We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Best Logis Restaurent we have eaten in !”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Le Medicis Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Le Medicis Hotel
Ranked #22 of 28 Hotels in Blois
Kimbolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“The Best Logis Restaurent we have eaten in !”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

The Hotel Medicis is different ! Its not in the posh part of town,but its not in the dumps as some reviewers might want you to think. A ten minute walk for my wife and I [we are over 70] and you are at the Chateau in the old town. The Old Town is glorious, shops , buildings, the riverside,the centre of Blois is great. The hotel itself is a logis, it does not pretend to be anything else. The restaurent however is Michelin * class and the best Logis restaurent we have ever eaten in and we have eaten in dozens over the years, The family and their staff are a joy and cannot do enough for you. If you are going to the Loire to sight see, you can't do better than eat at the Medecis.

Room Tip: 105 has spar bath but they are all a little small. But you should go to this hotel to eat !
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tomsBeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    21
    12
    9
    7
See reviews for
16
26
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

We were met at reception by a friendly hostess who spoke perfect English and was very helpful. We had a room on level 1 which was small but cozy and perfect for what we needed. No lift so you need to carry bags upstairs.
Beds are harder than I would have liked but we still slept easily. Bathroom very clean. Room cleaned daily.
10min walk to chateau de Blois, close to pharmacy and above the most devine restaurant which also offers room service!! We had a rental car so chateau Chambord was maybe 40mins away and same again for Chenonceau.
Loved this place and would stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank larniagnew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

Way out of town, in terrible part of town next to major roads. Dirty, horrible, old rooms. On arrival hotel smelt awful of rotten fish. Everything needed a good clean or knocking down and starting again NOT RECOMMENDED

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katy_dias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Blois hotels

George Town, Grand Cayman
Level Contributor
60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2011

As far as the hotel goes, it is a nice, small, clean hotel that you can stay in. Sadly, it is a bit out of the centre of town, but a 10-min walk gets you to all the main places to see, so it isn't too bad. Rooms apparently are soundproof, and I can vouch that it was nice and quiet in our room. The bathtub jacuzzi was nice to relax our muscles after long days of cycling. I will say that the staff is exceptional, always friendly & helpful, and they spoke English really well (so sad that I stumbled through very basic French).

Now to the main attraction: the restaurant. Never in a million years would I have guessed this non-descript hotel/restaurant would be among the best gastronomic experiences of any of my visits in France!!!! We had a nice table by the window and were promptly given a book of a wine list. So beautiful! (OK, I am a bit of a wine fanatic!). The most beautiful part of the list is the long list of local Loire Valley wines. And a very knowledgable sommelier/maitre'd who was eager to help with some suggestions based on our preferences for wine.

Each course was elegantly served. My husband, who is not really sentimental about food, actually said that he wished he could take a picture of his dish as it was a masterpiece (just looking at it!). And we both delved in to our foods....lamb for my husband and a fish dish for me. Both caused us to halt conversation and just enjoy the sensation of flavours in our mouths. The cheese plate was beautiful as well, and dessert was an experience--a chocolate hazlenut cake that was unbelievable. I sadly couldn't finish it all as I was so full...wish I would have asked for the rest of it to go!!! Prices were so reasonable, especially for what you got.

Go, stay and eat!!!

Room Tip: I hear room 211 is the biggest room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bermudababe76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2011

We stayed here and had an attic room. It was cozy but a bit dated--had the feel of a B&B. It was very easy to overlook the quarters because the hotel is run by a chef who also runs the kitchen and who produces stellar food. Absolutely suberb. A five star restaurant.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cccarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2011

I have to highly recommend this restaurant. Absolutely delicious and well portioned courses. Service was exceptional, our waiter was very knowledgeable and his service was effortless and friendly. Unpretentious, cozy place. I will definitely have to go back to France to eat here again.

We also stayed in a room upstairs. Our room was nice and clean, not too big but that was fine for us.

Such a memorable experience!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mingimingi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
95 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2011

Low tech and unplanned vacation. Arrived in Bloise, this hotel and restaurant highly recommended by locals. Found it, checked in. The room for $120E plus tax for one person, was musty, tiny, worn bedding and overall appearance, so not worth the money. Checked out immediately. Restaurant menu looks very gourmet, did not stay to find out.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sfeiten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blois hotels
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Blois Chateau
0.6 mi away
Hotel de France et de Guise
6.6 mi away
Auberge de la Caillere
Auberge de la Caillere
#1 of 1 in Cande-sur-Beuvron
4.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Anne De Bretagne
0.7 mi away
Hotel Le Monarque
Hotel Le Monarque
#10 of 28 in Blois
4.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Louise de Savoie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Medicis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Medicis Hotel

Property: Le Medicis Hotel
Address: 2 allee Francois 1er | Route d'Angers, 41000, Blois, France
Location: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Blois
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 28 Hotels in Blois
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Medicis Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Le Medicis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Medicis Blois

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing