We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I've never stayed in a cave!”
Review of Troglododo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Troglododo
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Azay-le-Rideau
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 16, 2011

The rooms are literally carved out of the mountainside. Whitewashed with lime plaster, beautifully appointed, and most likely the most unique place you will ever stay. The owner told us that 100 years ago 1/2 of the population in this region lived in hollowed out caves. Our room had a 400 year old bread oven and kitchen sink carved in the rock. Our room included a complete bathroom with roman shower, queen size bed, TV, sofa, coffee table, definitelt not your average cave. I strongly recommend this unique experience.

Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
3  Thank RickHampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (267)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 267 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2011

We stayed in the Victoria H room. Beautiful. The room is spacious, with a fire place, lounge area, fresh flowers, a stereo and even a small hidden kitchenette and a separate cloakroom. The bathroom is spacious as well, with a big shower.
The rooms are excavated in the tuffeau, therefore you can feel a bit of dumpness but it's not disturbing and you quickly get used to it.
it's very quiet and clean and I would recommend it for a few relaxing days in the Loire valley.
Breakfast was ok (but no croissant, no pain au chocolat..)
The owners are very kind and helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IlGenio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2011

A perfect complement to visiting the fairy-tale castles nearby was staying in the hi-tech, super-cool caverns of Troglododo. The most original hotel I've ever stayed at, warm reception, fabulous breakfast and totally comfortable and clean. A treat for young and old!

Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
Thank Ellen_France
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank Meldia92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2018, traveled with family
Thank Riderced
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank 51lojuma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2018, traveled with family
Thank lilieloulou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Azay-le-Rideau
5.6 mi away
Le Haut des Lys
Le Haut des Lys
#1 of 3 in Villandry
335 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel de Biencourt
Hotel de Biencourt
#2 of 10 in Azay-le-Rideau
363 reviews
11.1 mi away
Domaine de la Tortiniere
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Le Grand Monarque
Le Grand Monarque
#3 of 10 in Azay-le-Rideau
342 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel des Chateaux
Hotel des Chateaux
#4 of 10 in Azay-le-Rideau
104 reviews
9.9 mi away
Chateau d'Artigny
Chateau d'Artigny
#2 of 4 in Montbazon
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Troglododo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Troglododo

Address: 9 Chemin des Caves, 37190 Azay-le-Rideau, France
Location: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Azay-le-Rideau
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Azay-le-Rideau
Price Range: $80 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Troglododo 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Troglododo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing