We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Esprit gourmand

Esprit gourmand
Ranked #1 of 193 Restaurants in Chartres
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $44
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Nous sommes fermes le dimanche soir,le lundi et le mardi
london
Level Contributor
168 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Charming Restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

Had a very nice meal here which lived up to the trip advisor reviews. Unlike some other reviewers I did not think that the price was too high given the high standard of the food served. Would definitely eat here again.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank milktray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

614 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    406
    173
    28
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Pole
Level Contributor
92 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Expensive for what it is, but a good meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2012

Our dinner at Esprit Gourmand was good, but perhaps a bit overpriced for what it was. My husband and I both had the house specialities (foie gras as an entree and lamb as a main), and both were okay. The lamb was somewhat plain. Desser was okay. We weren't thrilled with the wine - a 30-euro bottle of local red that was somewhat vinegary.
Our bill came to 115 euros for two entrees, two mains and two desserts with a bottle of wine, and we just didn't think this was entirely worth it.

Overall, we enjoyed our dinner here and the staff were friendly and attentive, but would recommend Les Feullantines more highly.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank voyageuse_81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
158 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Excellent food, somewhat pricey.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2011

We were recommended to this restaurant by our hotel, and enjoyed the food immensely. We had the filet de dorade and the risotto de volaille, both of which were excellent. For 3 courses plus a total of 3 glasses of wine/beverage, the total came to about €100, slightly more than we expected in a side street in a smaller city in France, but all in all the meal was terrific.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DixonsInLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Typical French Bistro - great food. Highly recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2011

Excellent price quality. I took the 'Menu Gourmand', which is absolutely worth its money. Kind of find is rather classic, but very well prepared. Although the wine list is limited (and only French), it seems there mark-up is rather low. I had a Pessac-Leognan that was very impressive for a very moderate price.
I'll definitely go back here.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank EWI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orgeval, France
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent Restaurant & First Class Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2011

I Have only been once so best to choose what you like best as I am sure all is perfect

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pjm1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Esprit gourmand also viewed

Chartres, Loire Valley
Chartres, Loire Valley
 
Chartres, Loire Valley
Chartres, Loire Valley
 
Chartres, Loire Valley
Chartres, Loire Valley
 

Been to Esprit gourmand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing