We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel le Clos d'Amboise
Nearby Hotels
Chateau de Perreux - Amboise(Nazelles-Negron)
$271
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
L'Auberge de la Ramberge(Poce-sur-Cisse)
$42
$39
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Le Choiseul(Amboise)
$236
$207
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$102
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (666)
Filter reviews
666 results
Traveler rating
353
229
63
10
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
353
229
63
10
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsloire valleycarriage housele closcharming hotelsuperior roomtop flooroverlooking the courtyardrue nationalefamily suiteon site parkingfree parkingswimming poolthe hotel's restaurantbeautiful groundsbreadtucked awayshort walk
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
229 - 234 of 666 reviews
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Lovely hotel and great location about 2 minutes walk from the centre of Amboise. Amboise is a very beautiful town right on the Loire with the town built round a very cool castle. In front of the castle is a whole street of restaurants, cafes and coffee shops so loads of options for dinner. The hotel has nice rooms, theres a pool in the grounds and breakfast is either in the dining room or outside in the grounds. Parking is limited at the hotel but there are 3 free car parks within about 200 yards so its not a problem.

Room Tip: We had one of the cheapest rooms available and it was very nice so I dont think you can go wrong whatever room you choose.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndyW_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leclosamboise, Responsable commercial at Hotel le Clos d'Amboise, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Dear guest,

We are so pleased to read you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for taking the time to share your impressions.

Become fan on our Facebook page, and follow us on Twitter and Google+ to get our latest news !

We do hope to welcome you back.
Best regards,

Emeline CHALIVAT
Sales Manager
Hôtel Le Clos d'Amboise - 4*

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We stayed here the day they were changing the sign to add an additional star. The place is certainly nice, there's a pool, it's quiet, the terrace is charming it's centrally located, etc. However, the room that we were given was on the top floor and was in not very good shape. The bathtub was cracked, the flooring was coming up and overall, the bathroom could have used some refreshing. Also, I bashed in my head a few times on the roof support beam that one must duck under to get to and from the sitting area and the bed. I can't comment on the other rooms but for the price we paid, we were expecting something special - but we got an average stay, instead.

Room Tip: If you're taller, avoid the top rooms with the support beams and check the bathrooms.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John-n-Jen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leclosamboise, Responsable commercial at Hotel le Clos d'Amboise, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for having taken a few minutes of your time to write a review about your stay at Hotel Le Clos d’Amboise.

Concerning your comment about the room, I have passed on the remarks to our front office manager in order to strengthen their team training, and deeply regret that you were disappointed. This unpleasant event is definitely not representative of the Hotel Le Clos d'Amboise - 4* please accept our apologies.

We hope to welcome you back to Hotel Le Clos d’Amboise - 4* in the near future and meanwhile, please be assured of our very best attention at each time.

Best regards,

Emeline CHALIVAT
Sales Manager
Hôtel Le Clos d'Amboise - 4*

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Lovely and well run little hotel. We arrived without reservation but were taken well care of immediately. Rooms are pleasant and clean. Garden quiet and inviting. We stayed only one night but this is a kind of place you'd be happy to spend a few days. Management was flexible and willing to accommodate. Well recommended!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ulf P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leclosamboise, Responsable commercial at Hotel le Clos d'Amboise, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for having taken a few minutes of your time to write a review about your stay at Hotel Le Clos d’Amboise.

As you mentioned we are located in the heart of Loire Valley to let our guests enjoy every single moment and most touristic places even for a short break in France.

Become fan on our Facebook page, and follow us on Twitter and Google+ to get our latest news !

We do hope to welcome you back.
With our best regards

Emeline CHALIVAT
Sales Manager
Hôtel Le Clos d'Amboise - 4*

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Small and pretty rooms with air conditioning and very good beds.
Bathroom completely new, well all the hotel is completely refurbished.
The house is very old and in the middle of the city, has a pool, big garden, and free parking.
Very quite.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andreu G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leclosamboise, Responsable commercial at Hotel le Clos d'Amboise, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for having taken a few minutes of your time to write a review about your stay at Hotel Le Clos d’Amboise - 4*.

As you mentioned we are located in the heart of Loire Valley to let our guests enjoy every single moment and most touristic places even for a short break in France.

We will be pleased to welcome you again for another enjoyable stay with us!
Best regards,

Emeline CHALIVAT
Sales Manager
Hôtel Le Clos d'Amboise - 4*

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

This was our second time to stay at Le Clos d'Amboise. The hotel has undergone some useful renovations since our last visit a couple of years ago. First, there is now an elevator; it's small, but it's nice to have. Second, the dining area has been enlarged so that the breakfast service is even more comfortable. The breakfast itself remains first rate and worth the money.

During our first visit we stayed in a large room on the second floor (first floor in France). This time we had a small (but cheaper) room on the third (top) floor because the room type we stayed previously was not available. This top floor room was well furnished, with comfortable bed, chairs, and desk. The bathroom was also well fitted and clean, with a large bathtub. However, the room had two features to be wary of. First, there was no grab bar for entering or exiting the bathtub. Given the relatively high sides of the tub there really should have been a grab bar. Second, a supporting beam for the roof pass through our room. This beam did not actually cost us usable space, but it did represent a tripping hazard. However, neither of us tripped over it. The was quiet, and we slept well.

As before, the service was excellent, and the staff was always friendly and helpful. The hotel is well located in Amboise, within walking distance of the Château d'Amboise, the home of Leonardo da Vinci, and the Loire. The hotel also has its own secure parking, which is quite useful for those travelers with a car. However, it's a tight fit for all the cars if the lot is full.

Room Tip: I would try to avoid rooms on the top floor of the main building.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bluecato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leclosamboise, Responsable commercial at Hotel le Clos d'Amboise, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for posting your comments and are pleased to read that you appreciated the location of our hotel.
Nevertheless, we took your comments in consideration and will check about this matter.

We hope to welcome you back to Hotel Le Clos d’Amboise - 4* in the near future and meanwhile, please be assured of our very best attention at each time.

Best regards,

Emeline CHALIVAT
Sales Manager
Hôtel Le Clos d'Amboise - 4*

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews