We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“La breche restaurant, Amboise, france,best presentation ever”

La Breche Restaurant
Reserve with
La Breche Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 86 Restaurants in Amboise
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $49
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids, Business meetings, Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Ancaster, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“La breche restaurant, Amboise, france,best presentation ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

This is an amazing restaurant and the presentation of food is outstanding!

We stayed at this hotel for 5 nights and ate here twice. Every one of the 4 meals were like photos out of a dining magazine. The variety of flavors from each plate was overwhelming. Not expensive and the best food we have had in 3 weeks of travel in France. The flavours and added touches are hard to beat.

The owners are charming and make you feel so welcomed.

Without hesitation. We would go back

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    382
    161
    29
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“If you're expecting fine dining, you're missing the point”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

This is not a full on gastronomic experience .. but that's not a criticism. This is good, wholesome, french food with a degree of refinement served with a smile in a hard-working family hotel restaurant. We had a range of dishes from the Menu Terroir that ticked all our boxes: a tarte tourangelle, pea and ham glace, chicken stuffed with mushroom, pork loin followed by a superb apricot tart. On top of that there were between-course tasters thrown in which made the 30 euro a head price tag - which included 50cl wine - excellent value. If you're staying in the town centre you can enjoy a ten minute walk over the river to help the digestion - but watch out for the midges.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank donlom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilversum
Level Contributor
38 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A nice place but not as Gastronomic as suggested by others”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

We sat outside in the garden and had very high expectations because of all the great reviews.
The Amuse bouche was a nice creme de courgette.
The starters where Langoustines with citrus, little bit overcooked and ravioli with snails. (6.5)
Te main was rabbit stuffed with veggies. Looked very pale on the plate and had the same taste.
(6-) But the dessert was delicious, a tarte au Abricot. (7+)
Other plus points, the staff, very friendly and looking out for your needs.
A relief after our other experience in Amboise, l'Epicerie.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“...eat outside if the weather's good :-)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

Garden setting is fantastic. Food, atmosphere and service were excellent. Don't know what else to say - absolutely no downside.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JonChalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
56 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Relaxed eating, good food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

After a dreadful delayed journey up from the South, we urgently needed somewhere to eat and relax. A quick phone call to La Breche confirmed that if we could get there by 9pm or thereabouts, they would be happy to serve us. Nothing was too much trouble, the staff were attentive but discreet, the food was delicious - particularly the little raviolis stuffed with goats cheese and in a delicious sauce of tomatoes, basil and pine nuts. As we sat alone in the delightful candlelit garden after the meal,with good coffee and refreshing mint tea, we reflected that it had been a perfect end to a difficult day. We first came to La Breche over 20 years ago, it was good to be back and it certainly deserves its high rating on Trip Advisor.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jules L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Breche Restaurant also viewed

Amboise, Loire Valley
Amboise, Loire Valley
 
Amboise, Loire Valley
Amboise, Loire Valley
 

Been to La Breche Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing