We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent, but beware of what room you get”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel le Clos d'Amboise
Ranked #4 of 25 Hotels in Amboise
Certificate of Excellence
Leysin, Switzerland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Decent, but beware of what room you get”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

We stayed here the day they were changing the sign to add an additional star. The place is certainly nice, there's a pool, it's quiet, the terrace is charming it's centrally located, etc. However, the room that we were given was on the top floor and was in not very good shape. The bathtub was cracked, the flooring was coming up and overall, the bathroom could have used some refreshing. Also, I bashed in my head a few times on the roof support beam that one must duck under to get to and from the sitting area and the bed. I can't comment on the other rooms but for the price we paid, we were expecting something special - but we got an average stay, instead.

Room Tip: If you're taller, avoid the top rooms with the support beams and check the bathrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John-n-Jen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leclosamboise, Responsable commercial at Hotel le Clos d'Amboise, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for having taken a few minutes of your time to write a review about your stay at Hotel Le Clos d’Amboise.

Concerning your comment about the room, I have passed on the remarks to our front office manager in order to strengthen their team training, and deeply regret that you were disappointed. This unpleasant event is definitely not representative of the Hotel Le Clos d'Amboise - 4* please accept our apologies.

We hope to welcome you back to Hotel Le Clos d’Amboise - 4* in the near future and meanwhile, please be assured of our very best attention at each time.

Best regards,

Emeline CHALIVAT
Sales Manager
Hôtel Le Clos d'Amboise - 4*
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

581 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    302
    206
    54
    9
    10
See reviews for
115
341
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barseback, Sweden
Level Contributor
74 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

Lovely and well run little hotel. We arrived without reservation but were taken well care of immediately. Rooms are pleasant and clean. Garden quiet and inviting. We stayed only one night but this is a kind of place you'd be happy to spend a few days. Management was flexible and willing to accommodate. Well recommended!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ulf P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leclosamboise, Responsable commercial at Hotel le Clos d'Amboise, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for having taken a few minutes of your time to write a review about your stay at Hotel Le Clos d’Amboise.

As you mentioned we are located in the heart of Loire Valley to let our guests enjoy every single moment and most touristic places even for a short break in France.

Become fan on our Facebook page, and follow us on Twitter and Google+ to get our latest news !

We do hope to welcome you back.
With our best regards

Emeline CHALIVAT
Sales Manager
Hôtel Le Clos d'Amboise - 4*
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
Level Contributor
75 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

Small and pretty rooms with air conditioning and very good beds.
Bathroom completely new, well all the hotel is completely refurbished.
The house is very old and in the middle of the city, has a pool, big garden, and free parking.
Very quite.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andreu G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leclosamboise, Responsable commercial at Hotel le Clos d'Amboise, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for having taken a few minutes of your time to write a review about your stay at Hotel Le Clos d’Amboise - 4*.

As you mentioned we are located in the heart of Loire Valley to let our guests enjoy every single moment and most touristic places even for a short break in France.

We will be pleased to welcome you again for another enjoyable stay with us!
Best regards,

Emeline CHALIVAT
Sales Manager
Hôtel Le Clos d'Amboise - 4*
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

This was our second time to stay at Le Clos d'Amboise. The hotel has undergone some useful renovations since our last visit a couple of years ago. First, there is now an elevator; it's small, but it's nice to have. Second, the dining area has been enlarged so that the breakfast service is even more comfortable. The breakfast itself remains first rate and worth the money.

During our first visit we stayed in a large room on the second floor (first floor in France). This time we had a small (but cheaper) room on the third (top) floor because the room type we stayed previously was not available. This top floor room was well furnished, with comfortable bed, chairs, and desk. The bathroom was also well fitted and clean, with a large bathtub. However, the room had two features to be wary of. First, there was no grab bar for entering or exiting the bathtub. Given the relatively high sides of the tub there really should have been a grab bar. Second, a supporting beam for the roof pass through our room. This beam did not actually cost us usable space, but it did represent a tripping hazard. However, neither of us tripped over it. The was quiet, and we slept well.

As before, the service was excellent, and the staff was always friendly and helpful. The hotel is well located in Amboise, within walking distance of the Château d'Amboise, the home of Leonardo da Vinci, and the Loire. The hotel also has its own secure parking, which is quite useful for those travelers with a car. However, it's a tight fit for all the cars if the lot is full.

Room Tip: I would try to avoid rooms on the top floor of the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluecato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leclosamboise, Responsable commercial at Hotel le Clos d'Amboise, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for posting your comments and are pleased to read that you appreciated the location of our hotel.
Nevertheless, we took your comments in consideration and will check about this matter.

We hope to welcome you back to Hotel Le Clos d’Amboise - 4* in the near future and meanwhile, please be assured of our very best attention at each time.

Best regards,

Emeline CHALIVAT
Sales Manager
Hôtel Le Clos d'Amboise - 4*
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft. Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
126 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

TRULY a HIDDEN GEM! Upon arrival in the rain, Monsieur Jouvin quickly came out with an umbrella and welcomed me. He parked my car, assisted with luggage and offered me a glass of wine. PERFECT after driving all day exploring. (Oh, how burdensome exploring France by car, hee hee.) This is a LOVELY lovely location... in fact it was actually my favorite place to stay for my entire trip! (Six weeks). It was SO peaceful! Everywhere were open windows (May), silence and beautiful greenery. See pix!! This is a fabulous hidden gem! Perfect walking distance to everything. (I am 63) Such a restful place with the most beautiful garden (!) and swimming pool. I loved everything including the beautiful carpet on my floor and the elegant room key! They will park your car and make everything easy for you. I loved staying here!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bfrancisdesign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leclosamboise, Responsable commercial at Hotel le Clos d'Amboise, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear guest,

We are pleased to have contributed to a happy time in your life.
We would like to thank you for encouraging our staff in providing a professional and friendly service to our visitors, this being one of the most important parts of their mission.

Become fan on our Facebook page, and follow us on Twitter and Google+ to get our latest news !

We do hope to welcome you back.
Best regards,

Emeline CHALIVAT
Sales Manager
Hôtel Le Clos d'Amboise - 4*
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
77 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stayed here only 1 night on our arrival into Amboise only because our other hotel only had 3 nights available to us. We stayed in a basic double room #2 with a view of the garden. You had to exit the lobby area back out and walk across the front walk to get into it.

It is a very nice property including a lovely continental breakfast with hard/soft boiled egg option (you make your own egg). The room was clean and did include a min-bar/fridge and the WI-FI worked and was complimentary. The bathroom was very long and had lots of space.

This was okay for 1 night but we could not have stayed in that particular room long-term. It was a very small room. It was the type where you need to put your bag in one spot to be able to walk through it. The shower was difficult to get working and you ended up just soaking the floor. We realized this is why it smelled of mildew. It's from the water on the floor getting under the carpet in the room. The smell was really bad in the closet as well and we kept that door closed.

The service was okay and they were kind of enough to hold our bags for the day on our early arrival (night train from Spain). I was kind of "put off" and frustrated on leaving when I checked out and actually had to pull out my printed confirmation noting my promotional rate that included complimentary breakfast (it was a direct booking on their website even). Their breakfast was expensive otherwise.

A nice place to stay with the pretty property and nice breakfast and a short walk from the center but I would ask for a bigger room if I was staying more than 1 night.

Room Tip: Ask for a large room with garden views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NewtonTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Louis2_Paris, Responsable commercial at Hotel le Clos d'Amboise, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear guest,

We are so pleased to read you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for taking the time to share your impressions.
All the comments are considered with good care because they help us a lot to improve our service.

Please note that you will always be offered ou best price and conditions by phone 33 (0)2 47 30 10 20 with our receptionists Patricia and Olivier or on our website : www.leclosamboise.com.
Become fan on our Facebook page, and follow us on Twitter and Google+ to get our latest news !

We do hope to welcome you back.
Best regards,

Emeline CHALIVAT
Sales Manager
Hôtel Le Clos d'Amboise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
134 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

My wife and I and some friends spent a couple nights here on our way to Bordeaux and had a great stay. The hotel seems to be an old house and photos are true to the website. We stayed in the standard room which was very well appointed and relatively spacious. Staff were always friendly and courteous. Bathroom was big with a shower. Our room had a portable AC unit which didnt seem to work, I spoke with reception and the gentleman said he would take care of it, apparently it required ice to work? It didn't work well/at all which we mentioned the next morning and the lady at reception was apologetic and moved us to a different room where the AC worked perfectly, and the room was quite an upgrade. It was larger but just as well appointed as our previous room. The grounds have a beautiful garden with lots of birds chirping and a pool which we unfortunately didnt get to use. The hotel is a short walk to the Chateau and the main streets of Amboise. We sat out in the garden and had some wine, it was awesome. Cannot comment on the breakfast as we went into town each morning.Would highly recommend this hotel, you will not regret it!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leclosamboise, Responsable commercial at Hotel le Clos d'Amboise, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for having taken a few minutes of your time to write a review about your stay at Hotel Le Clos d’Amboise.

Please note that you will always be offered ou best price and conditions by phone 33 (0)2 47 30 10 20 with our receptionists Patricia and Olivier or on our website : www.leclosamboise.com.
Become fan on our Facebook page, and follow us on Twitter and Google+ to get our latest news !

We do hope to welcome you back.
Best regards,

Emeline CHALIVAT
Sales Manager
Hôtel Le Clos d'Amboise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amboise hotels
1.8 mi away
Chateau de Pray
Chateau de Pray
#1 of 1 in Charge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Le Manoir les Minimes
0.1 mi away
Le Manoir Saint Thomas
Le Manoir Saint Thomas
#2 of 25 in Amboise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Chateau de Perreux - Amboise
Chateau de Perreux - Amboise
#1 of 2 in Nazelles-Negron
4.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Pavillon des Lys
Le Pavillon des Lys
#5 of 25 in Amboise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Choiseul
Le Choiseul
#8 of 25 in Amboise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel le Clos d'Amboise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel le Clos d'Amboise

Property: Hotel le Clos d'Amboise
Address: 27 rue Rabelais, 37400, Amboise, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Amboise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Amboise
#7 Romantic Hotel in Amboise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel le Clos d'Amboise 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in a beautiful mansion in the heart of the old town, Hotel Le Clos d'Amboise is surrounded by a 3 000sqm landscaped garden. Totally refurbished inn 2011 you will discover the new decoration in its 19 charming rooms and suites designed for your ultimate comfortFor unique moments of relaxation, a sauna and an outdoor pool are available on site. We also offer you to discover Touraine's specialty at our bar or at our shadow terrace. A free car park is provided in Hotel Le Clos d'Amboise, to make it easy for you to explore the surrounding area by car. If you have chosen to follow "Loire a Velo" itinerary we will offer your bicycle a shelter during your stay with us.All the individually designed guest rooms at the Clos d'Amboise offer a charming decor, perfect for a romantic escapade in Amboise ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel le Clos d'Amboise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Clos d`Amboise Hotel Amboise
Le Clos d Hotel Amboise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing