We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful chateau and gardens” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chateau de Chenonceau

Chateau de Chenonceau
Book In Advance
More Info
$285.26*
and up
Private Tour: Loire Valley Castles Day Trip from Paris
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Beautiful country villa surrounded by a moat and inspired by the Italian Renaissance.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful chateau and gardens”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

Chenonceau is a breathtakingly beautiful chateau with two formal walled gardens, a vegetable garden, donkey park and surrounded by a moat. On a sunny day it is a beautiful relaxing visit with plenty to see both inside the chateau and in the grounds. The gardens are pretty and fragrant and the kitchen garden in particular is so lovely with vegetable patches cordoned off with vines. There are six donkeys in the donkey park and a cute white pony which the children couldn't get enough of!

The interior of the chateau has a large number of restored rooms and the kitchen area is particularly interesting with a decent collection of kitchen paraphernalia.

The chateau itself did get very crowded during our visit which made it fairly difficult to view the interior. We also noticed that many families had brought small children with them who appeared to become bored and restless. There isn't really much there which would be of interest to children. Another major issue was the lack of toilet facilities. For such a busy attraction there were only 3 women's toilets in each block and there were long queues.

We chose to spend the entire day at Chenonceau which proved sensible as it really is a full day excursion. If you have your own transport I would advise taking a picnic as you will have to leave your food in your car. For vegetarians like us there was little by way of choice for lunch.

Overall a lovely day out.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank BrummieSN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,388 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,159
    1,034
    145
    33
    17
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
143 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Arguably the best of the Loire valley castles.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

Visited Chambord: nice, big, busy and... empty! Yup, very little to see inside that will show you how people lived at that time. The view from the roof is nice but does not compare to Chenonceau's location above the Cher river and each of its rooms filled with the furniture that people would live in. Highly recommended, especially for the river walk and the gardens are nice for a quiet stroll.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jeff_Proulx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Absolutely Beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

Chateau de Chenonceau is one of those attractions that are so beautiful they live up to the hype around them. As with all chateaux they look more impressive from the outside than from the inside. Only flaw is that you can't actually get to the other side of the Cher river, so you can't make photos from the same angles where all photos from postcards or brochures have been taken from.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank kellaharri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee-On-The-Solent, Hampshire
Level Contributor
97 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Good, but lack of staff.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

By unluky chance we had booked our coach of 51 people in on a French Bank Holiday (9 May). We arrived at 11am to find the queues for the ticket booths stretching 50 yards. As we had pre-booked I asked where the group tickets were handed out and directed to the front of one of the queues. The girl dealt with me immediately when she saw I had a group booking but printing 51 tickets had a somewhat mutinous effect on those near me in the queue and it is probably a blessing my French did not stretch to understanding them!
Having got in, after a two hour drive, we headed for the self service cafe which had a very good selection of hot and cold food. Unfortunately, again the queue stretched out of the cafe and for 30 yards through the outside tables. Inside, we found one cash register and one coffee making machine which turned out a cup of coffee every 90 seconds. The food and cold drinks we had were very nice but why is there only one cash till and coffee machine? There are only two ladies toilet cubicles.
The chateau was absolutely crammed with people and no control over how many people could enter. It has got to have health and safety implications to have that many people crammed in, as in most of the rooms you had to change places with people to move towards the next room.
Overall at Chenonceau, the attractions are fantastic and I thoroughly agree with the other reviewers over the beauty of the place and the associated village, but the management have got to improve their facilities for the paying public before I bring another coach here. There are many more chateaus in this area where they cater sensibly for the public and do not treat them with contempt.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Grumpy64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful chateau, terrible organisation”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

This is an exceptional chateau, but what a shame that there is no real organisation to move people through the visit (we visited on May 9, 2013). The entrance was total chaos, and when we were finally able to get to the chateau, it was just a very stressful visit; not at all pleasant for us. The iPod audioguides, however, were excellent.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank molly62France
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chateau de Chenonceau also viewed

 

Been to Chateau de Chenonceau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing