We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel with views of Chartres Cathedral”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Timhotel Chartres Cathedrale
Ranked #12 of 27 Hotels in Chartres
Reviewed May 23, 2012

this is one of the few hotels in Chartres which has rooms with views of the Cathedral. Large, clean rooms and a helpful front desk staff. A nice buffet breakfast, and gated parking.

Room Tip: When booking ask for a room with a cathedral view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank retiredhikers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (325)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 325 reviews

Reviewed May 14, 2012

We ended up here fleeing from a dreadful hotel across the street. It was a relief to find such a clean, attractive hotel with a very comfortable room and helpful staff. Very convenient for the Cathedral and highly recommended for an overnight stay (or longer) in Chartres.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AucklandTrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2012

We returned again to Chatelet for a stopover. The staff were welcoming as always, the room was ideal: clean and comfortable. The hotel's location is perfect and the private, gated parking exactly what is needed. This was, perhaps, our 10th visit and we will return again.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank LifeinHerault
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2012

The staff here is very helpful, English speaking. Room was fine, very clean. Our room with a view of the cathedral was nice, though not breathtaking.

Room Tip: I woudln't bother paying more for rooms with a view of the cathedral.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2011

I was impressed with the hotel the moment we walked in. The staff was very friendly and helpful, the bar and breakfast area was comfortable and clean, and our suite was perfect. The hotel is in a great location, they have nice meeting rooms and I just can't say enough about the great staff. When I inquired about laundry service the kindly informed me that they didn't offer that service, but one of the staff members did my laundry anyway... at no charge! (I left a very good tip). FYI - We selected the Hotel Chatelet for our group tour with 45 people, and everyone loved it. We're going back in April with another group of 45.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank gahoppe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2011

This hotel is well located, clean, peaceful and has secured private parking. The price is OK and the staff very helpful. Thanks.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank au1128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2011

We wanted to make a stop in Chartres to see the cathedral on our way back to a departure from CDG. The Chatelet is within sight of the cathedral and has secured parking in a rather gritty neighborhood near the Chartres train station. The hotel is clean but dingy and bed linens are quite shabby. There are no toiletries or in-room clock. There seem to be only non-functioning in-room safes in the Chatelet. Breakfast consisted of fresh fruit, yogurt, a selection of carbs - fresh breads and croissants and some very commercial cheese.

Re the cathedral - must see the fabulous windows!! The stone of the cathedral and the spectacular windows are in the process of being cleaned. Breathtaking!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Shi Hu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chartres hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Jehan de Beauce
Hotel Jehan de Beauce
#4 of 27 in Chartres
282 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Grand Monarque
0.2 mi away
Mercure Chartres Centre Cathedrale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ibis Chartres Centre Cathedrale
0.0 mi away
Hotel des Poemes de Chartres
2.2 mi away
Novotel Chartres
Novotel Chartres
#8 of 27 in Chartres
529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Timhotel Chartres Cathedrale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Timhotel Chartres Cathedrale

Address: 6 avenue Jehan de Beauce, 28000, Chartres, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Chartres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Chartres
Price Range: $78 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Timhotel Chartres Cathedrale 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Fastbooking, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Hotwire so you can book your Timhotel Chartres Cathedrale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chatelet Hotel Chartres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing