We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel de France et de Guise
Ranked #13 of 28 Hotels in Blois
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Perfect location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2011

Stayed for one night recently. Hotel is very close to all sights and restaurants . The room we had was small but adequte - very clean.
The reseption staff were very freindly and helpful.
Would stay here again

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank itchyfooter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jack137, Propriétaire at Hotel de France et de Guise, responded to this review, January 27, 2012
We thank you very much for your kind review and are happy that you had a good stay with us.

You have appreciated our position and simplicity.

We hope to welcome the next time you will be in the Loire Valley.

All the best,

Annie & Jacky Barilleau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    155
    87
    27
    6
See reviews for
100
156
18
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ware
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2011

This hotel is very well located and our room was spacious and clean. The lady in reception was very friendly and helpful and the breakfast was great. All in all, great value.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WareSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Propriétaire at Hotel de France et de Guise, responded to this review, December 4, 2011
Bonjour,

We thank you very much for your review and are always happy when the persons have appreciated their stay with us .

We hope to welcome you another time.

Best regards,

Annie & Jacky Barilleau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
156 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2011

We stayed at this hotel in Blois for one night on our journey from Calais down to the Dordogne region. On previous trips I have booked us into Etap hotels , but thought would use an independent hotel this year.

We were a family of four - me, husband and two teenage boys. I requested two rooms close to each other so that the boys weren't too far away - and I received an email from the hotel confirming that they would do this. The rooms were next to each other. There was free Wi-Fi - we were given the code to log on to it at reception.

We paid a very reasonable price - 67 Euros for the double and 57 Euros for the twin. On a par with prices at the Etap hotels. Breakfast was extra at 7 Euros but we didn't take it as we wanted to explore the town a litle in the morning before setting off on the rest of our journey. We ate at a bakery in the town - there were guests using the breakfast room ( a very grand looking room!).

The staff were very welcoming. When we arrived we were quite tired after a 2am start from home - and a confusing drive around Blois trying to find the car park( there is a multi story one very close by which costs only 5.50 Euros for 24 hours). The lady who checked us in asked if we spoke French and when we replied -only a little - she asked if we wanted to converse in French or English( I chose English - I chickened out). She was very helpful and gave us a map of the town - pointing out the best areas to dine in for later - and told us about the light show at the chateau later that night.

The rooms were absolutely fine. I had read previous reports which weren't too complimentary - but all was great. The bedsheets were clean, and in good condition. The bathroom was very large - toilet, washbasin and shower. There were sufficient towels provided which were also clean and soft. The soap provided was a liquid soap - in a dispenser - one on the wall by the sink the other in the shower. We used it for body and hair?

Overall I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Blois. I would like to go back and explore more as we didn't get time to go inside the chateau - and would really like to. If we manage to get back then we will probably stay at the Hotel de France et de Guise.

Room Tip: Our rooms were at the back - so no view, but quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milan
Level Contributor
212 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2011

This hotel is very cheap respect to others, and it is in a very good position. Close to the centre, you will find parking space near it in the city. Everything is old, there is moquette that seems to be dusty, even though the room is quite big, such as the bathroom, which was clean and fine. There is free internet access with wi-fy devices. In the end, I would come back again in this hotel, it's cheaper than the other 2-stars hotels near it, and offers anyway a normal service.

Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank pettaspagna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Propriétaire at Hotel de France et de Guise, responded to this review, October 1, 2011
Bonjour,

We thank you for taking time to give your impressions after your stay in our hotel.
We are happy that you have appreciated and will go on to renovate the building.

We hope to welcome you another time when you will visit the Loire Valley.
All the best,
Annie & Jacky
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2011

Stayed for one night on the way back home to UK from further south. I've stayed at many towns along the Loire, and many seem to have good, traditional, town centre hotels like this - no frills, a bit faded around the edges, but exactly what a French hotel should be like. Very friendly and helpful staff. Recommended.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Propriétaire at Hotel de France et de Guise, responded to this review, September 17, 2011
Good morning,

We thank you very much for your kind review and we are pleased to notice that you have appreciated our hotel .

All the best,

Annie & Jacky Barilleau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
207 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2011

The hotel is opposite the chateau which gives you a great view. The staff are friendly, but the breakfast is sparse, they even portion your coffee. More importantly, the rooms are shabby and the walls extremely thin

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PickyTrippers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Propriétaire at Hotel de France et de Guise, responded to this review, September 17, 2011
Good morning,

We are happy that you have appreciated the position of our hotel and the welcoming.

You have one part of the breakfast on buffet and the other part we serve you, you can ask for coffee as many times as you want .

Best regards,

Annie & Jacky Barilleau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
72 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2011

Stayed here as an overnight stop on the way to south west France and as a one night stopover, it was fine. Receptionist was very friendly and helpful, gave a great tip for somewhere to eat and the hotel itself is very central, neraly opposite the Chateau and walking distance to town centre, river etc. Rooms and general facilities were very outdated, shabby and crying out for a refurbishment. Everything worked but not a place you'd want to spend very long. Breakfast was very ordinary, we were the only ones there at 8am so felt a bit lost in the huge formerly quite grand dining room. If the owners spent some money it could look quite different and be a little gold mine!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HectorRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Propriétaire at Hotel de France et de Guise, responded to this review, August 20, 2011
We thank you for your review and are happy to read your satisfaction about our service.

As we have already written we have bought this hotel of 50 rooms recently after 25 years of managing differents hotels. The hotel has been built 120 years ago and will keep its old character.
Every winter , we spend the money that we save during the six month of the season in renovation.
First af all, we have changed all the beds of the 50 rooms which is one of the most important thing, then the 50 TV and have installed the free wifi access, hair dryer. Last winter we have secure the lift and renovated the electricity in the 50 rooms and the corridors.

We have a very nice room for breakfast and you were lucky to be the only at that time. Usually most of our clients have their breakfast beetween 08h30 and 10h00.

We will go on next winter and maintain reasonable prices regarding to our position downtown and facing the castle of Blois.

Kind regards,

Annie & Jacky Barilleau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blois hotels
0.0 mi away
Ibis Blois Centre Chateau
0.2 mi away
Hotel Anne De Bretagne
0.5 mi away
Hotel Mercure de Blois Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Blois Chateau
0.3 mi away
Hotel Louise de Savoie
7.0 mi away
Auberge de la Caillere
Auberge de la Caillere
#1 of 1 in Cande-sur-Beuvron
4.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de France et de Guise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de France et de Guise

Property: Hotel de France et de Guise
Address: 3 rue Gallois, 41000, Blois, France
Location: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Blois
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 28 Hotels in Blois
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel de France et de Guise 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated downtown , in the historical part and in front of the castle of Blois. The restaurants and shopping area are at a few minuts.There is a free and closed garage for the bikes and for the motorbikes. The underground public parking of the castle is at 2 mns. The railway station is at 5/10 mns walking distance. Free wifi is available , and from the hotel we can get reduction on the price of the castle of Blois, Sound and Light Show and Magic House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Hotel de France et de Guise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De France Et Guise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing