We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit weary but clean room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel de France et de Guise
Ranked #13 of 28 Hotels in Blois
Siilinjarvi, Finland
Level Contributor
102 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A bit weary but clean room”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Very friendly and helpful staff with excellent language skills.

Good location close to the castle (but rather noisy due to the traffic). Garage for our motorbike close and not expensive.

The wifi did not function in our room. We had to go to the floor lobby to get connection.

The breakfast is actually not a buffet but a "normal" French one.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SissyBar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    156
    87
    27
    6
See reviews for
100
157
18
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ramsey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We recently spent one night here on our way south. Finding accommodation for a family of 5 is not easy, but the room was more than adequate in size. However, it was very hot in Blois and the room lacked air-conditioning which became a real problem at night as we couldn't have the windows open due to street noise and the risk of one of the children escaping over the balcony !
The staff were very friendly and helpful and Blois was beautiful.
All in all, the hotel did the job for us, but don;t expect a luxury stay as it is quite dated.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loucozade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012 via mobile

This hotel was absolutely charming. The staff were extremely welcoming, helpful and kind. The room itself was decorated in a rather eccentric way (it reminded me of staying at my Nanna's) but this was all part of the fun. The room itself was a good size and had the most beautiful view of the Chateauand nearby church and gardens. I was not at all bothered by the street noise (although we did have the windows shut) but it is not the place for a late lie-in due to the noise of other guests getting up (it is an old building) and lack of black-out curtains. The bathroom was tiny and the shower was a little difficult to negotiate (but excellent when you finally got in to it!) however, none of the 'negative' aspects spoiled the stay for me, I thought it was a fantastic hotel and would definitely stay there again. Finally, the location could not have been more perfect, only 10 minutes from the station and within easy reach of all the sights.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Walnutcake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmdel, New Jersey
Level Contributor
115 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

This charming little hotel is located right across the street from the Chateau of Blois, and the Church of St. Vincent. You will not be impressed with the rather worn-out decor, but you will wind up loving the staff. They were welcoming, gracious and happy to help out in any way. They offer underground parking across the street; they stamp your ticket for $5 a day, which was a great help as we had rented a car. The breakfast room was gorgeous, and Louis XVI would have felt comfortable having his morning croissants there. The breakfast is generous, not just a Continental breakfast,and the wait staff is lovely. The room was perfectly adequate, and for 59 euro/night, we were more than happy, and sad to leave these sweet people.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dolomary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrenpoint
Level Contributor
75 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

After the trip adviser reviews, I had an expecting of a historic interesting quaint hotel, which was basic. However we were very disappointed.

To the credit of the staff, they where very nice and helpful, and this was the saving grace, that stopped me from running out when I first saw the room. Check in was excellent, and they had the rooms ready at 1pm.

The reception and dining room, are reminders of the former glory, and are very historic.

We had booked 2 rooms, and it was 88 euro per room, excluding breakfast, so in my opinion, it was was not a bargain. We had rooms 30 and 31, and room 30 had a nice view of the chateau. Room 30 had enough room for a double bed, and a small desk... That was it. The decor was at least 20 years old, faded, and many leaks, and fixes painted over. It had a plastic shutter on the door to the bathroom, brown vital, circa 1970's, with an inch gap at the bottom, ..
Room 31 was a little larger and had a proper bathroom door. With the same appalling decor, ...

That brings you to the WiFI.. I could only get it in the front reception.. None of us could get access in our bedroom. This is a big fail especially when traveling with teenage kids.

You could say that it was clean.. However it all smelt musty. There was just nothing more than the basics.. One pillow per person, scratchy blankets, All in all I could not wait to leave...

To be fair It did not help, that it was 38 degrees, and our rooms had the sun on them all day. I went and asked for fans, and I was given 1 which helped our teenage girls sleep, but for us in room 30.. No help. We lay in a sauna all night..

We got up early to leave, one day earlier than planned, and paid 7E for an over priced breakfast each. We were given a basket with bread and crossiants, (1 each per person) and 1 cup of coffee.. Felt like it was rationed.. Not what we have experienced so far on our trip.

To balance the views here, I heard many people say nice things about their stay. The location is very good.

My advice is.. If like me you don't normally stay in 2 star hotels, then this is not for you. This just makes 2 star.. We stayed in a 2 star in Versailles and it felt like 4 star compared to this. If you are happy with a step up from a youth hostel, and are looking for somewhere just to sleep, and you can get a good price, then this might work for you. Hotel IBIS around the corner looked good, and we have previously stayed in the Holiday inn..

Happy to respond to any questions..

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Dianewarrenpoint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnieJackyBarilleau, Propriétaire at Hotel de France et de Guise, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Used to 4 stars and 3 stars hotels, we do understand that our hotel, classified in 2 stars, was not as high as your expectations. this new classification made in 2012 is national and our hotel did get it as a 2 stars hotel. We remind our room prices : 59 euros for a double room and 69 euros for a twin room ( and no 88 euros per room as written in your advise).
As you certainly red on Tripadvisor, you stayed in a convivial hotel : we stay at reception late at night to help and serve our clients; in the breakfast room, two waiters are present to serve and serve again for more coffee or else...
Here are the products included in our breakfast at 7 euros : hot drinks, croissant and bred, butter ,marmelade, nutela ; Orange juice, corn flakes, fruit compote and white regional cheese is self service in a little buffet.
We thank you for your attention.
With our best regards
Annie & Jacky
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Blois hotels

Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Though the hotel has an excellent location and the warmest of staff, it felt a little drab and generally tired out. If you are looking for a central spot within walking distance of the centre ville, with some French hospitality thrown in at a low ish cost then this might be for you

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Markgeorgerob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
141 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012 via mobile

Having travelled for several hours on motorbikes in sweltering 40 degree heat we were glad of the warm and friendly welcome we received. The hotel is well situated. The room was clean, functional and ticked the box for all we needed. Breakfast was fresh croissants and bread with cereals and coffee/tea/ chocolate. The building is characterful and quaint. The outstanding feature of the hotel is the friendly and helpful staff. Highly recommended

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonniebeard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blois hotels
0.0 mi away
Ibis Blois Centre Chateau
0.2 mi away
Hotel Anne De Bretagne
0.3 mi away
Best Western Blois Chateau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Mercure de Blois Centre
0.3 mi away
Hotel Louise de Savoie
Hotel Louise de Savoie
#11 of 28 in Blois
155 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Blois Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de France et de Guise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de France et de Guise

Property: Hotel de France et de Guise
Address: 3 rue Gallois, 41000, Blois, France
Location: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Blois
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 28 Hotels in Blois
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel de France et de Guise 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated downtown , in the historical part and in front of the castle of Blois. The restaurants and shopping area are at a few minuts.There is a free and closed garage for the bikes and for the motorbikes. The underground public parking of the castle is at 2 mns. The railway station is at 5/10 mns walking distance. Free wifi is available , and from the hotel we can get reduction on the price of the castle of Blois, Sound and Light Show and Magic House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel de France et de Guise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De France Et Guise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing