We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A local passing by...”

Restaurant Cote Cour
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“A local passing by...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

We found this restaurant after a quick search of good local restaurants on the internet. What a lovely find, the hostess was charming, the food of a high standard and the wine delicious. When we were browsing the menu mid-afternoon a local lady (very elegant and well dressed) nodded at us and just said 'tres bon' as we passed. She was right.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tottytime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    176
    121
    18
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
expat The Hague
Level Contributor
105 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Small, informal dining, great value for money, book ahead.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

Limited but tasty menu and good value local Tourraine house wine and pear liqueur. Missed a cheese board but delicious goat's cheese salad with pears cooked in local style.

Friendly, efficient service by half-American (daughter of owner?) waitress.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Philippians4-6_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, England
Level Contributor
116 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Madam Misrepresented”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

Three of us booked a meal here for the day after explaining to Madam owner that one of us had diabetes and one with a strict celiac condition, and was reassured by her that food could be adjusted, and served safely.
5 starters, all of which had sugar/honey, etc. and couldn't be adjusted, so no starter for one. 2 main courses available, and we all had the Guinea fowl (something none of us would choose if there'd been more choice). It was tasty, but portions were small with minimal potato and vegetables, but the worst was to come. There was clearly a sugar-base in the sauce (which one became suspicious of) causing blood glucose levels to be 4 times higher than what they should have been, despite appropriate and well-practised insulin injection to regulate. We chose a 19 Euro Chinon wine that was one of the worst wines we've tasted, and one 25 cl beer, and the bill came to well over 100 Euros for 2 starters and 3 main courses.
The restaurant was full, and Madam paid lots of attention to locals we believe (they are probably her bread and butter off-season) but was somewhat neglectful of us. Maybe our needs were a bit too complicated, but why did she take the booking, misrepresent what could be done and pay so little attention to visitors. Money, money, money? Glad of our bags of crisps when we got back to our hotel!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jamelyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cupertino, California
Level Contributor
90 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Don't miss this!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

Great service, great food, great ambiance, great deal. While there were many other choices during our 24 hour stop, we ate there for both lunch and dinner, and couldn't have been happier!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
503 reviews
234 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
“Decent tourist restaurant”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

This restaurant is situated right by the entrance to the chateau so the official language here is English - not many French patrons this evening. The owners seem to be French but our waitress was at least half American. We ate dinner which consisted of an appetizer and a main dish: good, simple family cooking from the region.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GlobetrottingSwede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Cote Cour also viewed

Azay-le-Rideau, Loire Valley
Azay-le-Rideau, Loire Valley
 
Azay-le-Rideau, Loire Valley
Azay-le-Rideau, Loire Valley
 

Been to Restaurant Cote Cour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing