We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simple and decent”
Review of AU GATEAU BRETON

AU GATEAU BRETON
Ranked #5 of 11 Restaurants in Chenonceaux
Price range: $16 - $31
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids
Dining options: Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Hamilton, NJ
Level Contributor
569 reviews
341 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 615 helpful votes
“Simple and decent”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

A visit to 'Au Gateau Breton' was a part of our small-group Loire valley day trip, included in the price of the package. So, we are not really sure what the specific prices are, but we know the place is affordable.
The food is simple, no frills, and so is the interior. The restaurant also features a nice patio, which was still closed in the mid-April.
The service was quite polite and efficient. The food is quite simple, nothing fancy, with some items surprisingly fresh and delicious. The fish my wife had was very good, and so were our appetizers. The desserts were unexpectedly mouth-watering. All and all, a good place to have a simple decent quality meal while in Chenonceaux.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RGSOUNDF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    71
    18
    13
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richland, WA
Level Contributor
159 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Simple and delicious”
Reviewed September 20, 2012 via mobile

Our first night in Chenonceaux, we ate at the resto at Le Bon Laboureur- fabulous food and service. After two weeks in France, we could not do another of those type dinners tonight. Au Gateau Breton was welcoming. Our server was delightful and spoke enough English to communicate with the 4 of us. The menu was varied. We all started with the escargot and really enjoyed it. We wanted simple for dinner. Three of us had roasted chicken and one a grilled chicken salad. Fries and green beans rounded out the meal. All very tasty! Very reasonably priced. Glad we went!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank SBHgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
112 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant..service is bad”
Reviewed May 28, 2012

We had a warm welcome...but we ordered a menu...paid for a menu..but did not get our cafe or dessert. I guess they just dont know how to handle crowded restaurant.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank SUTANU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Meadow, New York
Level Contributor
111 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“A wonderful local restaurant”
Reviewed May 3, 2012

(I'm reposting this under my current ID so I can keep track of all my posts, but this visit happened a couple of years ago.)

On a visit to Chenonceaux, we decided to wander through town and see what we could find for dinner. Au Gateau Breton's menu looked nice, so we wandered in. We were the only English speakers in the place, but our broken French was enough to get us by. The folks there were understanding of our limited grasp of their language, and they made us feel at home.

I ordered Duck Confit, and my spouse ordered Chicken with Mushroom Stuffing & Cream Sauce. We also had an appetizer of duck liver pate, and with our main meal we ordered haricots verts (green beans) and pomme frites (french fries). Everything was wonderful! We make a point of eating our way through every trip to France, and this time was no different. I can say without hesitation that the duck at Au Gateau Breton was the best I had in France or anywhere else (and I ate a fair amount of duck during this trip!). Desserts were excellent, and, with all of that, the bill was under 50 Euro--not bad for where we were. Certainly cheaper than other places we ate!

Next time we're over, we're definitely going back to Au Gateau Breton!

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jessnyus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
China
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“worst meal I never got to eat”
Reviewed April 9, 2012

Before our visit to Chenonceaux, we planned to have a solid, "deep France" kind of meal. We read the menu at Au Gateau Breton and decided it would give us a pretty fine dining experience. We speak more than enough intelligible French, arrived well within the appointed afternoon dining times, and noted there were plenty of available tables, both inside as well as outside. However, when asking for a table, we were turned away.

The only reason we could surmise would be that we had a 9-month old baby with us, even though he was sleeping soundly in his stroller.

We are highly disappointed with this restaurant for a plethora of reasons.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mritam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed AU GATEAU BRETON also viewed

Chenonceaux, Loire Valley
Chenonceaux, Loire Valley
 
Chenonceaux, Loire Valley
Chenonceaux, Loire Valley
 

Been to AU GATEAU BRETON? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing