We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a good experience”
Review of Kyriad Chartres

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kyriad Chartres
Ranked #10 of 27 Hotels in Chartres
Reviewed June 20, 2012

This hotel is outside the city itself, not far but you do need a car..It was rather cold and rainy when we arrived, we were tired after along and hard day of driving. This is not a fancy hotel as is reflected in the price and fine for a one night stopover. The rooms are very small but one should be able to have the basics. The heat had been turned off the beginning of May so the room was very cold. The front desk did give us a portable heater which helped a lot, our friends needed one too. Both my husband and I need to sleep with our heads elevated but there were only 3 small pillows and 2 regular towels in the bathe room. We were told there were no more pillows or towels as they had a big checkin the next day or just had one or something and the laundry wasn't caught up yet...sounded like a lot of fast talking to me. We were hungry and chose not to leave the hotel for dinner. We were one of the first tables to be seated but one of the last to be served... The food was cold when we got it. the coffee machine was not working and the food for the most part was not very good, however, the wine and the bread was excellent! We are in dispute for several of the charges. Chartres is a beautiful city and a must see but we could not recommend this place unless it is warm weather and you only need a bed!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (322)
There are newer reviews for Kyriad Chartres
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 322 reviews

Reviewed June 20, 2012

Clean, modern and well-appointed. The staff were mostly indifferent, and given the shortage of restaurants nearby, they could have been more helpful describing their own facility.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2012

All in all, nothing bad to say about this hotel - clean, spacious, friendly staff. But also, no well-deserved compliments to the establishment: location is ok only for travellers by car, breakfast... nope, don't buy your breakfast in the hotel, better find something in Chartres, door key was really tricky - apparently only experienced staff could open it at the first attempt. I think that "two star" rating of this hotel does reflect the reality, no better than that and no worse.

Room Tip: Have breakfast elsewhere! Ask for a room with well functioning key card.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank vagabond25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2011

We were very impressed with the quality of this 2-star hotel (we had to check this rating, because we thought we were wrong). The staff at the reception was very friendly and helpful when we asked for some directions. The room was brand new, very clean, spacious and comfortable. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ptkaos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2011

This place lacks everything that makes city centre hotels quirky and fun.
It is however clean, tidy, wi-fi-ed and straight forward to use.
As a regular business traveller I like hotels like this: I know what I'll get and it will always be that way. Completely sanitised.
At 2000 the restaurant had 6 men in it, all alone, all working at laptops while eating supper.
A business mans delight.

Howeve,r don't stay here if you want to have a nice romantic week away exploring Chartres, its a long way out of town, and you'll have to drive.

There are many better places than this to stay in Chartres, however, if you're passing through, or just need to stop at 2100, and set off again at 0700 its perfect.

Restaurant wasn't at all bad, breakfast typical continental fayre.

Room Tip: They're all the same structurally so go for end of corridor for less noise.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank JohnnyAsbestos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2011

we stopped in this hotel on the way back to the Channel Tunnel. It was very convenient,clean and friendly.
The restaurant is in the hotel and serves very good fresh cooked food.
All in all a really nice hotel.

Room Tip: It is a little difficult to find but the sat nav managed it!
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tigwigs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2011

It's certainly not the most attractive location but it's very convenient for the motorway. The staff are lovely, there's plenty of room in the car park and the dinner menu in the restaurant is much improved. Rooms are simple but spotlessly clean, with free WiFi and tea/coffee making facilities. Dogs welcome at €5 per night & plenty of space close to the hotel to exercise.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank marisaandron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chartres hotels
2.3 mi away
Ibis Chartres Centre Cathedrale
0.7 mi away
Campanile Chartres
Campanile Chartres
#16 of 27 in Chartres
198 reviews
4.1 mi away
Ibis Chartres Ouest Luce
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Novotel Chartres
Novotel Chartres
#8 of 27 in Chartres
511 reviews
1.8 mi away
Ibis Styles Chartres
Ibis Styles Chartres
#1 of 3 in Le Coudray
174 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hotel Premiere Classe Chartres Barjouville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kyriad Chartres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kyriad Chartres

Address: 24 avenue Gustave Eiffel, 28000, Chartres, France
Location: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Chartres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 27 Hotels in Chartres
Price Range: $58 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kyriad Chartres 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kyriad Chartres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kyriad Hotel Chartres
Chartres Kyriad Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing