We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food”
Review of Logis La Breche

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Logis La Breche
Ranked #10 of 25 Hotels in Amboise
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 6, 2008

We stayed at La Breche for two nights. The food is excellent and the staff very friendly. Upon arrival it was disappointing to find the hotel locked until 4.00pm each day. Our room was a little tired however and the bathroom needed up-dating.

Stayed: September 2008
1  Thank WiltshireBracken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (326)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

181 - 187 of 326 reviews

Reviewed August 17, 2008

The hotel is situated just a few minutes away from the train station, which is very convenient for those who travel by public transport, like we do. It's a 10-15 minutes' walk to centre of the town. The rooms are rather spacious and nicely decorated, the bathroom is large and had all the necessary amenities. We only stayed one night and had to leave early so we didn't see much of the owners but they seemed very nice when they welcomed us. The room was not ready when we arrived but we were able to leave our things without a problem, to have a nice walk in town and come back later to find the luggage already in the room.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Ksu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2008

This small hotel is a cozy, friendly place, rather charming. I was there as single but got a fairly spacious, pleasant room. The proprietor is quite friendly. There's a problem, though, if you don't arrive at the appropriate time, because there may be no one there and the gate to the garden and entrance will be locked. I found the dinner very mediocre, but that may be because I was the only one dining that night, a Monday night. If you're arriving by train, it's in a very convenient location near the station, on a nice quiet street. But it's removed by a 10 or 15 minute walk from the center of town, where all the sights are--the tourist office, chateau, restaurants, etc. It is one of the least expensive hotels in the area so a very good value.

Stayed: May 2008
1  Thank mary h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2007

Easy 3 minute walk from Amboise Rail Station. Very friendly proprietor. I was given a room in annexe, not in main hotel. It had wooden beams in ceiling, and appeared to be a shed or garage that had been converted to a couple of extra rooms. shower and toilet was fitted into room and were always very cold and damp - no proper ventilation. Furniture looked like garage sale/second-hand shop finds, but had a sort of charm. The breakfast each morning was in main hotel. Delightful dining room. Wonderful selection of crusty bread, cereals, juices, cold meats, cheese, jams and coffee. The breakfasts were the most enjoyable thing for me.
Takes about 10minutes to walk from hotel into town (crossing bridge across Loire river). Would rate this guesthouse/hotel 2.5 to 3 star.

Stayed: May 2007
4  Thank Avanti_SG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2007

A great little bed and breakfast in Amboise. The proprietor was very helpful, and the room was fine for my husband, myself and my 13 year daughter. We had the best dinner deal of our France stay at this place- There was an appetizer buffet and a dessert buffet, with a great meal in between. I don't remember the cost, but it was around 17 euros ( a great deal). The weather wasn't great while we were there, but I think the gardens would be wonderful to sit in and have a glass of wine (or 2; this is France!)

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 6hendersons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2005

The rooms in the La Brèche are a little worn, but charming. What truly made staying in this hotel such a delight were the warm and friendly staff, and great food. The folks here go out of their way to make you feel comfortable, even pulling out a French / English dictionary when we were curious what the French word for the small game bird we had for dinner was (guess what - it's was caille / sounds very like "quail"). And if you're wondering whether to arrange for half-pension here, go for it. We didn't make our arrangements that way, but ended up having dinner the first night at the hotel as we got there later and didn't feel like walking into Amboise (the hotel is close to the train station, and only a 15 minute walk to the center of Amboise, across bridges crossing the Loire River). We had such a great meal and cheerful interaction with our waiter, that we had dinner again the next night at La Brèche (only one of two restaurants we visited twice during a month long trip in France & Italy). Staying in Amboise worked out great for our short tour of the Chateaux in the Loire Valley, and we enjoyed Amboise itself. Working models of Leonardo's mechanical designs at the Da Vinci House was especially interesting, with most of the models placed in a lovely park like setting.

16  Thank tulipe57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017
1  Thank dan f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berthelotj, Propriétaire at Logis La Breche, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amboise hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Le Manoir les Minimes
1.3 mi away
Chateau de Perreux - Amboise
Chateau de Perreux - Amboise
#1 of 2 in Nazelles-Negron
243 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel le Clos d'Amboise
Hotel le Clos d'Amboise
#4 of 25 in Amboise
645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Le Pavillon des Lys
Le Pavillon des Lys
#6 of 25 in Amboise
381 reviews
0.7 mi away
Le Manoir Saint Thomas
Le Manoir Saint Thomas
#2 of 25 in Amboise
643 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bellevue
Bellevue
#19 of 25 in Amboise
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Logis La Breche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Logis La Breche

Address: 26 rue Jules Ferry, 37400, Amboise, France
Location: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Amboise
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Amboise
#5 Romantic Hotel in Amboise
Price Range: $79 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Logis La Breche 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, HostelWorld and TripOnline SA so you can book your Logis La Breche reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Logis La Breche Hotel Amboise
La Brèche Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing