diderot
#1 of 15 in Chinon
911 reviews
12.7 mi away
Chateau de Rochecotte
Chateau de Rochecotte
#1 of 2 in Langeais
283 reviews
3.3 mi away
Ibis Styles Chinon
Ibis Styles Chinon
#5 of 15 in Chinon
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loire Valley Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loire Valley Retreat

Property: Loire Valley Retreat
Address: 2 rue de Charge, 37500, Chinon, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Chinon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Chinon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four beautiful self contained cottages set in a 15th-century Loire Valley Chateau and its outbuildings, entirely and lovingly renovated in 2008 & 2011 by the English and French owner managers. Peace and tranquility combined with warm hospitality. Very family friendly. Delicious French table d'hote meals available three evenings, breakfast included every day. Fully gated heated outdoor pool, free wifi, babysitting available, fantastic range of Loire Valley wines. Suites to suit a couple, a family of up to five, or book the entire place to sleep up to 16. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Loire Valley Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loire Valley Retreat Hotel Chinon
Loire Valley Retreat Chinon, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing