We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“STUNNINGLY GOOD RESTAURANT”
Review of L'Aigle d'Or

L'Aigle d'Or
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $66
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Reservations
St. John, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“STUNNINGLY GOOD RESTAURANT”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

You need the inside line - from locals or TripAdvisor - to find this establishment which appears unremarkable and is easy to overlook from the street. However, the minute you walk inside you get a feel of real quality, and what followed underscored this. To start with this is a restaurant for the wine lover, who will probably need 15 minutes to absorb the enormous wine list. The menu - all in French - is less voluminous but mouthwatering, and when the food arrives it does not disappoint. I started with Pate de Foie Gras, first class, while my wife risked the lobster starter and was duly rewarded with one of the tastiest dishes imaginable, despite the restaurant being nowhere near the coast. The main courses & deserts were also absolutely top quality, quite delicious, and the service was professional & efficient. This was the best meal we have had in France for quite a few years, and there have been a lot of very good ones!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MisterCreosote1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    177
    78
    21
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Provence
Level Contributor
58 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Fine dining in an elegant village house”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We had a very good dinner on the terrace of this charming restaurant. All the dishes from the entrée to the desserts were delicious, well presented. The wine, Chinon of course, was excellent.
The service was efficient and polite (though on that evening they were far from full).
There's ample choice of restaurants in this highly touristic region of Chateaux de la Loire but L'Aigle d'Or is worth a visit for refined French cuisine.

I agree that in such a touristic area they should at least have a menu in English...

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ysainprovence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange Park, Florida
Level Contributor
926 reviews
382 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 338 helpful votes
“Only French spoken and no English menu”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Very classy and elegant place with fresh red roses at each table. The hostess was not super friendly when we asked for a English menu. We were fortunate enough to come behind a French speaking couple that also spoke English. They helped us with the menu selection. Whatever we picked was very good, although portions were quite small. There were not a lot of people here for lunch so we were happy. Both meals were delicious. It was recommended by a hotel. The waitress was quite pleasant.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank ukienomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Grove, NY
Level Contributor
129 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“An elegant feast!”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

This is really a top spot! There are many menu choices from about 24€. A fantastic wine list!
We ordered the Chef's menu with local wine supplement at 72€---a real bargain! The five courses were outstanding. The wine pairings were wonderful, all from vineyards less the 10 miles from the restaurant.
The Chef-owner's wife and our server were very professional and very pleasant.
I highly recommend this gentle and elegant establishment.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vinoperson1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Refined and perfect dining in Azay Le Rideau”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We came here on a Friday night. The restaurant has a nice outside seating area. Service is done perfectly, very hospitable welcome. We both had the menu des saveurs (42€), each course has multiple choices. Food is high quality traditional French gastronomy, nothing world shocking though. Large though pricey wine selection.

Definitely a place to recommend, make sure to book ahead and ask for outside seating if possible.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Junta253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Aigle d'Or also viewed

Azay-le-Rideau, Loire Valley
Azay-le-Rideau, Loire Valley
 
Azay-le-Rideau, Loire Valley
Azay-le-Rideau, Loire Valley
 

Been to L'Aigle d'Or? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing