We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What's not to love?”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Le Grand Monarque

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Le Grand Monarque
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Azay-le-Rideau
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
129 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“What's not to love?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this beautiful hotel. We had the "Tours" room which was enormous, pretty, atmospheric and quiet. Great bed, great sleep and a decent size bath (bliss for a cyclist!). The staff were friendly and helpful and dinner in the very chic restaurant was a delight. Highly recommended for any length stay in this charming village.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bev S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    101
    15
    3
    0
See reviews for
54
181
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Crystal Lake
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

We chose Azay-Le-Rideau after reading through the Rick Steves travel books as we preferred staying in a smaller, more intimate town. We happened to stay here during the summer soltice festivals and the for such a small town, it was quite lively. However, after the festival, the town was really, really, quiet. For us, this was great, But, if you want a larger town with more going on, this isn't the place for you.

As for the hotel, it was really quite lovely and the front desk clerk couldn't have been nicer. The owners have been rehabbing the hotel and have put a lot of work into it. Apparently this was an old "stage stop" back in the day. The bathroom was nicely appointed and the bed was really comfortable.

It would be nice if there had been an elevator but considering the age and layout of the hotel this may or may not be possible. However, the owner did graciously offer to take our bags upstairs but considering how much we pack, we felt bad asking him to do that.

The hotel has secure parking across the street which was very convenient. We did eat dinner and breakfast at the restaurant and thought it was very good.

Wouldn't hesitate to stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmcpmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

Perfect for travellers searching for romance and peace.
Strategicly located nearby the major Chateaux of Loire, by car. The breakfast is really nice. The acomodations very confortable, bathroom with bathtube...Just great!
The restaurant is amazing, but works only by reservation.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rodrigo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

We stayed at the Grand Monarque for three days with a bike group of 21 people. Everyone was happy with their room,food and service during our stay. The owner was visible working from dawn to dusk to see that our every need was met. We had a fabulous dinner there! San Diego Council of Ski Clubs bike group highly recommends this hotel to everyone.

Room Tip: Look on Trip Advisor for tips about which room to choose. The rooms in the back building are quieter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bubasanfrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

Our visit for 2 nights was very much at the end of the season & the hotel was quiet. On arrival it has a classy feel and we were made welcome by the friendly, helpful reception staff. Our room was large, comfortable, clean, delightfully in keeping with the history of the rest of the building, and our only criticism was that there could have been better lighting in a room with lovely rustic old windows. Dinner was in a large dining room which was quiet given the time of year, and our meal of rabbit & guineafoul was absolutely excellent, with 'wow' factor flavours often missing in much posher restaurants. However on the second night we found that the somewhat restricted menu had not changed, no doubt due to the quiet time of year, so we reluctantly ate elsewhere. Breakfast was well above average, with ample supplies of everything despite the small clientele.

The location is really good, in the centre of this delightful town, a short walk to the famous Azay-le-Rideau chateau, and convenient for driving to other Chateaux & sights. Private parking is available. All in all this is a highly desirable place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MisterCreosote1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
436 reviews
163 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 292 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

An 18 century Post House in the lovely town of Azay-le-Rideau. Excellent location in the heart of town. Our spacious room had all the comforts. Queen bed was quite comfortable. Modern bathroom with nice toiletries. Breakfast a bit pricey and not very tasty. Restaurant with limited choices. Staff, very attentive. Private parking on site, quite reasonable.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1trekky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
80 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

This is a cute little town, where the main attraction is the chateau.

This hotel looks very pretty from the outside, it has a beautiful courtyard, and nice lobby. Our room was on the third floor, and maybe the decor is a bit out of date up there, but it was still very clean and airy. We had a large room, but the furniture was a bit worn and mismatched a bit.

The wifi did not work in our room, and the staff worked very hard to get it working for us.

The breakfast was really good, and the hotel was clean and comfortable. They had a nice place for us to keep our bikes. The staff was very nice and always tried to be helpful.

I would stay there again if I came by this area in the future.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rlsybrandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Azay-le-Rideau
0.1 mi away
Hotel de Biencourt
Hotel de Biencourt
#1 of 10 in Azay-le-Rideau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
5.6 mi away
Le Haut des Lys
Le Haut des Lys
#1 of 3 in Villandry
5.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
11.8 mi away
Domaine de la Tortiniere
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Troglododo
Troglododo
#2 of 10 in Azay-le-Rideau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel des Chateaux
Hotel des Chateaux
#4 of 10 in Azay-le-Rideau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
10.6 mi away
Chateau d'Artigny
Chateau d'Artigny
#2 of 4 in Montbazon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Grand Monarque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Grand Monarque

Property: Le Grand Monarque
Address: 1 rue du Chateau, 37190 Azay-le-Rideau, France
Location: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Azay-le-Rideau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Azay-le-Rideau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Grand Monarque 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Le Grand Monarque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Grand Monarque Azay Rideau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing