We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel de Biencourt
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Val de Loire(Azay-le-Rideau)
$76
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Les Trois Lys(Azay-le-Rideau)
$86
$78
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Grand Monarque(Azay-le-Rideau)
$110
$106
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel des Chateaux(Azay-le-Rideau)
$81
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Troglododo(Azay-le-Rideau)
$113
$102
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
L'auberge Pom'poire(Azay-le-Rideau)
$97
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Balzac(Azay-le-Rideau)(Great Value!)
$81
Booking.com
View Deal
Chez Charitha(Azay-le-Rideau)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TrogloDelice(Azay-le-Rideau)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
A l'Ombre d'Azay(Azay-le-Rideau)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (371)
Filter reviews
371 results
Traveler rating
283
79
6
3
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
283
79
6
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsold schoollovely hotelpedestrianised streetloire valleycycling holidaythe ownerfree parkingdelightful place to staysmall hotelsmall gardenrestaurant recommendationsfamily roomtucked awaygreat showeronly stayed one nightsourced locallybreakfast buffet was delicious
Filter
Updating list...
100 - 105 of 371 reviews
Reviewed August 11, 2014 via mobile

The hotel and location are wonderful. Calm and quiet with the chateau and little shops and cafés right on the doorstep. We had the accessible room at the front off the breakfast room which was great. The shower room is really smart and the bedroom large with the nicest bed covers ever! Breakfast was good too. All for under €100. Highly recommend.

Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank ibizachicanina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fargues1, Propriétaire at Hotel de Biencourt, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write this nice comment about our Hotel.
We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay in the accessible room N°17 which is indeed spacious and cosy.
We hope to have the pleasure of hosting you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2014 via mobile

Stayed over on drive back from southern France to England. It's a beautiful hotel in a very picturesque village. Our family room had a double bed plus two single beds on an inter leading room, perfect for the four of us. The only negative was having to leave for the drive home, next time we'll make sure to spend a full day here.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank safa_in_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fargues1, Propriétaire at Hotel de Biencourt, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2014

Thank you very much for this kind review.
We are pleased to know that your family had a nice stay with us. We hope to see you again for a longer stay in the heart of the Loire Valley!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Lovely rooms that were beautifully decorated and a nice bathroom with a rain shower. The real selling point is the beautiful courtyard where you can sit and enjoy the french sunshine. Tea and coffee were provided and the fridge was very useful given the warm weather. The staff were friendly and helpful and we could have had breakfast at the hotel as well if we had wanted (10 euros per person).

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank HLochead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fargues1, Propriétaire at Hotel de Biencourt, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2014

Thank you so much to have shared your experience.
We are really happy to read you had a pleasant stay with us and want to thank you for being sensitive to the details we have implemented to make each stay a precious moment.
The courtyard is really nice to relax after a long day of visit. During sunny mornings, the breakfast can also be taken there.
We hope to welcome you again!
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2014

I feel bad and frustrated that I can't say more nice things about this place because after reading all the amazing reviews we had higher expectations. It was cheaper than many hotels we stayed in but we felt that the room we were given could have been better. The owners were friendly and helpful from the start - we only stayed one night - but the room was really not up to standard and felt a bit like a dark cell. It had no air conditioning and was very stuffy. The problem was that because it was very hot we didn't want to keep the window open with the light on in the evening because of mosquitoes so it was not a comfortable stay unfortunately. The bathroom was nice and modern but there was no cupboard to really hang up clothes, only drawers. Also, as the hotel is a converted school it had an echoey feel and, as our room was also next to the staircase, we did hear the other guests quite frequently very loudly coming up and down the stairs. The only other thing was that there was also no free water bottle provided in our room or fridge in our room (only a shared fridge downstairs in the main communal fridge). The breakfast, however, was lovely and good value for money. The bed was very comfortable as well.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fargues1, Gérant at Hotel de Biencourt, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2014

We are sorry to learn your room didn’t meet your expectations. We are even more sorry to discover it here and not during you stay when we could have found solutions. We could have proposed you a fan and a bottle of water, an upper room if available (you booked the Cosy twin room for 72€, our smallest and less expensive twin room), even proposed you to change of hotel. We remain a 3-star charming friendly hotel, we cannot be expected to have the same confort/services as the 4-star hôtel and château you stayed in Chenonceaux and Saumur. We perhaps were not the hotel category that you were looking for.

We are committed to the wellbeing of our guests and ensuring they enjoy their stay with care and attention, therefore we invite all our guests to come to us if anything is not going as well as expected.

Best regards,
Marie-Laure and Patrick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2014

My daughter and I stayed here overnight during a recent cycling tour of the Loire and were delighted to find such a welcoming, picturesque and stylish hotel set in delightful grounds on a quiet cobbled street in the heart of this pretty village. Great attention to detail and loving care has been given to the refurbished house, making for upmost comfort and convenience yet retaining the character and peaceful ambience of an elegant country house set within a pretty courtyard garden. We stayed in the "Degas" room which is a fabulously converted attic suite, beautifully decorated and with superb en suite shower room. Breakfast was delicious, with the emphasis on quality organic foods sourced locally and we loved sitting in the quiet of the patio garden to enjoy a wonderful start to our day. Thank you for a wonderful stay, we hope to visit again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Karyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fargues1, Gérant at Hotel de Biencourt, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2014

Thank you for this wonderful comment. What a pleasure to read it. We are always happy to welcome such enthusiastic guests.
The hotel De Biencourt has been a place of rest after a long day of biking with the en-suite bathrooms and its patio garden.
One again, Merci!
Marie-Laure and Patrick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews