We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What an awesome hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Le Manoir Saint Thomas
Ranked #2 of 25 Hotels in Amboise
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 1, 2011

We loved this place! Everything from the creeky wood floors (take your flip flops) to the pool in back and the location. The staff was wonderful and spoke English well. The stained glass windows were historic and wonderful. Of all of the hotels we stayed in, this was by far our favorite for a historic boutique hotel. The location was great - close walking distance to Leonardo's house and all of the sites around town. We will stay there again and again!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DLemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (643)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

277 - 283 of 643 reviews

Reviewed May 27, 2011

We enjoyed our time here. The rooms were comfortable and it was pleasant to sit outside in the evening as the weather was unseasonably warm. It is close to restaurant areas of the town and parking is fine there. The staff were friendly and welcoming.

So we had a perfectly happy stay there for a couple of days. My only hesitation is that in some other places we stayed for the same price we were blown away by either the building, the room size, the charming friendliness of those who looked after us. Perhaps for the price, there is some more unforgettable experiences around? But at the same time, we enjoyed it and they looked after us well. So I would be happy to go back again, although perhaps when rooms were at a special rate.....

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vague travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2011

We have booked the junior suite for a weekend. The room is very spacious for 2 persons and can sleep up to 4. The bathroom is spacious and the personal hygiene products available for the clients are of excellent quality. The decoration of the room and of the common parts of the hotel blend very nice with the history of the building. The staff is really friendly and ready to answer all your questions or demands.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thangeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2011

Me and my wife arrived at Le Manor St Thomas around 11:30 pm and it was all locked up and no one opened the door after long ringing the doorbell. After calling the phone # that appeared on the wall, we were given a code to get in and were told that our room is open and ready for us. The place is really charming in every way. Our room was on the top floor with a large window and beautiful view. The room was large and clean and so was the bath. The only problem was getting the suitcase up the stairs , the idea that we had to give up right from the start. All together, we loved the location and the town Ambiose.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gidigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2011

Superb walking location for four-star lodging. Spacious room, very clean with very friendly staff. Elegant breakfast provided in separate dining salon. Good quality facial products and towels. Rooms are soundproof despite traffic noise outside. Authentic decor gives this place a warm and welcoming feel.

Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
Thank bnc2oths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2011

My family and I stayed here recently for one night and we had a wonderful experience. We had two rooms and both were comfortable with great, modern bathrooms. The hotel location is also superb, with the chateau only a 5 minute walk away and Clos Luce about a 15 minute walk. The hotel also has a parking lot available on the grounds and the staff was friendly and helpful. The breakfast was also very enjoyable with a nice selection to choose from. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chrisully11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2011

Ambroise is a little off the beaten path for American tourists but for that reason we would highly recommend a visit. It's about a 3 hour drive from Paris. Le Manoir Saint Thomas was a wonderful experience -you will not be disappointed and in our view, well worth a stay. The staff are charming, the rooms are bright, beautifully decorated, clean & super-comfortable... we left the windows open & enjoyed hearing the birds in the morning & evening. A short walk away is "Reservation" a terrific and very reasonably priced restaurant -we would recommend this for your evening dinner.

Room Tip: Recommend 2nd or 3rd floor rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank begreen123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amboise
0.3 mi away
Hotel Le Manoir les Minimes
1.7 mi away
Chateau de Pray
Chateau de Pray
#1 of 1 in Charge
607 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel le Clos d'Amboise
Hotel le Clos d'Amboise
#4 of 25 in Amboise
645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Chateau de Perreux - Amboise
Chateau de Perreux - Amboise
#1 of 2 in Nazelles-Negron
243 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Choiseul
Le Choiseul
#8 of 25 in Amboise
420 reviews
15 mi away
Domaine de la Tortiniere
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Manoir Saint Thomas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Manoir Saint Thomas

Address: 1 Mail Saint Thomas, 37400, Amboise, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Amboise
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Amboise
#3 Romantic Hotel in Amboise
Price Range: $130 - $296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Manoir Saint Thomas 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Manoir Saint Thomas, dating from the 12th century, lies in the centre of peaceful Amboise- just five minutes walk from the medieval Royal Castle of the Kings of France and the Manor House of Leonardo da Vinci. A perfect place to pass a few days. 10 beautifully appointed air-conditioned rooms, each with a luxury bathroom en-suite, satellite TV and minibar. And, to relax, a shaded, secluded garden with a heated swimming-pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Le Manoir Saint Thomas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Manoir Saint Thomas Hotel Amboise
Le Manoir Saint Thomas Amboise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing