We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very salty food”
Review of Le Cafe des Arts

Le Cafe des Arts
Ranked #25 of 65 Restaurants in Chinon
Price range: $13 - $28
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
London, UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very salty food”
Reviewed May 19, 2014 via mobile

The food was very salty, when we complained they took the food away, by this point we didn't want to eat anymore & they refused to take anything off the bill. He eventually took 15% off the bill. Little did we know when we asked for a wine recommendation of a local wine he'd sold us half a bottle of wine for €19 which for half a bottle of wine was extortionate. This has put a dampener on our trip to chinon, won't be coming back again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pocca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    132
    67
    39
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Foster, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Chic casual Cafe in Chinon”
Reviewed May 15, 2014

The service is excellent the food choices are delightfully different and wine choices great the serves enormous if you are a big eater

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Deb E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Convenient, quick and tasty”
Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

After a visit of Chinon we wanted to have something local for a quick lunch.
This place caught our attention due to convenient location nearby the elevator to the castle.
Their kitchen was open after 14.00, the waitress was very friendly and smiling, the lamb "roasted for 7 hours" was tender as promised and the "rognons" with pasta were delicious.
Good kids menus with home made french fries and steak hachee.
We said that we did not have a lot of time and they did their best to serve us quickly.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rusoleg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cravant, France
Level Contributor
104 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Always a good choice”
Reviewed March 22, 2014

Perfect location in the centre of Chinon on the main square. Seating inside and out. Go there regularly for coffee, drinks and meals. Very well price. Good menu of the day. Quality is spot on. Great atmosphere. Staff and very friendly.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mixiewing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Excellent find”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Great food, good atmosphere and well priced. Would definitely recommend. Lovely siutation on a beautiful little square surrounded by little bars, restaurants and shops. Very 'french'

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jo V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Cafe des Arts also viewed

Chinon, Loire Valley
Chinon, Loire Valley
 

Been to Le Cafe des Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing