We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean & tidy, Close to Station and City Center”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Louise de Savoie
Ranked #10 of 29 Hotels in Blois
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 9, 2012

This is only a 2 star hotel but is reasonably priced for it proximity to the city center . The owners are very helpful and speak a little English. The rooms are a bit small but are very clean and OK for short stays. The station is less than 5 minutes walk away, the city center 15 and the river 15 minutes. Parking could be an issue but currently there is space available on a plot of land opposite but don't know how long this will be available. Breakfast was standard fare for budget hotels but in saying this, it was very good at only 7 euros. Stayed with some friends and would use this again if I was in the Blois area.

Room Tip: Try to get one on the side or rear of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PhillipB417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (183)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 183 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2012

We just needed to stay one night in Blois and after failing to find another hotel in the town centre with parking we were very happy to find this hotel.
It was a very basic no frills room but the price was fair and we could park right out front. We were pleasantly surprised to find it a short and interesting walk into the town at night via the castle to have dinner.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenni C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2011

The Good
One of the cheapest options in Blois.
Close to the railway station -- easy to find on arrival by train.
Within about 15 minutes' walk of most place in Blois.
Very friendly and helpful manager (his wife less so!).
Good breakfast -- but nothing special.
Secure bike-parking available.

The Bad
Some of the rooms are VERY small: too small to even have a chest of drawers, so clothes have to be piled on the small desk, or hung in the small cupboard.
Truly MINUSCULE bathroom: approximately 3 foot by 3 foot, containing shower, basin, and toilet.
Thin walls: you can hear your neighbours talking, and moving around because of the
creaky floorboards.
Located at the top end of town, so going out means climbing the hill again at the end of the day.
Located just a hundred yards or so from the train station, so some reviewers complain of noise. We asked for quiet rooms (at the back) and could hardly hear the trains.
No lift/elevator (not a problem for me, but for anyone old/disabled with heavy bags, it could be a problem).

Summary
Perfectly OK for those on a tight budget, but if you are staying more than 24 hours or so and are not on a tight budget, it is probably worth staying somewhere more central than this.

PS: Note that at present (Sept. 2011) Google Maps places the hotel in the wrong street, so search using the correct street name, not the hotel name.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JdeP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2011

Terrible bathroom! It's like a plastic cupboard with a toilet in. Shaving my legs with them balanced up on the wall was an interesting experience. Room was very clean but definitely a cheaper feel. However the owners were lovely people and the location was great. Not bad for the price paid.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank huggebare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2011

It's easy to go to visit the chateau from there or to go to the city for a walk or a drink. The hotel is in a small street near the railway station, which it make it a bit noisy. There is a parking just in front.
Room were clean and it's all was you need for a one night stay in Blois.
Considering the location, we could say that it's value for money

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank voyageurautourdumond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2010

We chose this hotel because it was reasonably priced and others in the same price range (with a higher rating on this site) were full. The price is about the best thing that can be said about this hotel. It is a tired old place that has a youth hostel feel in the rooms (i.e. very tired) and very thin walls. You can hear everything and should not expect to sleep beyond 7am once activity starts.
The location was o.k. for the chateau and in quiet area close to a student area (so very safe). The centre of town was a good 20 minute walk away.
The owners/staff were very helpful and pleasant and there was free WiFi and parking. However, we would not recommend this hotel to anyone who wants more than a cheap place to sleep.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrainyDiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2010

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights. The room was the average size one would expect in France, but neat, clean and cheery. It is not in the town centre, so one needs to walk about 10-15 minutes to get there. But the location is brilliant if you are using Blois as a base for travelling around in the region (as we were), not even 2 minutes from the train station from where you can catch a bus or a train to anywhere!

The only problem, as in all of Blois, the managers speak very very little English. I wanted to find out if they had a locker for us to keep our valuables - but gave up after a few minutes, as they clearly had no idea what I was talking about!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NilakshiS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blois hotels
0 mi away
Best Western Blois Chateau
0.3 mi away
Ibis Blois Centre Chateau
0.8 mi away
Mercure Blois Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Auberge de la Caillere
Auberge de la Caillere
#1 of 1 in Cande-sur-Beuvron
287 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Anne De Bretagne
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Blois Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Louise de Savoie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Louise de Savoie

Address: 6 rue Ducoux, 41000, Blois, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Blois
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 29 Hotels in Blois
Price Range: $52 - $94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Louise de Savoie 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Blois, on the right bank of the Loire, between the station and the castle. Louise de Savoie Hotel offers a unique setting that combines the charm of the old with a contemporary renovation of high quality. A warm welcome and a team available to make your stay in Blois a true moment of relaxation and conviviality. Coming from the world in our hotel, so where you come from, you are welcome. See you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Louise de Savoie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
hôtel Le Savoie Blois

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing