We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small hotel with a great restaurant” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Le Monarque

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Le Monarque
Ranked #9 of 28 Hotels in Blois
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Small hotel with a great restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2009

We wanted a central location for exploring the Loire valley in September 2007. Le Monarque in Blois was perfect for that. Not fancy, but our room was clean and comfortable. We were a few steps down from the ground floor, on a lower level which made it a bit dark, but the bedroom and bathroom were both a decent size, decorated in blues and yellows. We could hear noises from the hallway, but otherwise it was good value for money.
The high point of this hotel are the very friendly owners and staff and the fantastic restaurant at the front where we ate two nights. Parking is tricky if you have a car as Blois is full of one way streets and the hotel is at the top of a pie-shaped street. There are a few spots in front of the hotel, but it's first come first serve. We were always lucky, but we had a small car.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jesfa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cassandreblois, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Le Monarque, responded to this review, August 28, 2011
We than you for your note about our hotel and are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay.
For cars, we have just 3 spaces in the courtyard (to book in advance) and unfortunetly it's always fully booked.
Each winter, we ameliorate rooms, beds,..
Best regards,
Magalie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    80
    29
    4
    1
See reviews for
24
74
7
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2006

At first it was disconcerting to march our bags through a lunch crowd in the restaurant, but this place is a real gem. The room was very comfortable and air conditioned. The staff go out of their way to be friendly. We tried the restaurant one evening, a delicious meal at a reasonable price with plenty of choices in the fixed price menu. And such a short walk back after we had eaten!

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cassandreblois, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Le Monarque, responded to this review, August 28, 2011
We thank you for your note bout our hotel and are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay.
Each year we try to ameliorate rooms, beds, bathrooms...
Best regards,
Magalie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2004

On arrival it appeared they didn't have our internet reservation. I guess we were lucky that they weren"t fully booked.We had however a nice stay here in sept 04. This small hotel is in a convenient town location and although it was difficult to find a parking space for the car (we ended up parking on the footpath ) we thought it was quite a nice place, serving a very pleasant breakfast.

Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cassandreblois, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Le Monarque, responded to this review, August 28, 2011
We thank you for your note about our hotel.
We apology that your booking wasn't confirmed but fortunetly, we had a room for you.
Each year, we ameliorate our rooms, bathrooms, beds...
Best regards,
Magalie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2004

Stayed here two nights in September 2004. We had a reasonable sized triple room. Beds were comfortable, room was clean and pleasantly decorated. No lifts, although a good-sized stairwell provided easy access to our second floor room (ie two floors above groud). No air-conditioning although sizeable windows provided good cooling as it was not too hot outside. Bathroom was quite small, given the size of the bedroom (only just enough room between sink and wall for the toilet). Shower was disappointing ... an odd control system and varying hot-cold pressure made it difficult to have a satisfactory shower. Restaurant is modestly priced and serves enjoyable French cuisine.

Helpful?
6 Thank cobalt60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cassandreblois, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Le Monarque, responded to this review, August 28, 2011
We thank you for your note about our hoptel and are happy to read that you enjoyed the stay and the restaurant.
Since 2004, we add air-condishionning in all the hotel and modifyed all the rooms in quiet coulours.
Come to see all the modifications.
Regards,
Magalie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2004

We spent 2 nights at this hotel in late June 2004, as the starting and ending point of a bike tour through the Loire Valley. The hotel is comfortable, charming, and clean -- and close to the shops and restaurants in Blois. It's rated as a two-star, but we thought the service and charm made it a three! We had a large comfy room on the 2nd floor; the linens, curtains, and walls were beautiful shades of blue and gold. A full-length mirror, TV, comfortable bed, and private bathroom all made us not want to leave!

If that weren't enough, the restaurant downstairs serves impeccable French food at reasonable prices. The cheese plate was fantastic.

Helpful?
6 Thank gengrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cassandreblois, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Le Monarque, responded to this review, August 28, 2011
We thank you for your note about our hotel and are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay.
Since 2004, we add air-sondichionning and modifyed all the rooms in quiet coulours.
This year, we ameliorate our bike parking.
Come to see all the modifications.
Regards,
Magalie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blois hotels
0.1 mi away
Ibis Blois Centre Chateau
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Blois Chateau
0.3 mi away
Hotel Anne De Bretagne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Mercure de Blois Centre
7.4 mi away
Auberge de la Caillere
Auberge de la Caillere
#1 of 1 in Cande-sur-Beuvron
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Louise de Savoie
Hotel Louise de Savoie
#11 of 28 in Blois
4.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Monarque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Monarque

Property: Hotel Le Monarque
Address: 61 rue Porte Chartraine, 41000, Blois, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Blois
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 28 Hotels in Blois
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Monarque 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel in the city center of Blois, we welcome individuels and small groups.Our rooms are equipped with frach standard beds (140 cm), bath or shower, sank, hairdryer, mirors, safe, TV, free wifi, air conditionning.Our restaurant has a french and traditional cuisine with local wines and cheeses. The card changes in automn and spring.We have a private garden for cars (3 spaces - to book in advance) and bikes or motos.We accept pets but don't leave him alone in the room.Come to visit the Loire Valley ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Orbitz, HRS, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Le Monarque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing