We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best stay in Chartres”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotellerie Saint Yves
Ranked #12 of 27 Hotels in Chartres
Orange, France
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Best stay in Chartres”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Over the past 25 years we have stayed in numerous hotels in and around Chartres. This is the best -- elegantly simple decor, reasonably priced (approx. 65 Euros), a breakfast buffet that is actually worth 8 Euros. Elevator to get to the upper and lower floors. WIFI that functions very well. Free parking. One minute walk to the cathedral and reasonably priced restaurants. I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Do not miss Malcomb Miller's daily lectures at the cathedral (12:00 and 2:45). They alone are t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jacques59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    118
    28
    7
    5
See reviews for
42
91
23
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sweden
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

A very quiet and nice place, great location and friendly staff. The dome is just around the corner, it's a magnificent view when you walk up the road and the dome rises in front of you. Worth a visit!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Strindberg93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond-upon-Thames, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

The beauty of the Hotellerie Saint Yves arises from its peaceful atmosphere, its welcoming and helpful staff, the attractiveness of the building, and the simple elegance of the rooms which are minimalist but comfortable. It's superbly located for visiting the historical centre of Chartres, yet less than a quarter of an hour's walk from the station. The hotellerie also has good parking. The breakfast will set you up for the day and is recommended.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Youlgreave, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

A jewel of a hotel in the shadow of Chartres Cathedral! An imposing 18th century exterior built on older foundations, houses a calm and serene hotel, in the town centre but tranquil and peaceful, with almost the feel of a retreat from the world. Rooms are warm & comfortable with views either over a wide, tree-lined courtyard or over the old "basse ville" towards the river Eure.
Copious self-service breakfasts - often including home-made fruit tarts! - are served in the basement dining room, the sympathetically restored old crypt, and the staff could not be more helpful. Prices are extremely reasonable and the breakfasts were well worth the extra 7E60. Altogether the perfect place from which to explore Chartres and the surrounding area.

Room Tip: Early booking might be advisable if you hope to visit any time from Easter onwards
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dee F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawaii
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Beautiful historic building in a perfect location for touring Chartres. Folks at the desk were very friendly and helpful. Rooms are basic, but clean...and have free wifi, hooray! Breakfast in a charming room downstairs-basic fare...yogurt, granola, breads and coffee (from a machine...not good, but there are plenty of coffee bars all over Chartres)...but for the price, a bargain! We'd stay there again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SKYITALY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

We followed the hotel instructions and still got lost. The signs to the parking lot are on a one way street facing the wrong way. It wasn't a problem, we found a place to park and asked someone. Once we backed into the parking lot, all was ok. The building is almost next door to the cathedral so the location is wonderful for seeing the sights and visiting shops and restaurants. The view from our room was outstanding. The rooms are small and simple so don't expect much. The beds are comfortable. The staff was extremely courteous and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MMM54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We were pleased to find that Hotellerie St Yves offers some triple room accommodations, and promptly made plans to try it for a night. We were not disappointed.
Here are the cons:
__it's a bit hard to find, and to maneuver a large car down the narrow street to get to it. A GPS is helpful!
__bathrooms are tiny, resembling those of any modern budget motel on the outskirts of French towns and cities
Now for the pros, which far outweigh the cons:
__the price is really modest, given its location, attractive surroundings and private parking area
__the rooms, while simple, are sunny and attractive, with comfortable beds and extra bedding for cool nights
__the (optional) breakfast is good, and served in a lovely room with vaulted ceilings
__the private parking lot, right in front of the hotel entrance
__it's within easy walking distance of the cathedral and surrounding shops and restaurants
__it has a charming little outdoor sitting area for quiet moments. (Unfortunately, we didn't discover this area until we were packing up to leave the next morning.)
__(this is the best one) the view out the window! Our room directly overlooked the cathedral labyrinth; from others you can see the cathedral itself, plus parts of the old town.

It's a sedate and well mannered lodging, not suited to party animals, which was a plus for us. I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Staying on a higher floor makes for a nice view of Chartres out the window. (The hotel does have an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank toilettduckk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chartres hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Jehan de Beauce
Hotel Jehan de Beauce
#3 of 27 in Chartres
260 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Chartres Centre Cathedrale
0.4 mi away
Best Western Grand Monarque
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel des Poemes de Chartres
0.3 mi away
Mercure Chartres Centre Cathedrale
0.3 mi away
Timhotel Chartres Cathedrale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotellerie Saint Yves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotellerie Saint Yves

Property: Hotellerie Saint Yves
Address: 3 Rue des Acacias | (entrée rue des Acacias), 28000, Chartres, France
Location: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Chartres
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 27 Hotels in Chartres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Saint Yves Hotel is a simple but confortable hotel very close to Chartres cathedral and overhanging the river Eure and Old Lower City. The 50 rooms offering 80 beds (from single to family room) allow you to have a night right in the heart of the city, in an amazing historical mansion and to discover all the area on foot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Hotellerie Saint Yves reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotellerie Saint Yves Hotel Chartres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing