We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Pitstop!”

Auberge du Bon Laboureur - Chenonceaux
Reserve with
Auberge du Bon Laboureur - Chenonceaux is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 11 Restaurants in Chenonceaux
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $63 - $475
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Brenchley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“What a Pitstop!”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We were planning our return from San Sebastián to the UK via Calais and were looking through the usual tomes and came across The Auberge du Bon Laboureur and decided it would be an interesting place to stay and eat before our return to Blighty after almost four weeks of cultural education on the Iberian Penninsula.
It was a triumph.
We decided on the Gourmande menu and were delighted from beginning to the end. The cooking is classic with a light and inspired touch, and the menu, unlike so many degustation menus is restricted to five courses (not including the two amuse bouche dishes!).
The langoustines with beetroot purée and a parsley mousse and parsley crisp was an excellent start to the event, and a sublime introduction to the John Dory with hollandaise sauce with spinach in a potato 'cup'.
The pigeon served with red cabbage and other delights was a perfectly cooked triumph. A magnificent choice of French cheeses followed, and pursued by a selection of 4/5 desserts all of which sounded excellent. Maggie chose the orange and citrus option and I chose the pineapple dish - both extremely memorable.
The wine list included an excellent selection of 'local gems' along with a reasonable spread from the rest of France. We chose, with inspired tutorage, an excellent Vouvray followed by a superb Chinon.
The restaurant itself is excellently and tastefully presented and the service is relaxed and attentive.
We've warned the proprietors that we'll be back!
this was an excellent end to a spectacular holiday.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alistair V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    283
    97
    36
    12
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pensacola, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Country Charm with Elevated Cuisine”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Near the lovely Château Chenonceau is the equally picturesque Auberge du Bon Laboureur. Vineyards, flower and vegetable gardens, surround the property and beg to be explored. Service is attentive, and the rooms -- like everything on the property -- are storybook charming.

But food reigns supreme. Le Bon Laboureur boasts a much-deserved Michelin star. The food is an inspired blend of traditional French dishes with modern technique and updated presentation. Specialties include Carpaccio of Marinated Sea Bass and Shrimp, Rack of Lamb, and aromatic vegetable side dishes from the inn’s own garden.

Wines include, of course, many Loire selections, but there are a number of choice regional and grand cru vintages as well. Whatever you select will drink even better on the pretty vine-covered terrace.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marla N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great food in a nice location”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

The restaurant is inside this small hotel. You have to make reservation before hand since they do not have too many tables.
The food was modern French and every dish was excellent. Since we were a group of 6 we got a private room so it was even more special.
Service was outstanding.
If you visit the chenonseaux castle don't forget to try this place which is 3 minutes away.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mibarrios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indonesia
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not to be missed in you are in the area”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We had booked a table at this place a couple of weeks in advance based on the reviews and reputation of the restaurant. We were not disappointed! The food was truly superb and we would even recommend going out of your way to eat here if you enjoy great food. The flavours were sublime. The service started off a little bit formal and pompous but then our waiter relaxed a bit and seem to be enjoying himself as much as we were which made the whole experience even more fun! The food was exquisitely presented and each dish was truly excellent. We all had a thoroughly enjoyable evening and would highly recommend the restaurant. We started off on the terrace for pre-dinner drinks but then moved inside for dinner. Pleasant decor, attentive service and the place was full. Great wine list too although we stayed with local Loire wines which were delicious. We were very pleasantly surprised when we got the bill as well. Comparable meals in other parts of the world would have cost an awful lot more so we would say that whilst not cheap it was also great value for money.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sandcastle99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Best meal in France”
Reviewed August 24, 2012

My wife and I both agree that after 2 weeks in France (Paris and Amboise) this was truly the best restaurant that we visited. The food, presentation and service was excellent! The complete experience was just perfect and I highly recommend this restaurant.

Helpful?
1 Thank Ira S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Auberge du Bon Laboureur - Chenonceaux also viewed

Chenonceaux, Loire Valley
Chisseaux, Indre-et-Loire
 
Chenonceaux, Loire Valley
Chenonceaux, Loire Valley
 
Blere, Indre-et-Loire
 

Been to Auberge du Bon Laboureur - Chenonceaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing