We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice old property” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Relais Chenonceaux

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Le Relais Chenonceaux
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Chenonceaux
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
191 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Nice old property”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

Very friendly family run hotel. Rooms were a little small but I was only there for one night. Great meal in the dining room and again very friendly service. Also, great breakfast to start the day. Very close to the Chateau and also to many other cafes in the village. Very nice stay....

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amtiii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    71
    40
    18
    13
See reviews for
39
87
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

2nd time we've stayed here, last time was a few years back. We chose it as it's within easy walking distance of the Chateau in Chenonceaux. Bedroom for 3 a bit cramped, food reasonable, not much atmosphere, but ok for the price.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank snowslave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster
Level Contributor
411 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 305 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

This hotel is cyclist-friendly and near to the amazing chateau. It is set in a tiny village, on a busy main road. Our room was in the roof space, with sloping ceiling, old oak beams and tiny window. Reasonable sized bathroom. No air conditioning, so we had to ask for a fan, as it was too hot otherwise. Staff were helpful and friendly. Restaurant/creperie was outside in the courtyard and garden areas. The service appeared a bit slow. The crepes and galettes were OK but the menu meal was average- not fine dining, but reasonable value for money. Breakfast a bit disappointing for the price. In all, this place is OK for a one- night stopover.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bootess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Berwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012

Le Relais has little atmosphere. It didn't help we were here on a very hot day, our room was beyond hot and when we asked for a fan, we found out the hotel had... one for all rooms. Our toilet was blocked up and the shower was miniscule. So we tended to avoid our room as much as possible.
Dinner outside on the various parts of the outdoor dining space was lovely. The surroundings are nice, the food was GREAT for the price offered, staff were friendly, etc.

Our experience of this hotel may have been better if the weather was a bit more benign - or the hotel better equiped to deal with heat.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philip_Coppens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, AZ
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012

Le Relais was our second hotel during our week long independent walking tour of the Loire Valley. We spent one night before walking on. Located very close to the Chateau of Chenonceau, this hotel was just what we needed - a quiet, pleasant, clean place to rest up for the next day's walk. The reception ladies were very helpful especially when no one knew where our luggage was. One was on the phone calling our last hotel while the other gal went up to our room - and voila! - found our whole group's luggage in our room! They immediately helped relocate the pieces to their proper places. The room itself was small, with slanted ceilings. Our bathroom was very large and roomy with a very deep bathtub. Both were clean and tidy. There was an unpleasant incident with a very loud and drunk man who first made a ruckus in the restaurant and then upstairs in the bedrooms area. He tried to pick a fight with one of the hotel guests, but backed down when a call to the police was threatened. The hotel staff did nothng to mitigate the situation either in the restaurant nor upstairs. Perhaps they did the right thing by not causing more of a scene. Breakfast was excellent except my husband found a shard of glass in his cereal. The wait staff didn't seem to concerned and shrugged it off. Our advise: nice place to stay; beware of drunks and watch your breakfast food!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank japptp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Canada
Level Contributor
57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2012

We arrived here by bicycle, our luggage preceding us from our previous hotel. We were struck by the sense of this being THE inn at the crossroads in years gone by. Very convenient for access to the Chateau the next day. The slanted ceilings with the heavy beams added to the charm (tall people need to watch!) The tub was a welcome surprise for a soak after cycling.

We elected to have dinner at the restaurant; outdoors only that beautiful evening. We enjoyed their zucchini soup and galettes. We also had breakfast their as well, although the boulangerie is literally across the street. Their was a nice variety of breads, cheeses, cereals; all were very welcome since we were heading out on bikes again.

Bike storage was secure: a rack which was behind the gate that was locked after 10 p.m. Had it been wet weather we would have been a bit more concerned.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancs
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2012

First discovered this place about 10 years ago whilst staying in a gite nearby-ate there on a couple of ocassions and were impressed and noticed how interesting the hotel looked.
Decided to stay in the hotel for one night on our journey further south and were not disappointed.We received a warm welcome and our room albeit on the small size made up for it with its character -beams and high pannelled wooden ceiling.It was cosy and warm with a large comfortable bed and crisp,clean bedding.We booked a table for the evening meal and were thoughtfully given a table next to the roaring, open fire as it was a very cold evening. We ordered off a set menu (good value) and the staff were happy to substitute one of the courses with a different meal at no extra cost.The meal itself was very enjoyable and the service was good and friendly.
There is limited parking space for the hotel but a public car park nearby.We are looking forward to returning to the hotel for two nights in the near future.This is a real gem give it a try!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shortserved
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chenonceaux
0.1 mi away
Auberge du Bon Laboureur
Auberge du Bon Laboureur
#1 of 5 in Chenonceaux
4.5 of 5 bubbles 759 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel la Roseraie
Hotel la Roseraie
#2 of 5 in Chenonceaux
4.5 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostellerie de la Renaudiere
Hostellerie de la Renaudiere
#4 of 5 in Chenonceaux
3.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Clair Cottage
Clair Cottage
#1 of 1 in Chisseaux
4.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
3.6 mi away
Le Cheval Blanc
Le Cheval Blanc
#1 of 1 in Blere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
6.9 mi away
Chateau de Pray
Chateau de Pray
#1 of 1 in Charge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Relais Chenonceaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Relais Chenonceaux

Property: Le Relais Chenonceaux
Address: 10 rue du Docteur Bretonneau, 37150 Chenonceaux, France
Location: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Chenonceaux
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Chenonceaux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Le Relais Chenonceaux 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Le Relais Chenonceaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Relais Hotel Chenonceaux

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing