We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You MUST stay here”
Review of Les Conviv'hotes

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chartres
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Les Conviv'hotes
Ranked #6 of 26 Chartres B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 31, 2012

We stopped here on our way to Provence (not quite en route I know). We are so glad we did. Chartres is charming and we had a wonderful evening in the city. Les Convive'hotes is PERFECTLY situated. We had a lovely, charming, comfortable en suite room - the MOST FANTASTIC breakfast, and a totally perfect host in Sylvie. We strongly recommend a stay here, you won't be disappointed. (And if you don't speak French, Sylvie's English is excellent.)

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (90)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 90 reviews

Reviewed July 3, 2012

Sylvie was very welcoming. The B&B is charming and the breakfasts full of choice. (The coffeee is exceptional.) We ate out the two nights of our stay but could have had the use of the kitchen. As it was we popped in and out during the day when we wanted to make coffee or whatever.
Chartres is not a big city and we never used the car.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JoeCNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2012

We have stayed with Sylvie two times, once this year in May and last year in December 2010. Both times all was perfect. A great area, walking distance to the cathedral, and a place to park the car. All sorts of fresh goodies for breakfast. Sylvie tries very hard to accommodate your needs. A very nice lady.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2012

Driving directly from Mont.-St.-Michel, we were pressed for time to make the appointed group tour of the cathedral with Dr. Malcolm Miller (a must do!). After going to the TI we parked and found our way and had a wonderful experience at this unique, beautiful church.

With narrow, one-way streets it's not easy to navigate in the city of Chartres. So, back to the TI and a city map and a "highlighter" pen....ta-da ...easy as pie to find our delightful B&B...but where to park?

We knocked...and our smiling,new friend Sylvie opened the door of the unassuming, grey stucco building on tiny Rue Vert Pot (about 150m long). She brought to ket to the private garage/barn across the street. (Leave you car, this is a walking city.) With only two rooms, this is a very affordable, "hidden gem" of a B&B with comfortable rooms and a small, sunny dining area between them. This is where Sylvie personally prepares a delicious breakfast for her guests.

One drawback is the stairs to the second floor rooms....but Sylvie carried our bags!
The "Yellow Room" is traditional with a comfortable bed, table, chairs and a wardrobe. The bathroom is very modern and has adequate space. We enjoyed this very nice resting place.

Sylvie gave us keys to the house, garage and our room so we could come and go as we pleased. She gave us restaurant ideas (Ask about Chez Lili...home cooked, very affordable.)
She told us about the "other" sights of Chartres to see after the Cathedral. Always cheerful,
Sylvie obviously loves her home, her city and having guests from around the world. Thanks for making our stay so memorable and enjoyable Sylvie!

Room Tip: Book early...with only two rooms, this delightful B&B is a gem that is always in demand!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank duffymchugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2012

My wife and I spent two nights in Chartres at the start of a month long tour of France. We could not have gotten off to a better start. We received a warm welcome from the B&B owner (Sylvie), were helped to our room (The Blue Room) with our luggage, and were guided into the off street, locked, parking garage (we never touched our car again until we left). The B&B is on a conveniently located side street (very quiet but closely embedded into the old town area). The rooms are small but attractively decorated and very clean (with private shower/bath and toilet). There is a common breakfast area located between the two rooms that the B&B offers and it is always available for guests. You can use the refrigerator, or have a cup of tea in the late afternnon. You can also use the stove to heat up any food that is brought back. We did not but it was available if wanted. We walked everywhere (the Cathedral is about 5 minutes away) and fine restaurants are prolific in Chartres (Sylvie will recommend several). The per night price of the room was very affordable and considering the location a true bargain. I highly recommend Les Conviv'hotes for anyone that will be staying in Chartres.

Room Tip: We stayed in the "Blue Room" and were completely satisfied.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brooklyn45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2012

We had a lovely stay in this comfortable B&B. We stayed in the blue room, on the second floor, above a very quiet street. The bathroom is very well appointed, especially for France, with well lit mirror, sink, bath, shower and toilet all in same convenient space. Everything is spotless. The room has a large armoire and two comfy chairs with reading lamp, small bedside tables. Every detail is well designed and fresh in French style.

Sylvie is a wonderful host, speaks English, and provides an ample delicious breakfast of various breads, croissants, yogurt, cereal, juice and coffee or tea.

If coming by train, take the free orange buses that circle the old town area. Either direction will take you to the Guillaume stop, just outside ruins of a Roman tower. Cross the river and keep going straight ahead about 1-2 blocks. Before the canal, turn left. Then turn left again at rue du Pot Vert. Les Conviv'hotes is in a plain looking building on the right side, just before the turn near the end of the road.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kathy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2012

Sylvie was a very welcoming host at this lovely B&B. We had full use of the kitchen and dining table which we were glad of after a few days in a hotel. The house is full of character and very well equipped and comfortable. The area of Basse-ville is delightful with lots of old houses and churches along the Eure river and plenty of places to buy yummy food. It is a 5 minute walk up to the cathedral so it was easy to pop out for Vespers at 6pm. Sylvie recommended a restaurant nearby for a simple, delicious meal, Chez Lili, and indeed it was tasty and a good price.
The room was clean and tastefully decorated with a comfortable bath. Breakfast was tasty and very filling.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Olmax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chartres hotels
2.6 mi away
Hotel Premiere Classe Chartres Barjouville
2.1 mi away
Ibis Chartres Ouest Luce
0.5 mi away
Best Western Grand Monarque
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
B&B Hotel Chartres Le Forum
B&B Hotel Chartres Le Forum
#3 of 3 in Le Coudray
50 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ibis Chartres Centre Cathedrale
1.6 mi away
Hotel du Centre
Hotel du Centre
#1 of 1 in Luce
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Conviv'hotes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Conviv'hotes

Address: 10 rue du Pot Vert, 28000, Chartres, France
Location: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Chartres
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Chartres
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Les Conviv`Hotes Hotel Chartres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing