We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The stuff of fairytales”

Chateau de Chenonceau
Book In Advance
More Info
$16.92*
and up
Chenonceau Castle Admission Ticket
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Beautiful country villa surrounded by a moat and inspired by the Italian Renaissance.
Reviewed October 22, 2018 via mobile

Wow! It was so much more than what I expected. Honestly, when I looked online, the interior didn’t look too impressive and I debated whether to go, but I’m so glad I did. Here are a few of the things I found:

* The magical walkway to the castle with perfectly manicured trees and gardens all abound was stunning
* The gardens were worth walking through
* The beauty of the castle was more than I thought
* the chateau offers iPod audio guides that are easy to use and interesting. You can choose a 45 min or 80 min version. The rooms were nice but the audio guide really helped.
* a garden maze of hedges —labyrinth
* a 16th century farm that is well maintained
* plenty of walking or biking paths throughout the property
* elegant restaurants or cafe’s, Depending on your preference.
* a wine store

You don’t need a tour guide for this place. The audio guides are great and much easier. Just read up on Catherine Medici, Diane D’ Poitier and King Henry before you go or watch the tv series, Reign, on Netflix, which is a story of their lives.

We went at 9:30 am and I’m so glad we did. This would be a difficult place to tour of it was very busy. It isn’t made for massive crowds. It is beautiful. Early in the morning the crowds were small and the tour busses hadn’t come in.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank thatwasfun301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (7,528)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"the river"
in 586 reviews
"audio guide"
in 196 reviews
"loire valley"
in 429 reviews
"the kitchen"
in 148 reviews
"flower arrangements"
in 73 reviews
"self service"
in 37 reviews
"beautiful castle"
in 74 reviews
"fresh flowers"
in 41 reviews
"fairy tale"
in 89 reviews
"interesting history"
in 62 reviews
"formal gardens"
in 59 reviews
"ticket office"
in 29 reviews
"sunny day"
in 29 reviews
"wine cellar"
in 25 reviews
"vegetable garden"
in 39 reviews
"french history"
in 28 reviews
"cher"
in 232 reviews
Filter

31 - 35 of 7,528 reviews

Reviewed October 21, 2018

I booked a tour for two castles which are the Amboise and this stunningly beautiful, the Chateau de Chenonceau. We arrived a bit early so don't have to fight with so many tourists. We booked our ticket online with a tour company and ended up having just 4 of us on the trip.

The tour guide was very knowledgeable so she gave a good background information and she continued to show us a few important halls and left us on our own for an hour. This chateau was so cleverly built in the middle of the meeting point of the two rivers so no doubt the chateau has water view on both sides.

It is not that big. Only a few rooms there. The kitchen is amazing, how it was designed and how the foods get delivered is very interesting. Not so much of the old furniture or items from Dianne time but a few good portraits are still there.

No doubt the chateau was being used as a military headquarter during the world war one and two, therefore, we can see that some details of the room had been modified. The surrounding is very well kept and the landscape is beautiful. When I was there in July, the water level in the river was still very high. Flowers start to bloom and the sky was clear.

The pathway can be very dusty outside the chateau so make sure you select the right footwear. There was a gift shop right in the ticket office at the very front of the chateau. You can buy it on the way out or read some before going in. There is no time limit so you can enjoy patrolling the whole operating hours.

On the other end of the chateau, it has a bridge linked to the other side of the river, this is where you can take a good shot of the chateau over the water.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank TravelMania2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2018

We visited in early October and were blessed with fine weather. It meant the tourist hords (of which we were too!) had died down and the place was quite quiet in the afternoon. The place is pretty unique, straddling the river and has a wealth of history to learn. The gardens are magnificent, not huge but beautifully done. They were still in bloom this late in the year.
TIP: Get the kids to watch out for the cat that sleeps amongst the cushions in the gift shop. He's a deep sleeper!

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank DINERMIGHT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2018

On last September we visited 6 castles in the Loire Valley. This one is our favorite. Not only it is beautiful as a building but it is also decorated inside, because some of the other castles are really empty inside. It also has a detailed story of Catherine de Medici and Diane de Poitiers which recreate the rooms of the Castle. It is a MUST if you visit these castles.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Amuribes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed October 16, 2018

Obviously the chateau is beautiful - that's self-evident but it's also reasonably priced and well presented. You can see a lot of the rooms and there are interesting contextual displays.

It's very busy in the chateau itself and because, as chateaux go, it's a small one it can be crowded. A lot of people use the audio guide and this seems to make them oblivious to anyone else around them. Go early if possible and that way you stand a better chance of not being barged aside by someone in headphones. Generally though, the very international crowd of tourists are as accommodating as possible of everyone else's photo ops!

The gardens are beautiful and much quieter - you could easily spend the whole day wandering around the gardens and grounds once you've seen the chateau.

The self-service restaurant is excellent value though obviously there's a queue at busy periods and the gift shop has some lovely things.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank O3968WUsg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chateau de Chenonceau also viewed

 

Been to Chateau de Chenonceau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing