We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfectly good hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercure Chartres Centre Cathedrale

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mercure Chartres Centre Cathedrale
Ranked #3 of 26 Hotels in Chartres
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
158 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Perfectly good hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2011

We stayed in the Mercure in August 2011, and found it quiet, comfortable and perfectly fine for a reasonable price. The hotel is an easy walk to the Cathedrale and other parts of Chartres. The breakfast buffet was not bad at all. This was better than we expected for a Mercure.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DixonsInLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    217
    43
    8
    2
See reviews for
91
216
22
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2011

We generally avoid staying in chain hotels but booked this one on the basis of glowing Trip Advisor reviews. It's very central, opposite the pedestrian shopping streets of Chartres and 2 minutes walk from the cathedral. At 80 euros a night for a large room with a king bed, it was great value for money, and the quirky, modern, beautifully decorated room felt like we were in a trendy boutique hotel rather than a chain. Free fast Internet and wonderfully helpful, friendly staff also contributed to our great stay.

The only downside was that the hotel does not offer parking. The staff recommended that we use the council car park opposite the hotel which was relatively secure (it could not be accessed by anyone who did not hold a ticket) and reasonably priced at 6 euros for an overnight stay, but we would have preferred that parking was provided by the hotel.

As an additional bonus, the bakery in the square opposite the hotel (just down the street from Macdonalds) sells the most delicious pains aux chocolat ever...

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Katandapickle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
82 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

Better than your average Mercure. Location, location location. Rooms are design and may not please the older clientele. Charming staff.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pixiematic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2011

The Mercure hotel in Chartres is ideally located, on the Place General Koenig, just 6/7 minutes from the cathedral and 5 minutes from the centre of town. We arrived early to check out the car parking arrangements as we knew that the hotel does not offer private parking. The receptionist checked us in (12:00) and explained the public parking immediately adjacent and beneath the Place General Koenig, it was state of the art and appeared expensive at €18.00 per day, but then, be warned, parking anywhere in Chartres is bad for the bank balance. We were allocated a Privilege room (Number 236) which looked out onto the Place and the cathedral. It was a very good size and sharply appointed. We had been concerned that street noise might be an issue but the windows are certainly the heaviest I have ever seen and still managed to open half-length to allow air into the room. Initial impressions, were very positive. The shower cubicle in the bathroom is one of the best I have come across in any hotel, being very large and extremely efficient. Considering this was not our first choice hotel in Chartres and to be honest, the pictures on the Mercure web site do not do this hotel any favours then I have to say that overall we were very pleasantly surprised.

Room Tip: The seasonal light show in Chartres at night means that you must have a room facing the cathedral.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bmriic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsfield Bay
Level Contributor
42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2011

This Hotel has been totally renovated to new standards, it is well located & worth the stay. Private Parking is available across the road but can be a little expensive for extended stays.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterHorsfieldBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neath
Level Contributor
129 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2011

-directly opposite the cathedral- ask for a superior room as well worth it, view fantastic
-great nights sleep- soundproofed, comfy memory foam beds and spacious, modern rooms
-walking distance to good range of restaurants, train station etc.
and NOT TO
-parking is very secure and cheap ,but is a bit of a drag if you have a lot of luggage
-there is no restaurant or room service if you need that
-you don't liek really nice hotels!

Room Tip: ask for the superior room which has direct unobstructed view of cathedral, free soft drinks, fluffy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ali S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, NJ
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

Recently spent two nights at this clean, comfortable and attractive hotel with a great view. Hotel is walking distance from the train station, cathedral and old town. We chose an upgraded double room with a cathedral view. Also afforded us the opportunity to view Chartres' changing light show on multiple buildings from our room. Comfortable bed and ample room for two. Bathroom had a separate room for the toilet. Shower was a bit odd (colored LED lights?!) and awkward with no place to put toiletries except for the floor. Coffee maker was a challenge. But overall, a lovely stay in a lovely room. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DekkerDo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chartres hotels
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Le Grand Monarque
0.2 mi away
Hotel Jehan de Beauce
Hotel Jehan de Beauce
#2 of 26 in Chartres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
0.2 mi away
Timhotel Chartres Cathedrale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ibis Chartres Centre Cathedrale
2.2 mi away
Novotel Chartres
Novotel Chartres
#6 of 26 in Chartres
4.0 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel des Poemes de Chartres
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Chartres Centre Cathedrale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Chartres Centre Cathedrale

Property: Mercure Chartres Centre Cathedrale
Address: 3 rue du General Koenig, 28000, Chartres, France
Location: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Chartres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 26 Hotels in Chartres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Chartres Centre Cathedrale 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and ACCOR so you can book your Mercure Chartres Centre Cathedrale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing