We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect rainy day respite in a beautiful location”
Review of Le Cafe Serpente

Le Cafe Serpente
Ranked #15 of 197 Restaurants in Chartres
Price range: $17 - $35
Cuisines: Delicatessen
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Camp Hill, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A perfect rainy day respite in a beautiful location”
Reviewed December 2, 2013

This is a bright, cheerful café immediately adjacent to the Cathedral in Chartres. We ate lunch there on a chilly, rainy day and it certainly elevated our spirits. The hostess greeted us warmly and the entire staff was very attentive and hospitable throughout our visit. We enjoyed the food and the interactions with the staff without exception. The café will be a warm memory for us.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Levi4G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

661 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    160
    333
    104
    40
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage, Alaska
Level 6 Contributor
252 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Good Lunch After Visit to Cathedral”
Reviewed November 19, 2013

My son, daughter, and I enjoyed our lunch here very much I had the rillettes and the cassoulet. It was a cozy spot after touring the cathedral and we would definitely return here. Service was good.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AlaskanSon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaufort, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“not a nice welcome”
Reviewed October 31, 2013

We had hoped to dine at the petite serpentine which is more casual part of cafe serpentine. We were not greeted even though we greeted the hostess in French. The couple in front of us were French. The hostess tried to seat them away from the front dining room even though it was empty. They requested to be seated there and she obliged. We requested the same and she refused, saying that those tables were only for four. She seated us at a counter. After observing 2 other couples being seated (without reservations), where we had requested we left.It appeared as if French customers were seated in the front, while foreign visitors were not.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank lovinsc_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
316 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“A very nice lunch”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

We had lunch here on visit to Chartres. The onion soup was excellent, tasty, hot and served with morish bread. We then had a very good chicken risotto, which was well served. The service was excellent and the waitress coped very well with our lack of French. The cafe caters for all ages and was child friendly. The children's meals were served very quickly. The entree came to the table quickly and the other course was served promptly. There is a more upmarket restaurant next door as part of the same establishment. Well worth a visit.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely evening meal in the shadow of the cathedral”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

+ atmosphere and surroundings, reasonable choice on the menu, friendly helpful staff

- busy, too few staff

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank chief_grumpypants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Cafe Serpente also viewed

Chartres, Loire Valley
Chartres, Loire Valley
 
Chartres, Loire Valley
Chartres, Loire Valley
 
Chartres, Loire Valley
Chartres, Loire Valley
 

Been to Le Cafe Serpente? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing