We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great view to the cathedral”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mercure Chartres Centre Cathedrale
Ranked #2 of 27 Hotels in Chartres
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed June 26, 2013

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank mogfo
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
mercure28, Propriétaire at Mercure Chartres Centre Cathedrale, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (520)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

102 - 108 of 520 reviews

Reviewed June 11, 2013

Very relaxing stay in a huge room. The staff were attentive. All was clean and quite. We all slept well ready for the next stage of the journey. Walking around the cathedral area is always a pleasure too.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank nicmanf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mercure28, Propriétaire at Mercure Chartres Centre Cathedrale, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013
Google Translation

Un grand MERCI pour votre avis si gentil.
Laurence BEUF

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

The Mercure hotel was nice, especially after the bad room we had in the previous stop on our trip. It does have a bizarre entrance, with no place to stop to load/unload luggage. I drove around the block while my wife went in, to inquire about where to unload. We were expected to stop in the street, blocking traffic at rush hour, while unloading. So we stopped just long enough to yank out two suitcases and whatever could be grabbed quickly, and I took the car to nearby garage and carried the rest of the stuff to the room.

The only negative about the room was that no washcloths were provided. The fellow at front desk, who spoke good English, did not understand what I meant by washcloths or facecloths, but he provided two additional small towels, which we used as very large washcloths. For next trip to Europe, we have added washcloths to our packing list!

I was able to use the hotel computer (interesting for a PC expert to use an Apple with French keyboard) to check in at Air France, and with assistance from non-English speaking front desk staffer, print boarding passes (I didn’t know word for “Print” in French and didn't have time to look it up). In the morning, we rolled our suitcases to the garage to avoid the hassles of blocking traffic again during morning rush hour.

We would recommend this hotel for any stay in Chartres.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve7P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mercure28, Propriétaire at Mercure Chartres Centre Cathedrale, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013
Google Translation

Je prend note de votre commentaire et tiens à y apporter quelques éléments de réponse.
En effet nous n'avons malheureusement pas de "dépose minute" devant notre hotel, celui ci nous ayant été refusé par la mairie. Cependant nous accordons à nos clients ayant beaucoup de bagages d'entrer dans notre cour le temps de déposer les valises, ensuite il faut rejoindre le parking "coeur de ville" situé juste en face du MERCURE et prendre la sortie piétons "place des épars" et de cette façon vous vous retrouvez juste en face du MERCURE CHARTRES CATHEDRALE.
D'autre part dans les salles de bains, nous mettons à disposition de nos clients deux serviettes de toilette ainsi que deux draps de bain et en effet pas de gant!! En France les gants de toilette doivent etre ceux des clients.
Espérant avoir donné les explications nécessaires pour nos futurs clients.
Bien à vous
laurence BEUF

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Stayed here for a night when travelling back to the UK from Carcassonne.
The hotel has no car park and you have to use the nearby council underground one at Place des Epars.
The hotel is a couple of years old and we loved the décor which is inspired by the Cathedral's stained glass.
The room was clean and a good size with a very comfortable bed.
Breakfast was plentiful and we never felt rushed.
We spent the evening walking around the Cathedral and really enjoyed the "Fete De La Lumiere".
Our only criticism is that we could not open our bedroom window.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zen123102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mercure28, Propriétaire at Mercure Chartres Centre Cathedrale, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013
Google Translation

merci pour votre gentil commentaire, toute l'équipe du MERCURE CHARTRES CATHEDRALE est trés touchée.
A bientot dans notre belle ville
Laurence BEUF

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eurowanderer2013
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Had a great stay at the Mercure Chartres in October 2012. The room was stylish and quiet (we faced the back, may be a different story if you get a cathedral view). The bed was incredibly comfortable, the shower had great water pressure and drainage, and housekeeping was immaculate. The reception staff was delightful and helped us with finding tourist sites and making restaurant reservations. Location is fantastic - took us 10 minutes to walk to the cathedral and historic quarter. Don't miss the street signs down there. We'll definitely stay here again when we return for Chartres at Night!

Have a great time!

Room Tip: Quiet rooms face the back and cost less, you can pay more to get a partial view of the cathedral, bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TravelCuties
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Greeted by a very nice helpful receptionist, we were meeting relations from Canada and she managed to put us in a room right next to them. Room was very nicely furnished , very clean , nice bathroom(shower only) and a separate loo it had everything that you could need and a very comfy bed. A little tip if you arrive by car , if you carry on just past the hotel and turn right at the first permitted turn and right again it will bring you to a little road behind the hotel where you can park until you unpack your luggage and check into the hotel . The receptionist will give you details of where you can park. We only had breakfast at the hotel it was very nice loads of fresh breads croissants etc ham eggs cheese fruit . There is a hotel just up from the mercure with a very nice bar lounge be warned the drinks and food are quite expensive , there are much better deals to be had in the centre towards the cathedral loads doing plat de jours. The cathedral is definately worth a visit it is a world heritage site and really is the reason people visit Chartres. the people on the labyrinth were very interesting to watch.if I was visiting Chartres again I would use this hotel again..

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank janicedale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chartres hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Grand Monarque
0.2 mi away
Hotel Jehan de Beauce
Hotel Jehan de Beauce
#4 of 27 in Chartres
296 reviews
2.2 mi away
Novotel Chartres
Novotel Chartres
#7 of 27 in Chartres
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ibis Chartres Centre Cathedrale
0.2 mi away
Timhotel Chartres Cathedrale
0.2 mi away
Hotel des Poemes de Chartres
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Chartres Centre Cathedrale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Chartres Centre Cathedrale

Address: 3 rue du General Koenig, 28000, Chartres, France
Location: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Chartres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 27 Hotels in Chartres
Price Range: $104 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Chartres Centre Cathedrale 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Accorhotels.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mercure Chartres Centre Cathedrale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing