We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little bit of chic comfort in a beautiful part of France”
Review of Iris des Marais

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amboise
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Iris des Marais
Ranked #15 of 32 Amboise B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A little bit of chic comfort in a beautiful part of France”
Reviewed June 4, 2014

We have just spent two wonderful nights in the lovely apartment/little house which is part of Le Iris De Marais. What can I say really- everything was just perfect - from the lovely lounge chairs, to the fresh towels, comfortable beds, large spaces, great breakfast, generous hosts and all this within walking distance of everything and at a reasonable price. (I just wish I knew how to load my photos to this site)

Room Tip: We had the little house which is separate from the main house. This suited us as we could come and g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RhondaandDennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    11
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
21
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kirwan, Townsville
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 23, 2014 via mobile

We had three wonderful nights in the garden cottage at Iris des Marais. The B&B is in a top central location for exploring Amboise. Katia and Vianney are very friendly people and made us feel most welcome as soon as we arrived. The bathroom and bedroom are spacious with two lounge chairs in which you can sit and relax.

At breakfast time we joined Katia and the other guests around a large table in the dining room where we were able to engage in conversation on numerous topics including each others travel plans.

We would highly recommend this place.

Katia is only too ready to assist guests and gave us some great tips on good restaurants. nearby

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO. USA
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2014

I'm happy to sing the praises of this wonderful and welcoming hom,e in a spectacular location. We were greeted warmly by Katia, who showed us to what amounted to our own garden house which sits in the private walled garden of the main house. The garden home was very roomy, home spun, comfy, with a huge bathroom for Europe. We enjoyed the chateau tour and visiting Close Luce in town. Our favorite restaurant in town was Chez Bruno, across from the chateau, which alway gave us memorable food and wine in a nice atmosphere. Katia's husband was nice enough to drive us back to the train station, though we did walk over the Loire River to get there without too muchtrouble. The breakfasts, served in the dining room, were typically French, with the best yogurt and granola we've tasted anywhere. Highly recomment this very French accomodation!

Room Tip: Get the garden house if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bethalto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed January 9, 2014

We had a lovely stay in Amboise at the Iris des Marais. The owners are friendly and extremely helpful. The room was lovely, in keeping with the spectacular house, and perfect as a base to explore the region. Certainly a place to keep in mind.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire580
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longview, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

We had been wondering what these beautiful old homes were like inside, so it was fun to stay here. The owner was extremely friendly and spoke English very well. Breakfast was great, and she showed us her husband's art gallery next door. She also gave us a great restaurant recommendation - just down the street, and we never would have found it otherwise.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trudy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schaumburg, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Rustic and historic, this b&b is a great place with a few small compromises. The owners are great! They speak English and have a great breakfast with every accommodation. If prompted, the owners will be happy to tell you of the history of the home and more. Very close to the castle with great food nearby, you can't go wrong with this near hostel rest. We took two of the rooms. Four available with two bathrooms. A bit eclectic, but if you're patient, you will really enjoy.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vanishingpoint1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katia F, Propriétaire at Iris des Marais, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
hello, we were very happy to welcome you and I hope you will enjoy the rest of your trip!
cordially
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amboise hotels
0.0 mi away
Le Pavillon des Lys
Le Pavillon des Lys
#5 of 25 in Amboise
357 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel le Clos d'Amboise
Hotel le Clos d'Amboise
#4 of 25 in Amboise
604 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Manoir les Minimes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bellevue
Bellevue
#19 of 25 in Amboise
184 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Chaptal
Hotel Chaptal
#16 of 25 in Amboise
198 reviews
1.0 mi away
Novotel Amboise
Novotel Amboise
#10 of 25 in Amboise
888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iris des Marais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iris des Marais

Property: Iris des Marais
Address: 14 quai des Marais, 37400, Amboise, France
Location: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Amboise
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Amboise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3 Rooms next the castle. We can welcome 8 persons. The fares are: 55€, 65€, 75€, for 2 persons, breakfast included. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing