We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly decent...but watch out for breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ibis Chartres Centre Cathedrale
Ranked #3 of 27 Hotels in Chartres
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We used this IBIS as a stopover on our way further south. Pretty easy to find and staff are friendly. If you're using the car park alongside/underneath then dash into reception, check in and get a code for the gates. This costs, of course (6 euros I recall).

The room was just fine - clean and comfortable with a decent shower. The location is very good though - it's about a 10 minute relaxed walk to the Cathedral and restaurants etc in the old town. It has a nice terrace next to the river where you can have a drink or breakfast if the weather's ok.

Which brings me on to the one problem with this place - breakfast. I would definitely echo the concerns of other reviewers here. We went down about 8.15 and there were no bowls for cereal, fruit etc. We helped ourselves to bread, ham, cheese and tortilla which were all perfectly fine. Coffee was also good but I had to put orange juice in a takeaway coffee cup as there were no glasses. Eventually some more tortilla appeared but was half-frozen and when we left there was a queue of about 15 hapless customers waiting for some food to turn up. As we went past the only thing I could see was the chopped/stewed fruit but no bowls in which to put any of it.

One of the staff then brought out some plates but God knows how long these hungry unfortunates had to wait for any food. At least they had some crockery to hug. So I guess the message is to get down before 8.30 if you want any food. This is a pretty terrible oversight on the part of the hotel (especially at 9 euros a pop) and one which they need to fix. If they did so I'd be able to rate this place more highly as it's got a lot going for it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lunchiebunsworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (917)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

226 - 232 of 917 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2013

We stayed here on our way to the Dordogne. Excellently situated with a short stroll into town to its magnificent cathedral. The room was clean and tidy along with the bathroom and the bed was amazingly comfortable! Breakfast was a bit pricy but that's not unusual for French hotels! Car park was secure but for another additional charge of 6 euros! All in all though a good place to stop and would do so again!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GPZgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for one night on way down to south of France. Tiny room, very basic, dreadful breakfast for €9, bed & linen just passable.

On the positive side, the staff were very pleasant and the parking was handy.


  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OrchardOX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

This was our second stay at the hotel. Its major strength is consistency and, even more so on this occasion than the last, very welcoming and helpful staff. Its location is very good, only a few minutes' walk from the cathedral and the town itself. The hotel has secure parking also, which is a bonus, and the air-con was greatly appreciated. Food is of a reasonable quality and presents reasonable value for money - as does the hotel itself. We would choose to stay there again.

Room Tip: Booking online in advance secured us a reasonable discount against rack prices
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrjburns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed at this Ibis for one night en route down South. I don't think they have family rooms, so we had 2 adjacent double rooms. There was a door linking the 2 rooms, which we kept open, so the children stayed in one room and we slept in the other. The rooms were clean and comfortable. No tea and coffee facilities, but this is France, not UK. Location is perfect, just a 5 minute stroll to the Cathedral and surrounding streets + restaurants. The hotel has its own secured car park, but you won't fit in there with a roof load of bikes. Fortunately there are a few spaces in front of the hotel, where you can park for free until 8 am. Staff was very friendly, breakfast was good. We would stay here again. Good value, recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saba-95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

I am no stranger to Chartres. Frankly, I had no idea this hotel existed and I lived near Chartres for a year. This hotel is not on the main street with the rest of the hotels, but it is in a charming location next to the Eure. I was pleasantly surprised. This was my first time in an Ibis.

My room was ready upon arrival, very clean, and nicely air conditioned. The restaurant was lovely. The terrace on the back next to the Eure is a definite plus. The centre ville is not far. Personally, I prefer using the path that leads to the Cathedral and town central parking lot as opposed to climbing up the numerous stairs behind the cathedral.

There was a lovely bakery selling "cigars." You have to have one.

Chartres is a lovely city and this hotel definitely pleased me. I was there for 4 nights, the bedding was comfortable and the service was great.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nogentais1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank francofox49
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chartres hotels
0.7 mi away
Best Western Grand Monarque
0.6 mi away
Mercure Chartres Centre Cathedrale
0.5 mi away
Hotel Jehan de Beauce
Hotel Jehan de Beauce
#4 of 27 in Chartres
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Novotel Chartres
Novotel Chartres
#8 of 27 in Chartres
531 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotellerie Saint Yves
Hotellerie Saint Yves
#11 of 27 in Chartres
243 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel des Poemes de Chartres
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Chartres Centre Cathedrale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Chartres Centre Cathedrale

Address: 14 Place Drouaise, 28000, Chartres, France
Location: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Chartres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Chartres
Price Range: $53 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Chartres Centre Cathedrale 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Chartres Centre hotel is in a pleasant environment on the bank of the Eure. It is located 500 m from the railway station and 10 min on foot from the historic district where you can explore the cathedral of Notre Dame de Chartres. The hotel has 79 air-conditioned rooms available for booking, 2 meeting rooms, covered pay parking, a bar with a terrace open 24/24 and Wifi wireless Internet access for guests on a business trip. There is a tennis court close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Chartres Centre Cathedrale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Chartres Centre Cathedrale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing