We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Reasonable restaurant”

L'Hostel du Roy Restaurant
Ranked #10 of 11 Restaurants in Chenonceaux
Price range: $17 - $29
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Traditional & local restaurant
Wodonga, Australia
Level Contributor
161 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Reasonable restaurant”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

We had the 3 course dinner and the meal was ok. The staff seemed a bit stand off and the manager was not that friendly. We went to the bar to get a drink and were quickly told no that we had to buy in the restaurant at double the price.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Paulscan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    52
    38
    36
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Lethargic service and mediocre food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

After spending an amazing day at the Chateau and with hungry kids decided to find a restaurant and have a nice meal in Chenonceaux. We wanted to go to the Breton restaurant but it was full so ended up here.

Waitstaff took forever to come and when they did, were not helpful or forthcoming at all. Did not like explaining what anything on the menu was (and I am fluent in French)...

Food was ok, the local half bottle of wine was less than mediocre... and the service was awful. Actually the best waiter was the boy who appeared to be a busboy, helping out, he was friendly and helpful. I couldn't chalk it up to typical French attitude since we have been in the Loire Valley for a month now and have found most people to be very friendly and forthcoming. This was just bad service.

I had the chicken with plum sauce, chicken was overcooked and dry. My daughter had a warm goat's cheese salad though which she said was delicious, and my husband seemed to enjoy his meal. (Salmon).

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank musiqueetcirque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good value meal”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

A very reasonably priced 3 course meal. Nothing fancy but well cooked and nicely presented. The meal was served reasonably quickly and the staff were very pleasant. Good value for money.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Veneto125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Poor meal.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

Had lunch here - anything fresh on the plate had seen better days. Terrible service and food. Pleasant garden setting but food and service lets it down.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kat123456789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“A good choice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

As the weather was good we were able to sit in a pleasant garden to eat our meal. The food was very well cooked and the prices very reasonable.The menu was comprised of food that I think would appeal to English guests. The staff were friendly and the food was served without delay. There is not a wide choice of restaurants in Chenonceaux and some are very expensive. I would definitely choose L'Hostel du Roy again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Margaret J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Hostel du Roy Restaurant also viewed

Chenonceaux, Loire Valley
 
Chenonceaux, Loire Valley
Chenonceaux, Loire Valley
 

Been to L'Hostel du Roy Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing