We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most hospitable!”
Review of L'Escalier

L'Escalier
Ranked #59 of 197 Restaurants in Chartres
Price range: $14 - $35
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Cafe, brasserie, restaurant, 100m from the tourist office (home of the salmon) menu, map, barbecue, fish, chef's ..Menu spécial pour les groupes /Special menu for groups
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Most hospitable!”
Reviewed April 29, 2012 via mobile

I came to Chartres one Saturday morning from Paris by bicycle and train, and spent the entire day in the rain. By 1800 I was ready for dinner, at least an hour before most restaurants open. The proprietor opened up early just for me, and I had a delightful meal! This place won't get any Michelin stars, but the food is just fine, reasonably priced as are the wines and apparitfs - and the friendly service is truly exceptional!

Helpful?
Thank Charles C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pascal G, Propriétaire at L'Escalier, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you for having published a notice

Hope to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    59
    12
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Gresham, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Made my day”
Reviewed April 22, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I ducked into this restaurant to escape a passing shower. At first we thought we would have a glad of wine and move on, but eventually stayed for a bite.
First of all let me say we don't speak French. We also have no expectation that the French will go out of their way to overcome our lack of linguistic skills (this is an important attitude here). That being said, the owner went out of his way to befriend us and make conversation (despite his lack of English skill). This we greatly appreciated as it created a very evoking environment.
We ate in the bar with a view of the street. My wife had a salad (she loved it), and I had quiche (it was extraordinary). The bill came to €30 which included two glasses of wine each and a wonderful afternoon. I would definitely return for a full meal. They did have several three course meal options for under €20.

Helpful?
Thank TimSr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Propriétaire at L'Escalier, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
thank you for my restaurant
See you soon, I
cordially
Mr Pascal GOURCI
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good and friendly”
Reviewed April 6, 2012

Good food, excellent place in a sunny day, terrific localization, near everything that matters in Chartres. I did the reservation 2 days before, and the manager was kind enough to call me to ask if we prefer outside tables. I asked about menu for kids, and he was very kind in preparing pasta to 8 kids (we were a big group), out of the fix (and excellent) menu for saturdays. We loved it!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SilvanadeLucca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pascal G, Propriétaire at L'Escalier, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you for having published a notice

Hope to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
va
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Sunday find”
Reviewed September 14, 2011

We had a very pleasant evening at L'Escalier in the old town (1 Rue du Bourg). It's about a 5 min. walk from the cathedral and it's open on Sunday when a lot of places are not. And it's very nice sitting in the squarelike area just across from the restaurant.

The menu offers various fixed price dinners (with about 3 choices within each fixed priced) and ala carte at reasonable prices. The choices were varied and the four of us each enjoyed the food. It was fresh, well prepared and presented. Pascal (owner/manager) was so pleasant when I wanted a different first course on a fixed price he obliged with no extra cost.

The service was good, the food delicious and the atmosphere casual and relaxed.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank winstead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Propriétaire at L'Escalier, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
thank you for my restaurant
See you soon, I
cordially
Mr Pascal GOURCI
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne UK
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“No alternative offered.”
Reviewed September 6, 2011

The 19euro menu was chosen by me and the a'la carte by my wife. There was no mention of the ratatouille being unavailable and my wife chose the roast chicken. It turned out to be a fried chicken leg with chips for 12euro! We should both have had ratatouille or at least been offered an alternative such as a salad. When I asked about this I was told that they had run out and that was it ! Having been in the trade myself for many years I was more than annoyed with this total lack of consideration for the product and the customer. When I asked for more bread I received a 'huff' from the waiter. With wine the bill came to almost 60euro after a modest reduction for my dissatisfaction. We had another experience the previous night elsewhere so I'm now wondering if McDonalds or a good Chinese do have their place in France. I feel that those pioneering French chefs would have been horrified at today’s trade. Having said this we did enjoy the starters and deserts although we waited 40mins for the desert.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MrPastry1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Propriétaire at L'Escalier, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
thank you for your opinion . cordially Mr Pascal GOURCI
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Escalier also viewed

Chartres, Loire Valley
Chartres, Loire Valley
 
Chartres, Loire Valley
Chartres, Loire Valley
 

Been to L'Escalier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing