We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you're not lucky enough to own a chateaux....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Le Manoir Saint Thomas
Ranked #2 of 25 Hotels in Amboise
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 20, 2012

The property is situated just below the castle, with ample parking (public or private). Short, pleasant walk to city center and Di Vinci's house.

We stayed in the standard room and were pleasantly surprised. Generous space--almost like a 1bdrm w a den. The bathroom was an absolute delight-- probably the largest most comfortable shower I've had in the 3+ yrs I've been living and traveling in Europe (including 5star stays). The bath's wooden accents gave it a modern feel, but still very tasteful and in keeping with the traditional feel of the hotel.

Common space (library, garden, pool) were tidy and peaceful. Only 10 or so guest rooms, so plenty of space for everyone. Other than coming and going, we really didn't see (or hear) anyone... felt as if we had the property to ourselves.

If you're doing a driving tour from burgundy to Bordeaux with a Loire stop, you really should consider ambroise and if you do go, look no farther... perfect hotel! Peaceful and relaxing.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TrippyAG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (643)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

208 - 214 of 643 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2012

Terrific location a few minutes walk from the chateau and restaurants of Amboise. We only spent one night en route from the Dordogne. Charming old building, parking, friendly and helpful staff, nice furnishings, good bathroom. Would not recommend the Catherine de Medici room as it was very noisy (being under the wooden stairs we could hear other guests going up and down both late at night and early morning). The room was also quite dark because of the stained glass windows and the aspect onto the town carpark was not appealing. Having said that I would stay here again just not in that particular room. It was excellent value for money and a great location.

Room Tip: Catherine de Medici was noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kookaburra58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Stayed 4 nights in this quiet and very pleasant hotel. Interesting chateau style building with typical French leaded windows and shutters. Well furnished and appointed to a high standard, super bathroom, comfy bed. Secure parking in grounds behind gates locked at night. Staff extremely helpful. Located about 200m from main centre of Amboise which is a lovely town and a great place to stay on way to or from Channel ports.. Hotel is small and more like a B&B with no evening dinner, only continental breakfast (very good) and you let yourself in at night. Would thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wrightscrewe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Enjoyed a 2-night stay at Le Manoir Saint Thomas and was impressed with this small hotel. I found the front desk staff especially helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

We stayed in Le Manoir St Thomas for 5 nights, although we had to switch rooms for the final night because they were booked out. We loved the big room we got, room number 4 if I remember correctly. It was spacious with lead light windows, old decoratively painted ceiling beams, a beautiful huge wooden wardrobe - very atmospheric. The bathroom was brand new and modern. Breakfast was delightful, but you have to be fast to be sure to get the best peppered goats cheese and crusty rolls. If you ask they will make proper espresso with a jug of hot milk. It was good to be able to park securely right outside, and be in the midst of the sights of amboise, yet it was very quiet. One complaint: you get free internet codes, but they expire after 9 hours, so if you come back at night after the reception staff have gone home there's no internet until morning. That's just silly.

Room Tip: We got the more expensive room, and it was lovely. The last night we moved to a less expensive room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vietnambound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights as part of a fortnights holiday in France. We stayed one night in the 1st floor St Thomas Room and then two nights in the ground floor Catherine de Medicis Room (due to availability when we booked). Both rooms were extremely comfortable but we particarly liked the St Thomas Room -the polished smell of the wooden floor in that room will stay with us forever.

Follow the directions carefully to find the hotel - it involves driving in and out of a nearby public car park so isn't that straight forward.
Breakfast was an excellent french spread of fresh beads, croissants, fruit, cheeses,eggs & cold meat and served in a calm and unhurried manner in the breakfast room. The hotel is well positioned to explore the Loire Valley. There Is a wide variety of restaurants in Amboise so it is no problem that the hotel doesn't offer an evening meal.
The staff spoke English well -certainly better than our ability to speak French, it was clear they were well used to having English speaking guests.

WI fi is available at no additional fee but the coverage was not that reliable.

We did find that the Catherine de Medicis Room suffered from noise carried through from the floor above -toilet flushing, floor boards creaking when waked on etc. On this basis some people might prefer an upstairs room.

Room Tip: We would recommend a 1st floor room and a room facing the garden will be quieter than one facing the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2012

We very much enjoyed our stay at Le Manoir St Thomas. We had a superior room on the 2nd floor which had lovely old beams, views over the garden, a great bathroom and a very comfortable bed. The grounds were locked at night (entered by using a security code) leaving no concerns over the safety of the car or its contents. We did not eat breakfast at the hotel so cannot comment on that. The only downside was the narrow winding staircase to our room which made getting the luggage upstairs a little difficult, but I suppose this is to be expected in such an old property. I would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2pards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amboise
0.3 mi away
Hotel Le Manoir les Minimes
1.7 mi away
Chateau de Pray
Chateau de Pray
#1 of 1 in Charge
607 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel le Clos d'Amboise
Hotel le Clos d'Amboise
#4 of 25 in Amboise
645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Chateau de Perreux - Amboise
Chateau de Perreux - Amboise
#1 of 2 in Nazelles-Negron
243 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Choiseul
Le Choiseul
#8 of 25 in Amboise
420 reviews
15 mi away
Domaine de la Tortiniere
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Manoir Saint Thomas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Manoir Saint Thomas

Address: 1 Mail Saint Thomas, 37400, Amboise, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Amboise
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Amboise
#3 Romantic Hotel in Amboise
Price Range: $129 - $291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Manoir Saint Thomas 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Manoir Saint Thomas, dating from the 12th century, lies in the centre of peaceful Amboise- just five minutes walk from the medieval Royal Castle of the Kings of France and the Manor House of Leonardo da Vinci. A perfect place to pass a few days. 10 beautifully appointed air-conditioned rooms, each with a luxury bathroom en-suite, satellite TV and minibar. And, to relax, a shaded, secluded garden with a heated swimming-pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Le Manoir Saint Thomas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Manoir Saint Thomas Hotel Amboise
Le Manoir Saint Thomas Amboise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing