We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very nice stay in Chartres”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Chartres Centre Cathedrale
Ranked #2 of 27 Hotels in Chartres
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Our room was clean and comfortable and fairly good sized for a European hotel room. The hotel was very conveniently located for viewing the cathedral and exploring the town. It is also within easy walking distance to the train station. We were particularly impressed with the professionalism and friendly manner of the front desk staff. We wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank petitesweetheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lanima28, Propriétaire at Mercure Chartres Centre Cathedrale, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2014
Google Translation

Nous sommes ravis que votre séjour vous ait enchanté.
Toute l'équipe de MERCURE CHARTRES CATHEDRALE est attentive au bien etre de ses clients.
En espérant vous revoir bientot parmi nous.
Bien cordialement
Laurence BEUF

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (492)
There are newer reviews for Mercure Chartres Centre Cathedrale
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 492 reviews

Reviewed May 25, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay in the Mercure after a tiny room in Paris. it was excellent with a coffee/tea maker and a safe and adequate space. The hotel is a short walk from the train station and a short walk from the Cathedral.

The main reason to go to Chartres is to see the famous Cathedral. We took the French tour at 10:30 which was a bit long winded and lasted two hours but was worth doing. There is an English tour at noon. it is worth staying the night to go to some of the nice little restaurants and to see the impressive light show on the Cathedral at night (very artistic set of images) and the somewhat less impressive light shows on a number of other buildings. We almost wished we had stayed 2 nights instead of one to arrange the tour up to the towers and walk around a bit more, see the agricultural museum etc. The excellent room and facilities of the Mercure were a major aspect of our pleasant stay. The excellent breakfast was worth the 15 Euros charged if you plan to eat a lot. Otherwise there are outside options. The staff let us stay 2 hours past the noon checkout time with no extra charge.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Virginatraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lanima28, Propriétaire at Mercure Chartres Centre Cathedrale, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2014
Google Translation

Nous sommes trés heureux que votre séjour sur Chartres vous ait plu.
Il est vrai que le spectacle de Chartres en lumières est magnifique, il a lieu tous les soirs du 12.04.au 12.10.2014. Lorsque notre activité le permet, nous sommes pouvons en effet accepter un chek out un peu plus tardif, pour etre agréable à nos clients.
Bien cordialement
Laurence BEUF

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
5  Thank RGBonVivant
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
mercure28, Propriétaire at Mercure Chartres Centre Cathedrale, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2014
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
4  Thank Matthew B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
mercure28, Propriétaire at Mercure Chartres Centre Cathedrale, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We intended to stay in Chartres for a couple of nights, but ended up staying for three when our car rental company left us in the lurch. And, while it doesn't boast much in terms of personality, we were delighted to be staying somewhere as comfortable, convenient and central as the Mercure.

We didn't bother with breakfast, as there were loads of local cafes to choose from for a fraction of the cost. But the service we received throughout our stay was absolutely excellent - all of the staff we interacted with were extremely helpful.

The location is terrific, and easily within reach of all of Chartres' main sights - however, central Chartres is pretty small, so that's probably true for all of the "big" hotels there! But, for such a central location, we had excellent nights' sleep - our room was a good size, well kitted out, and wonderfully quiet.

The Mercure is not an unforgettable hotel - it's impersonal and rather featureless. But for a great location, reasonable prices, comfort and great service, it's a terrific option.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank southease78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mercure28, Propriétaire at Mercure Chartres Centre Cathedrale, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013
Google Translation

Merci pour votre commentaire sur le MERCURE CHARTRES CATHEDRALE.
Toute l'équipe de notre établissement est toujours trés attentive au bien etre des clients, je suis ravie de savoir que vous en avez été satisfaits.
A bientot j'espère.
Laurence BEUF

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Maybe if you don't want to relate to anyone you might enjoy staying here. I thought the rooms were overpriced and dreary, the atmosphere distinctly lacking and the breakfast really poor. Though the setting is well located, the hotel offered me very little for a high price. I would not stay here again.

Room Tip: I only stayed once and I was disappointed in my room.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank louise d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mercure28, Propriétaire at Mercure Chartres Centre Cathedrale, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013
Google Translation

Je suis désolée que notre prestation n'est pas été à la hauteur de votre attente.
Nos chambres sont neuves et design, le buffet petit déjeuner est trés copieux et contient tous les produits recommandés par MERCURE.
Nous sommes trés attentifs au bien etre de nos clients, et sommes toujours navrés lorsque nos clients nous quittent en disant que tout c'est bien passé et finissent par écrire un commentaire négatif sur l'hotel.
Cordialement
Laurence BEUF

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Nice hotel in the centre of the town. The underground car park is good but takes a little working out where you need to enter and more of a mystery where you will come put.

Breakfast good. Rooms nice and clean.

Would stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank C_K_0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mercure28, Propriétaire at Mercure Chartres Centre Cathedrale, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2013
Google Translation

Merci pour votre commentaire sympathique sur le MERCURE CHARTRES CATHEDRALE.
Nous espéront vous revoir bientot.
Laurence BEUF

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chartres hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Grand Monarque
0.2 mi away
Hotel Jehan de Beauce
Hotel Jehan de Beauce
#5 of 27 in Chartres
266 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ibis Chartres Centre Cathedrale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Novotel Chartres
Novotel Chartres
#8 of 27 in Chartres
511 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel des Poemes de Chartres
0.2 mi away
Timhotel Chartres Cathedrale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Chartres Centre Cathedrale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Chartres Centre Cathedrale

Address: 3 rue du General Koenig, 28000, Chartres, France
Location: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Chartres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 27 Hotels in Chartres
Price Range: $104 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Chartres Centre Cathedrale 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, ACCOR, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Chartres Centre Cathedrale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing