We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In the shadow of the cathedral”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotellerie Saint Yves
Ranked #12 of 27 Hotels in Chartres
Reviewed August 30, 2012

This historic property dates back many centuries and is situated very near to the cathedral. I woke up and looked out of my window to see the spire of Chartres cathedral. Magic! The hotel is comfortable and clean. The bathroom was modular but perfectly adequate.Plenty of hot water and strong shower. My room had a flat screen tv (no English channels), a wardrobe, small desk/table and bathroom.I had the buffet breakfast which was very good value at about 7 euros. It's worth having breakfast just for the pleasure of sitting in such a wonderful breakfast room with it's stone pillars and historic ceiling. It's in the oldest part of the building.
Reception staff both day and night were extremely helful and pleasant. They went out of their way to help me.
The only difficulty I had was FINDING the place. My satnav was no help. Basically you head straight for the cathedral even though you might think that you are driving in a restricted area. You're not! When you arrive at the cathedral there is a barrier on your right which rises out of the road. Park as near as possible to this bollard, get out the car and speak to the hotel via the intercom. The bollard disappears into the ground, you drive through keeping the cathedral on your left. From there it is very well sign posted. This hotel might benefit from a sign post on the main road. (Hotel management-is that possible to do?)
Would I stay here again if I visit Chartres? 100% yes.
p.s. If you want to see the labyrinth in its full glory visit on a Friday morning when the chairs are removed.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of cathedral.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lodore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (224)
There are newer reviews for Hotellerie Saint Yves
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

98 - 104 of 224 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2012

This hostel is located in an old monastery just around the corner from the Cathedral.

Did not have a reservation and just walked in – fortunately they had a room with bathroom. Location was pretty easy to find and had also a secured parking.

Room was basic, but very clean and was excellent for the one night stay. Washroom was fairly small but clean and adequate.

Breakfast was excellent – was not included in the room rate.

Overall a great experience – something definitely different than just a regular hotel or B&B!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AH042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

An old converted seminary, right in the middle of the town a few minutes from cathedral and loads of good restaurants. Rooms small, but clean and rooms facing east have great views over town. Breakfast recommended as a very good start to day. Helpful and friendly reception and secure parking on site.

Room Tip: east facing rooms over great view.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peterRjames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Situated in the centre next to the Cathedral it is ideal. Car parking, unusual setting and astonishing views. It has been said that getting to the hotel is not easy but if you plan well it's no problem. Use street view in google maps to get an idea where it is before you go. When you approach the bollard, (the hotel is in a pedestrian area) take your car close to the bollard otherwise you cannot communicate with the person who will lower it. It is very simple.
Don't expect luxury but do expect small, clean and ideal for your visit to Chartres.
The gentleman manning the desk was excellent. Gave great advice regarding the hotel and the city.
Breakfast was good value too.

Room Tip: Ask for a view.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stuart633
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Potential guests should be warned that it is impossible for anyone to reach you at the hotel after 8pm! The reception closes and no calls can be put through. This is a ridiculous situation in an upmarket hotel - and must be unique. It is something the hotel should put to rights immediately.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
Thank DrJ0301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2012

The monastic character of this hotel makes it forbiddingly austere: it reminded me of my convent school!
The large, free car park is extremely difficult to find because of the one-way streets, but once in, you're within yards of the cathedral.
We had a huge bathroom with bath, basin and W.C. and nowhere to put our stuff - not a shelf or a cupboard in sight. Had to leave our toiletries on the linoleum floor!
The double bed was not comfortable enough for two people, but fortunately there was a single bed in the room, so one of us retreated to that.
Unusually for France, the shutters opened inwards, like the windows, so it was impossible to let the air in and keep the early morning light out.
Coffee out of a machine for breakfast? Come on!

Room Tip: Make sure each person has their own bed!
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anna186291
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2012

We went to see the cathedral in Chartres. The hotel was only 50 meters away from the cathedral and had the most beautiful view. The rooms were clean but sober. And that was exactly what we expected because what you see on the web is what you get. The ambiance was very special. The building is a sight itself. Breakfast was very good. Very friendly people and good information. This special location is one to remember. We were glad that we checked out the reviews of this hotel on the internet because someone discribed how to drive to the hotel. That was very helpful because tomtom wasn't helpful at that time.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ayve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chartres hotels
0.4 mi away
Best Western Grand Monarque
0.3 mi away
Ibis Chartres Centre Cathedrale
0.3 mi away
Hotel Jehan de Beauce
Hotel Jehan de Beauce
#5 of 27 in Chartres
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel des Poemes de Chartres
0.3 mi away
Timhotel Chartres Cathedrale
0.3 mi away
Mercure Chartres Centre Cathedrale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotellerie Saint Yves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotellerie Saint Yves

Address: 3 Rue des Acacias | (entrée rue des Acacias), 28000, Chartres, France
Location: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Chartres
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 27 Hotels in Chartres
Price Range: $73 - $89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Saint Yves Hotel is a simple but confortable hotel very close to Chartres cathedral and overhanging the river Eure and Old Lower City. The 50 rooms offering 80 beds (from single to family room) allow you to have a night right in the heart of the city, in an amazing historical mansion and to discover all the area on foot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Hotellerie Saint Yves reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotellerie Saint Yves Hotel Chartres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing