We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overall Good Value for the $/Euro” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Le Vinci Loire Valley

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Le Vinci Loire Valley
Ranked #12 of 25 Hotels in Amboise
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Overall Good Value for the $/Euro”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2009

Reading the prior review, I was a bit uncertain as what I had gotten myself into by booking a room at this hotel. I can say, I was pleasantly surprised. Overall it is a good value for a simple, quiet, clean, and comfortable hotel. If you are seeking nightly turndown service with slippers, chocolates, and a full time concierge who can get you a hot air balloon ride at dawn, do yourself a favor and take your ego and go elsewhere. If you are like most of the rest of us (read: sensible and realize you are just sleeping here) and need a good place to stay, I recommend this hotel highly. It is a good distance from Amboise itself but if you are visiting the Loire Valley, you should really have a rental car to permit you to visit the chateaux you want to visit at your own pace. The rooms are very simply furnished, very modern and my room had a king sized bed. Breakfast was good though a bit pricey. Parking is free (A plus!)

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The_Harpers_in_LA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    191
    59
    9
    9
See reviews for
39
276
12
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carlsbad, CA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2009

I had read the previous reviews and was expecting a nice hotel. I was very disappointed with the "newly remodelled" old hotel. The hotel was quite a distance from the center of town. It was a VERY basic hotel with no ambience. I did not like this hotel and was glad that we only stayed one night. I used the internet and it was extremely slow and difficult to use. I wouldn't stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carlsbadgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, CA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2009

During Christmas week 2008, we just walked in and found this wonderful hotel in which to stay. It was a nice surprise since we prefer small boutique hotels with a lot of character. Though the decor was modern, the feel was just what we like. The rates were low, the service was knowledgable and with a smile, the hotel rooms were large for european standards and the bathrooms were modern and worked well.

  • Liked — location & modern conveniiences
  • Disliked — the mini bar; it would have been nice to have an empty refrigerator for left overs
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank PennyJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minas Gerais
Level Contributor
85 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2008

The room is very clean, beatiful and spacious. The hotel is some distance from the city centre, OK if you are travelling by car. Excelent hotel!!!!!

  • Liked — Comfort
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Legr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2008

We booked this as part of a 5 night break, through Brittany Ferries, our first night having been spent in Caen. The room at the Le Vinci was far better, plenty of space for us, and the best bed ever!! 6ft wide, and lovely and firm- bedlinen was immaculate. We had a bathroom, and separate WC, very useful. The bath towels provided were a decent size, too..hooray!! The whole hotel was immaculate, and the staff very friendly and helpful.

Safe car parking was a useful bonus. We spotted a red squirrel darting across the lawn at the back of the hotel...a rare sight for us.

We did walk to town one day, when we visited the chateau at Amboise, and it was a reasonable walk, though we found plenty car parking in the town, so tended to drive into town for our evening meals.
Amboise is a lovely town, and we would certainly choose to stay at the Le Vinci again.

  • Liked — comfortable bed, big, fluffy towels!
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank fifiHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, Georgia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2008

We spent one night here on a recent trip to France and Spain. This is pretty much what we expect from a 3-star French hotel---clean, quiet, and pretty comfortable but nothing to write home about. The room and bathroom were on the small side, but that's what we expected. The staff were friendly and helpful, and the breakfast was impressive for such a small hotel. The biggest drawback was that the hotel is not really within walking distance of the chateau and the "intown" area of Amboise. My husband and I love to walk when we travel, but the distance was too great for one of our fellow travelers. I would certainly consider staying here again but would want to look at other options in the Loire Valley as well.

  • Liked — clean; nice staff
  • Disliked — distance from town center
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank AtlantaDoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atkinson, NH
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2008

My wife & I (Americans in our 60s) spent 2 nights at the Hotel
Le Vinci during a 3 week trip to France & Switzerland in late
May 2008. I had booked their 2 night package that included
breakfast for 149 Euro (~$235). Without a doubt, this hotel had
the largest, most modern room (and bathroom) of any hotel we
stayed in during this trip. The breakfast, especially the
coffee, was very good. We did use the car to go back to Amboise
center in the evening but there was plenty of free parking
(the metered spots are free after 1830). A very nice place to
eat dinner in Amboise is Restaurant L'Amboiserie. Sit outside
on the terrace and order one of their dinner crepes and if
you're not too full, one of their dessert crepes.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank atkinsonguy16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amboise hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel le Clos d'Amboise
Hotel le Clos d'Amboise
#4 of 25 in Amboise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
2.4 mi away
Chateau de Pray
Chateau de Pray
#1 of 1 in Charge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
1.4 mi away
Logis La Breche
Logis La Breche
#10 of 25 in Amboise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Novotel Amboise
Novotel Amboise
#9 of 25 in Amboise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 815 reviews
2.6 mi away
Chateau de Perreux - Amboise
Chateau de Perreux - Amboise
#1 of 2 in Nazelles-Negron
4.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bellevue
Bellevue
#19 of 25 in Amboise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Le Vinci Loire Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Le Vinci Loire Valley

Property: BEST WESTERN Le Vinci Loire Valley
Address: 12 avenue Emile Gounin, 37400, Amboise, France
Location: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Amboise
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Amboise
#9 Luxury Hotel in Amboise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Le Vinci Loire Valley 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
" In the heart of the Loire Valley castles, at only 1500 meters from Amboise royal castle and the « Château du Clos Lucé », the last house of Leonardo da Vinci.The “Best Western Le Vinci Loire Valley” hotel is in Amboise the ideal location to comeand discover all cultural and culinary treasures of our region.Amateur of great vintages, the Wine Touristic Road will drive you along of the Loire River with its beautiful landscapes and vineyards.' ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Le Vinci Loire Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Le Vinci Loire Valley Hotel Amboise
Best Western Hotel Amboise
Best Western Amboise
Amboise Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing