We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stopped One Night On The Drive South”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Le Manoir Saint Thomas
Ranked #2 of 25 Hotels in Amboise
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We were driving with our two small dogs from the ferry terminal at Cherbourg to St Tropez area and needed a first night stop. We found Amboise to be very well situated on our route and chose the Manoir St Thomas as it welcomed dogs.
The hotel has been created from a beautiful 12th Century abbey - still full of character and period detail. Close to the chateau, the old town and main routes out of the town.

We found standards to be extremely high in all respects - comfort, cleanliness and the most delicious breakfast in a charming breakfast room. Several commentators have criticised the lack of a restaurant but many in close walking distance I didn't see that as a problem. Do be aware that many close on Monday!! So do what we didn't do - book dinner in advance.

The lady who carried out check out for us couldn't possibly have been more warm and charming and we have every intention of returning to the Manoir St T at the next convenient opportunity.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Frank P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (626)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

156 - 162 of 626 reviews

Reviewed June 8, 2013

Our family of five(three adult children from 22-30)traveled to France this year.We stayed in amboise for two nights,St Thomas was an excellent choice.Its location is perfect for exploring the chateau country as well as minutes from a charming town with a castle/walls looming over it.
The staff was very helpful in dinner suggestions and very welcoming.The rooms were specious and the beds were comfortable.The bathrooms are a nice size.The house is hundred of years old but kept immaculate.There is free parking .It was a wonderful place to start our trip to France.
The town is great.We walked the small streets and found wonderful places to eat dinner and breakfast.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bdi123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Le Manoir Saint Thomas is surrounded by old walls and is is only a two minute walk to Chateau Amboise.t is located in the bright, cheery town of Amboise which is very conveniently located between many chateaux. As I entered the front entrance, i was struck by the awards it has received from Trip Advisor and other entities. The decor has been tastefully chosen. it is clean and cheery.
We stayed in the Junior Suite (room 7) on the second floor . Our suite had a sitting room which could be used as a second bedroom. Our bedroom was small but comfortable with a large antique wardrobe. The bathroom was modern with a large bathtub and had held shower but no shower curtain. The bed was very comfortable. We were provided with slippers, bath salts, and many other amenities such as a mending kit, shoe buffing kit, etc

Our children stayed in the Traditional room ( number 2) on the ground floor. They had an anteroom with large closet, very modern large bathroom, and a spa shower. Thier bedroom was small but comfortable.

Breakfast is 17 Euros per person. It is has a smaller selcetion with small potions but ht e food is excellent.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank klkb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in May. The rooms certainly have character as other reviewers have commented - I particularly liked our antique but fully functional copper shower. The convenient location to the castle is also good. However, we obviously did not read the small print when booking. We wanted a hotel with its own restaurant because 2 of our party have limited mobility. The hotel website calls itself a "hotel and restaurant" but the restaurant closed down apparently one or two years ago. With the quaintness of the rooms comes also quaintness of room access so visitors should be aware that some strength and fitness is required to get cases up to the first and second floor rooms (no lift). Sleep was limited because each morning we were woken at about 5 o'clock by trucks making a loud racket outside. Final negative point is that the hotel did not initially know that they had already charged my credit card with a substantial deposit on booking. I had to tell them about this and ended up with a bill that was altered in handwriting to reflect this.

Postive points were the very helpful and friendly breakfast service, parking off-road in the grounds, drinking the great local wine out on the lawn.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Keith063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We enjoyed only for one night this amazing place.
Even we booked a traditional room, they upgrade us for a very spacious room, named Catherine de Médicis.
It is a very old propriety, very good kept, clean and modern, furbished with excellent taste. You can imagine that are in a real castle!
only 4 minutes walking to the main street.
The breakfast is pricy, but very good.
For sure, we’ll come back!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank InesTa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

This Manoir house is situated on the edge of the town centre of Amboise within just a few minutes walk to the main shopping area and the Chateau. Set within walled gardens the property is clean and well maintained throughout.
We decided to opt for the largest suite in the building which unbeknown to us at the time of booking was on the second floor and there are no lifts. So if humping luggage up two storeys is not your thing (there was no assistance offered at registration) go for one of the "comfort" rooms which as far as I could tell are all situated on the first floor.
Although the suite was in roof space, it was clean well furnished but it just lacked enough windows and the few that were there overlooked the adjoining car park.
Breakfast was good and no eveing meals were available at the time we stayed. I would say this was perhaps at the upper limit to what they should charge for this type of accommodation but maybe the comfort rooms may have offered better value for money.

Room Tip: ask for a first floor room overlooking the gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fairline1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

We stay in Amboise approximately once a year on our way back to the UK and this time we stayed in this B&B, which is now our favourite.

Fantastic room, we were looked after very well, breakfast was nice, and great location. Not too formal either which is good travelling with kids.

We didn't try the restaurant.

We will come back here

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BvdV001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amboise
0.3 mi away
Hotel Le Manoir les Minimes
1.7 mi away
Chateau de Pray
Chateau de Pray
#1 of 1 in Charge
595 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel le Clos d'Amboise
Hotel le Clos d'Amboise
#4 of 25 in Amboise
629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Le Choiseul
Le Choiseul
#8 of 25 in Amboise
409 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Pavillon des Lys
Le Pavillon des Lys
#6 of 25 in Amboise
374 reviews
15.0 mi away
Domaine de la Tortiniere
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Manoir Saint Thomas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Manoir Saint Thomas

Address: 1 Mail Saint Thomas, 37400, Amboise, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Amboise
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Amboise
#2 Family Hotel in Amboise
#3 Romantic Hotel in Amboise
Price Range: $150 - $283 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Manoir Saint Thomas 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Manoir Saint Thomas, dating from the 12th century, lies in the centre of peaceful Amboise- just five minutes walk from the medieval Royal Castle of the Kings of France and the Manor House of Leonardo da Vinci. A perfect place to pass a few days. 10 beautifully appointed air-conditioned rooms, each with a luxury bathroom en-suite, satellite TV and minibar. And, to relax, a shaded, secluded garden with a heated swimming-pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Le Manoir Saint Thomas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Manoir Saint Thomas Hotel Amboise
Le Manoir Saint Thomas Amboise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing