We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful hotel with excellent service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Grand Monarque
Ranked #1 of 27 Hotels in Chartres
Certificate of Excellence
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A beautiful hotel with excellent service”
Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

We were allocated this hotel after breaking down in France and the room rate would normally have been outside our price range at Euro 200 a night for the 4 of us. However, I would consider returning as the hotel was beautiful and the staff were really helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emmett D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,029 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    522
    398
    69
    31
    9
See reviews for
167
613
29
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Our family of 5 were wonderfully accommodated for 2 nights in this very clean, well run hotel.

The staff know what they're about and sought to ensure we had everything we needed.

The breakfast was well worth it - you'd be best to take it up, particularly if you have younger children for whom you don't have to pay (apologies, I can't remember the age).

The location is just across from the fountains and within a very short walk from a variety of shops and historical sites, particularly the wonderful cathedral, which was the focus for our visit. I'd recommend the lumiere de nuits.

My one regret is not trying out the spa!!

Room Tip: Phone up the hotel and discuss your particular needs with them. The staff speak very good English i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ericccc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ruislip, uk
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

What a lovely stay. The rooms were individually gorgeous, and immaculately decorated. The real magic came from staff friendliness, very welcoming, friendly, and professional. Nothing was too much trouble, and overheard other guests saying the same thing. The location was perfect for a day or two exploring Chartres and it's stunning cathedral, but the rest of week spent visiting Chateaus in the Loire (we drove 1-2 hours) and Palace of Versailles (drove 1 hr). Evening concerts in Chartres and the illuminations were a treat, and so kids never got to bed before 23:30. Check out is noon, much more relaxing last day and no rush to leave. Family rooms are spacious and comfy, and a stones throw from plenty of cafes and patisseries.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulybear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Stayed here en route further south but were pleasantly surprised by both Chartres and the hotel. The location is superb, the staff friendly and the hotel brimming with character. The breAkfast was great too.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ABN1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lutterworth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

This hotel is superb. The sheer opulence of your surroundings and personal en suite room. The customer service delivered by every single member of staff, waitresses, valets, receptionists.....is of an extremely high standard. The food is stunning, every thing we tried was incredibly put together. The hotel itself perfectly located for sightseeing, and even in our room at the rear, you could see the tips of the cathedral steeples......absolutely beautiful. Our bed had a really deep mattress, then a really puffy mattress topper, then a soft deep blanket.....it was like sleeping on a cloud.

Room Tip: I would like a room on the front next time around
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clare R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Stayed here on last night of holiday as a birthday treat. Good location for sights, restaurants and centre 2 min walk to Chartres Cathedral. Its truly lovely, I loved the mix of French elegance and modern elements. Overall the feeingl is one of luxury reserved for a bygone age. No aircon in our room but provided 2 fans during the hot July. Take care when getting into bath when its wet - slippery but then that's a testament to the cleanliness. The lift was small so you may need to take several trips if you have lots of luggage. Friendly and helpful staff and valet parking (if you've reserved parking). Go on treat yourself it's worth it.

Room Tip: We stayed in a comfort room which is the entry level room however the furnishings etc would rival th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chartres hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Jehan de Beauce
Hotel Jehan de Beauce
#3 of 27 in Chartres
259 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mercure Chartres Centre Cathedrale
0.7 mi away
Ibis Chartres Centre Cathedrale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Novotel Chartres
Novotel Chartres
#8 of 27 in Chartres
496 reviews
0.2 mi away
Timhotel Chartres Cathedrale
0.2 mi away
Hotel des Poemes de Chartres
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Grand Monarque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Grand Monarque

Property: Best Western Grand Monarque
Address: 22 Place des Epars, 28000, Chartres, France (Formerly BEST WESTERN Le Grand Monarque)
Location: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Chartres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Chartres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Grand Monarque 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Monarque Hotel situated in an ancient private historical building just where the pedestrian-only streets commence, is the ideal base for visiting the famous cathedral and the historical town centre of Chartres. Once in the entrance hall we discover a comfortable and elegant ambiance : you are in a gastronomical establishment of great renown. 55 rooms and apartments are at your disposition. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Grand Monarque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Le Grand Monarque Hotel Chartres
Best Western Hotel Chartres
Best Western Chartres
Chartres Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing