We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Tranquil”

Review of Prieure de Relay

View of the 'Priory' - One of the two Guest house
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View of the 'Priory' - One of the two Guest house
View of the 'huntig lodge' - One of the two Guest house Inside the XII century Church
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
37 reviews
View of the 'Priory' - One of the two Guest house
View of the 'huntig lodge' - One of the two Guest house
Inside the XII century Church
View from one of the sixth rooms of the 'Priory' - Pigeon house
The swimming pool and the solarium
In the reception room - a family event
In the reception room - a wedding event
In the reception room - a family event
Living room - the cheminee in the back - 'Hunting Lode'
Living room - 'Hunting Lode'
Kitchen - 'Hunting Lode'
Kitchen - 'Hunting Lode'
One of the sixth bedrooms - 'Hunting Lode'
One of the sixth bedrooms - 'Hunting Lode'
One of the sixth bedrooms - 'Hunting Lode'
One of the sixth bedrooms - 'Hunting Lode'
One of the bathrooms - 'Hunting Lode'
Dinning room - 'The Priory'
Kitchen - 'The Priory'
Living room - 'The Priory'
One of the sixth bedrooms - 'The Priory'
One of the bathrooms - 'The Priory'
Portal of the property -  'Prieuré de Relay'
One of the bathrooms - 'The Priory'
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chateau -
6 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Azay-le-Rideau, Indre-et-Loire, Centre-Val de Loire

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 37 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Any
English first
jodiwoffi...
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
“Tranquil”
Reviewed June 16, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We stayed at the Hunting Lodge with our 4 children (under 12) and had a wonderful time. The property is wonderful, full of history and tranquil with just the sounds of nature. The house fit us perfectly with room to spread out. Beatrice was so helpful with restaurant recommendations and reservations (take her suggestions!). We had a wonderful trip to the Loire and wouldn't hesitate to recommend the Priory.

Traveling group: En famille avec jeune(s) enfant(s)
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 17, 2016
It was great to have you stay! A wonderful family who were eager to learn more about French culture and make the most of the historic site in the loire valley
You are welcome at the Priory whenever you wish!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff M
Akaroa, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“At once authentic and unique”
Reviewed November 4, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

The Priory is a testament to the commitment and hard work of its owners, Beatrice and Stephane - they have preserved and maintained the ancient church and priory without compromising its history. This genuine part of France comes complete with wild boars, deer and pheasants, with starry skies and absolute peace, and is yet only a few kilometres from all the Loire has to offer. Our guests loved it - especially the guided tour of the property.Thank you. We will be back next year.

Traveling group: En grand groupe / Visite guidée
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 5, 2015
Thanks Geoff and Jennifer for being such wonderful guests!
We enjoyed having you to stay and opening our historic Priory to you and your friends from New Zealand!
We look forward to welcoming you back next year for new adventures visiting the Loire valley with everything it can offer , great restaurants, wonderful brocantes and of course the chateaux!
Next year you will notice some changes as we continue to restore the historic buildings with passion and much hard work as you know!
take care and be in touch soon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John B
1 review
“Fabulous quiet rural retreat in perfect French countryside of the Loire”
Reviewed August 23, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

If you are looking for the authentic French countryside exprience then the 2 Gites on this historic site are a unique location not to be missed. The buildings are recently converted and refurbished from an old monastery that is full of history.
We visited as part of a large family group and found plenty of space for children to play, peace and quiet for the adults, the pool was a treat on the long hot days, finally sitting out on starlit nights with no light pollution with the whole family spotting meteors.
The local area is great for cycling with Azay le Rideau only an easy 7 miles away on back roads. There is a boulangery close by in Sache, we took it in turns to cycle to in the morning.
For the more adventurous there are many local cycle routes on marked ways passing Chateaux, basket weaving, troglodyte caves, towns and markets.
Getting provisions is a short car ride down the road to Azay with all you would normally need including a mid sized Carrefour.
Travel options for our group included: a couple by train, Eurostar to Paris then on to Tours (only 20kms away); one drove direct from Manchester in a very long day (not recommended); one via the ferry to Caen (shortest drive); the rest all crossed by Eurotunnel and stopped overnight near Rouen.
Voted by all family members (including kids) as a great all round holiday.
Finally a big thankyou to the owners for making us welcome including the history tour of the site and general advice about the area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The location and surrounding countryside
Liked least: Some of the beds were not comfortable for larger people
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 26, 2015
we really appreciated meeting you and your family and hope that you will be back to visit us and the Loire valley in the not too distant future!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MST56
Basel, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Space to relax”
Reviewed August 9, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We rented the main Priory Building which allowed us to spread out with 3 children and 6 adults (there was comfortable space for one more couple who could not manage it in the end). There are 3 well sized bath / shower rooms that was enough for the group, a large spacious kitchen / dining room, though most evenings we barbecued outside in the grassy courtyard. All rooms/ bedrooms are decently big, but retaining really nicely the feature characters of the middle ages. The owners were very helpful and thoughtful, particularly when one of the group fell ill. Location wise, it is well placed within easy reach of many great chateaus like Azay, Ambois, Chenonceau, Villandry. A great relaxing stay for the family and we intend to come back!!!!

Traveling group: En famille élargie
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cecilia R
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
“It was a pleasure to relax at this beautiful and unique property”
Reviewed August 5, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We were 2 families traveling together (a group of 10), and it was our honor and pleasure to stay at this lovely and unique property. The owners were so charming, welcoming and knowledgeable about the area. We were treated like family - truly wonderful- and we felt immediately at home. The pool was a tremendous help during warm days, and the house extremely comfortable. The site has a fascinating history - we would highly recommend staying at this property.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The owners and the relaxation - lots of privacy
Liked least: Wi-Fi is sonly available in one spot on property
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane H
Louth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A perfect place for a reunion, large family gathering, or just a peaceful holiday”
Reviewed July 26, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We enjoyed heavenly peace in the spacious historic grounds. The swimming pool was an added bonus during the hot weather when we were there. Beatrice is full of enthusiasm and information about the locality. Enjoy an amazing meal at the nearby restaurant or eat in total privacy in the garden listening to the birds and even a visit from a young doe. Remember to close the shutters in hot weather as the some of upstairs rooms can get a bit warm.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peaceful location
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Axel C
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“A truly amazing place! Perfect for a family reunion”
Reviewed December 29, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We rented this property with 24 close friends to celebrate my sister's birthday. We found the two houses are well equipped, with spacious bedroom and beautiful features.
The reception room is astounding with wooden beams and surrounded by gardens perfect for our dinner and party.
Stephane and Beatrice, the owners, were very helpful and welcoming. They gave us a hand with the organisation of the party and even helped with driving guests to the station.

We will definitely come back during the summer to check out the swimming pool with the kids!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The size of the accommodation and beautiful surroundings
Liked least: Unfortunately you need a car since shops are 10 minutes away
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing