We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We had the best time here”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Auberge du Bon Laboureur
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Chenonceaux
Certificate of Excellence
Israel
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“We had the best time here”
Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is within 2 minutes driving from chatou de Chenonceaux.
The room we got (405) was in a size of an apartment, and is amazing!
A huge bathroom with both a shower and a bath, his&hers sinks, bath robes, a seperate toaletes, an extra large bed. The only minus is the size of the TV (smaller than my computer screen, but who cares? The TV is in French anyway...)
We got a discount deal with breakfast, and I must say- yhe best we got in France so far. Many kinds of meats, cheases and jams.
They also have one of the best restaurants in the area here ( appears in Michelen guide) ,quite expensive, but if you can afford it- don't miss a dinner there!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ganit_w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

836 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    600
    175
    45
    10
    6
See reviews for
187
495
13
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brenchley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Unfortunately our stay was only a one night pit stop between Spain and the UK and we wish it had been for longer.
The hotel is a building of some considerable character and all the more interesting for that.
We had a Privilege Double Room - and what a privilege it turned out to be. It was, in fact, a well appointed suite situated on the other side of a quiet street from the main hotel building. The bed was comfortable, and the bathroom facilities excellent, and wi -fi was free and much easier to access than most hotels we have stayed in recently (most of which required a tiresome re-entry process each time the i-pad was used).
The public rooms were welcoming and tastefully decorated and dining in the restaurant is an absolute must (see separate report).
Because we had to head North before the crack of dawn we missed breakfast which was a sadness given the excellence of our dinner the night before.
The village of Chenonceaux is lovely and boasts a wonderful Chateau which is a must to visit - and do leave sufficient time to give the property and gardens what they deserve - we didn't and regret it.
We'll be back!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alistair V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Brunswick, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 27, 2013

it would be hard to imagine a better place to stay to explore the Loire. The hotel is walking distance from the Chateau in Chenonceaux, and the village itself is incredibly beautiful and quiet. I stayed here with my wife and 12 year old daughter in a very comfortable small suite in a building across the street from the main hotel. The staff were very welcoming and helpful. The dinners were extraordinary -- several of the best meals I have ever had. The pool is reasonably large and very well kept -- a nice extra at the end of a hot summer day of touring. This is really a unique and wonderful place. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: There's a fairly wide variety of room, but the staff is very helpful providing details so you ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

Everything about this place is excellent! The hotel is charming with lovely decoration in extremely comfortable rooms. Very traditional style. The staff were very helpful and friendly. Although the stay is not cheap, it is definitely worthwhile. The location near the chateau is also perfect. This is the one you have GOT to see. We had dinner in the restaurant, which though on the pricey side, was delicious. It is a delight to be able to have such a good meal and fall straight in to bed afterwards. All in all a supremely pleasurable experience on all fronts.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Julian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buderim Australia
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Being right on the main street of Chenonceaux, we expected it to be a little noisy. However, the village just shuts down when it gets dark and there was no traffic at all. We didn't eat at the restaurant because it was too expensive, but there are lots of little places to eat all around....everything is within a 100 metres. Our room was extremely comfortable and we were surprised to find a separate toilet and ensuite.
While it was only an overhighter for us, we sincerely wish that we had booked for a longer period. We have no hesitation in giving this delightful little hotel our highest endorsement.

Room Tip: There was no road noise in October, but we understand that during peak season, it gets really busy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stayzon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flower Mound, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed 2 nights here while exploring the chateau in the Loire Valley. Chenonceaux is not a big town, and the chateaux was right down the road. The hotel is very nice, restaurant kind of pricey, beds comfortable and room very clean and charming. It was just what we expected in a small town in France! It is a great place to use as a base for exploring the lovely chateau in the valley.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank familyadventurer13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

We were amazed at the quality of the food.

it is not the cheapest prix fixe going round, but the value for money is extraordinary. The two fixed price options change dialy, as do the amuse bouche. A la carte options looked great from what we observed. Breakfast is also great value.

We were served 6 different amuse bouche on each night, right through each of the 3 courses.

wine list is extensive, from very reasonable to great quality.

rooms are neat, clean, simple decor, very comfortable.

Room Tip: If you are over 185cms you may get close to the exposed beams in the upper level rooms in the annexe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chenonceaux
16.9 mi away
Domaine de la Tortiniere
0.0 mi away
Hotel la Roseraie
Hotel la Roseraie
#2 of 5 in Chenonceaux
612 reviews
6.8 mi away
Hotel Le Manoir les Minimes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Chateau de Pray
Chateau de Pray
#1 of 1 in Charge
563 reviews
6.6 mi away
Le Manoir Saint Thomas
Le Manoir Saint Thomas
#2 of 25 in Amboise
591 reviews
3.3 mi away
Chateau de Chissay
Chateau de Chissay
#1 of 2 in Chissay-en-Touraine
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge du Bon Laboureur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge du Bon Laboureur

Property: Auberge du Bon Laboureur
Address: 6 rue du Docteur Bretonneau, 37150 Chenonceaux, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Chenonceaux
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Chenonceaux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Auberge du Bon Laboureur 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centre of Loire Valley Hotels, Charming Hotel Luxe with first class rooms ansd accomodations. Gastronomic restaurant. Hotel du Bon Laboureur is located near the castle of Chenonceau in Centre of Loire Valley Chateaux in Chateau country. Easy to visit the Loire Valley castles ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Auberge du Bon Laboureur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Du Bon Laboureur Hotel Chenonceaux
Auberge Du Bon Laboureur Chenonceaux

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing