We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western Grand Monarque
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
L'Hotel(Chartres)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
View Hotel
Reviews (1,149)
Filter reviews
1,149 results
Traveler rating
600
434
72
34
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
600
434
72
34
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvalet parkingle georgesmichelin star restaurantmain restaurantside streetbeautiful hotelparked our cardesk stafflight showold townvery reasonable pricestayed here for one nightfamily roomroom was largelovely citychartres cathedralcity centre
Filter
Updating list...
281 - 286 of 1,149 reviews
Reviewed April 11, 2014

The receptionists were both delightful but you do need to book parking or go to the chicest nearby underground car park. The building is old so you have to walk along various corridors to get to some rooms but it was not a problem. It is close to Chartres cathedral and the town is lovely.
We found the evening meal a little pricey and one waitress was not so friendly. The goats cheese salad was covered with bacon and duck which does not suit us veggies. So eat out if you prefer as there are many nearby restaurants. We were travelling so only spent 1 night there.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank APYE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Réception G, Responsable relations publiques at Best Western Grand Monarque, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2014

Thank you for sharing your opinion about your stay in our hotel. We apologize that your waiter/waitress did not understand you were veggies because we have some dishes adpated to your food choice. And we can also adapt some dish to your wish.
We would be very happy to see you again in our hotel.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014

We only had one night here on our way North but we had such an enjoyable experience that we fully intend to stay again. The staff were, all of them, very friendly, helpful and polite. Lovely big room and very comfortable bed with all you need in the room and bathroom. We ate in the Bistro and had a lovely meal at a reasonable price. The wine we ordered was off but was exchanged without any fuss. Great location too.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gez44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Réception G, Responsable relations publiques at Best Western Grand Monarque, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2014

We thank you so much for your kind advice about your stay in our hotel, especially the staff involvement in the quality of the stay of our guests.
We hope to see you again soon at Le Grand Monarque and that you will also try a diner in La Cour our brasserie. Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2014

I am not a fan of Best Western in the UK. Had a number of very poor experiences. This hotel however was excellent value for money, in a great location.
Often these old large hotels struggle with the standard of facilities. There are some areas of the hotel which are a bit shabby chic but the bedroom we were in had been sympathetically modernised. The bistro was excellent - a real buzz on a Tuesday evening in March.
We travel down to Spain a lot and we will be returning here for a longer break and will perhaps try the Michelin starred restaurant.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank djblincoln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grand_monarque28, Responsable relations clients at Best Western Grand Monarque, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2014

Dear Madam, Dear Sir,



We thank you so much for comments about your stay at the Grand Monarque, and we hope we ll see you again in our hotel.


Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2014

The hotel is extremely well located for the centre of Chartres, an easy stroll to the Cathedral. The bedroom was very big (unlike the lift, which could barely accommodate my suitcase!) and decorated in a style sympathetic to the history of the building. The staff were exceptionally helpful and friendly. I haven't given it 5 stars because although it advertises itself as a spa hotel, the pool and sauna etc are only accessible to guests at an additional charge, the fitness room (which was free) was a little spartan and the main restaurant is extremely expensive (more than Euros 50 for the cheapest set menu). But on the whole it is still a hotel I would recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Acelawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Réception G, Responsable relations publiques at Best Western Grand Monarque, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2014

We thank you for sharing your opinion about our hotel on Trip Advisor. We are happy you enjoy your stay even if we are a 4 stars (and not 5!) hotel. And if our 1* Michelin restaurant actually has his lower price menu at 50€, you can also have a lunch or dinner at La Cour, the brasserie wich menu is 30€. We hope to see you again in our hotel, best regards, the Grand Monarque welcome desk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Well, if you are booking with Booking.com, be sure to avoid being given room 108. It is above the kitchen, and it is NOISY. I had to phone to reception at nearly 01.00 in the morning to ask when the noise was going to stop. Hey it started again at 06.00 am. The receptionist I spoke to wandered if I wanted another pillow!! NO, I want the NOISE TO STOP. The morning receptionist was very helpful and apologetic, but from the conversation I overheard, oh it is the Booking.com room 108. WELL, it wont be for much longer. The room is lovely, the beds are comfortable and the shower excellent, you could even sit on the loo and shower - strange set up in the bathroom. BUT, unless they do some serious sound proofing or move the kitchen this is a room to AVOID... We have stayed in many hotels over the years if the room was situated in another part of the hotel, it would have got a 4* but, sadly, it wont be a room we will use again in the future.
We arrived back home and had to go to bed, we were SO tired. It really did spoil are trip to Chartes.

Room Tip: DO NOT accept room 108, it is above the kitchen and it is NOISY!!
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Londontraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews