We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1-night stopover during Loire Valley visit in April; pleasant hotel”
Review of Le Grand Monarque

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Le Grand Monarque
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Azay-le-Rideau
Certificate of Excellence
Nancy, France
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“1-night stopover during Loire Valley visit in April; pleasant hotel”
Reviewed June 2, 2012

This was our 1st trip through the Loire Valley. Since we toured around with our own vehicle, we were free to choose amongst the many hotels and B&B's in the region. A few factors led us to stay at Le Grand Monarque: location en route driving west to east; the great reviews; cost; pet-friendly. We travelled as a married couple with 2 dogs & a vehicle.

- ROOMS: we booked a standard double room for 1 nights- 76 euro ($100/night); we stayed in the room immediately up the stairs & to the right. We are accustomed to the varying sizes of European hotel rooms (ranging from almost non-existant in Paris to larger apartment-type hotels elsewhere.) Le Grand Monarque did not disappoint; the standard room had a wonderful amount of space, and even a nook with an additional single bed. The bathroom was sizable.
- HOTEL DINING: we did not check-in in time to make the dinner service, however 1 member of our group enjoyed the breakfast.
- PARKING: a large, free car park available just in front of the hotel.
- PETS: we brought our 2-medium sized dogs & the hotel was most understanding.
- WiFi: provided free-of-charge & in room.
- VILLAGE DINING: we arrived close to 9 PM on a Saturday night, however most of the restaurants in the village had stopped serving dinner (though partons were still eating.) The only place we found was La Ridelloise on Rue Carnot.
Overall, it was a pleasant stay in a quiet village. However, we did not use the hotel/village as a "base" for the Loire Valley castle tours, as we arrived in the evening after touring and left the next morning to continue east (did not visit the castle there). Would absolutely stay again if we toured through Azay le Rideau. Otherwise, we would probably seek accommodations in another village.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MacchitaoConBailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    104
    15
    3
    0
See reviews for
55
186
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2012

The Staff is extremely pleasant, on arrival of a group of 25 or so, they remained patient, friendly and very helpful. The rooms are beautifully decorated to a high standing. The food is presented with style and the wine (I could never have enough) was delicious. The hotel is in a quiet area, a few minutes from the chateau and the small but lovely town center. We had a excellent time and I can't wait to goback there to do it all again :-).

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hilda O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
190 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2012

On arrival at the hotel we were very warmly greeted. A large group of walkers had just arrived but were despatched to their rooms very quickly and efficiently. We were offered a normal room but decided to upgrade to one of the exclusive rooms. The man on the reception spoke very good English and immediately carried our two large suitcases up to a lovely room - all deep red walls and carpets with roof beams and natural stone walls. Lovely comfy chaise lounge too. The bathroom was of a decent size with a nice clean shower/bath and toilet. Toiletries were supplied. We chose not to eat in the restaurant that evening as the menu did look a little restricted but as other reviewers have mentioned there are plenty of local bars and restaurants to choose from. The secure parking across the road from the hotel was perfectly adequate but as previously mentioned the public central car park is next to the hotel and is free but do watch out for the market days. There are signs warning you that you will be towed if you park at the wrong time. The breakfast was a little steeply priced but was perfectly adequate with choices of cheese selections, ham selections, jams, cereals, toasts and croissants or pain au chocolate and a good selection of teas. Fresh juices were also a good choice. You could also boil your own egg. I don't really understand why people can complain that there is no lift when they are in a 200 year old building which would not be suited to having a lift installed without spoiling the whole point of the hotel. The stairs weren't steep and they were quite wide and as mentioned previously the luggage was all carried by the concierge anyway. Lovely stay overall and would recommend it to others for a stay. Very close to the chateau which is lovely.

Room Tip: We had an exclusive room which was very good but having said that we didn't see the regular room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mouse010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripon, WI
Level Contributor
158 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2012

My wife and I, along with our daughter and grandson, stayed at this hotel for three nights. It is nicely located in the middle of a small town and less than 200 feet from the Chateau. The rooms were spacious and clean and the service was warm and helpful. The breakfast was excellent and the dinners at the restaurant were great. We would certainly stay there again and have already recommended it to our travel agent. The town is also a treasure. It is small enough for walking and is extremely well situated for visiting the Loire Chateau, most of which are within an hours drive.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BillW611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2011

13 of us stayed September 2011. Rooms, owner, staff, food fantastic. Nothing was too much trouble. Thoroughly recommend this hotel for individuals and groups. Will definitely stay again when in the region. The chateau in the town is one of the best. Town festival also on during our visit - good.
Many thanks to all at the hotel.

Room Tip: All rooms we saw had individual character as they are in a listed building. Good size. We had room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda_doreen_hubbard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2011

Our room (Chartreuse) was spacious with a queen size bed. The bathroom was also huge but let down by a cheap but large vanitory unit. There was nowhere to fix the shower over the bath but other than those two minor issues it was a very good hotel and the service was exemplary. Off street parking was available as was free WiFi.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexFHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2011

Our first stop on our 3 week holiday in France and it'll be hard to beat! The staff were very welcoming and friendly, the room was stunning - vey clean, comfortable and tastefully decorated. Breakfast was delicious and more than adequate, and very reasonably priced. The hotel is centrally located in the town and easily accessible with a free car park across the road. We loved our stay and would highly recommend Le Grand Monarque!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Libster05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Azay-le-Rideau
0.1 mi away
Hotel de Biencourt
Hotel de Biencourt
#1 of 10 in Azay-le-Rideau
332 reviews
5.6 mi away
Le Haut des Lys
Le Haut des Lys
#1 of 3 in Villandry
244 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel des Chateaux
Hotel des Chateaux
#4 of 10 in Azay-le-Rideau
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Troglododo
Troglododo
#2 of 10 in Azay-le-Rideau
222 reviews
10.6 mi away
Chateau d'Artigny
Chateau d'Artigny
#2 of 4 in Montbazon
466 reviews
14.4 mi away
Clarion Hotel Chateau Belmont
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Grand Monarque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Grand Monarque

Property: Le Grand Monarque
Address: 1 rue du Chateau, 37190 Azay-le-Rideau, France
Location: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Azay-le-Rideau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Azay-le-Rideau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Grand Monarque 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Le Grand Monarque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Grand Monarque Azay Rideau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing