We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Finally, a place to spread out and relax in France!”
Review of Le Vieux Manoir

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amboise
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Le Vieux Manoir
Ranked #1 of 31 Amboise B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 13, 2014

We recently returned from a 16 day vacation to Italy and France with our 16 year old daughter. The majority of the first two weeks were spent at hotels, and though they were nice, it felt great to be in the cottage owned by Gloria and Bob at their bed and breakfast. It was wonderful having a place of our own without people on either side of us, above or below. The beds were comfortable, the fridge stocked with essentials, fresh flaky croissant delivered daily for a breakfast starter, an incomparable shower, etc... We were greatly appreciative of the maps/directions, restaurant recommendations, and other information Gloria provided to help make our short stay efficient and productive. She was extremely helpful in securing reservations for dinners and communicating with the balloon company who spoke mostly in French. Bob was moving constantly to make our stay and that of others comfortable and assure we had all we needed. It may be simplistic of us, but it was also a huge plus to end our vacation with hosts who spoke English well. Amboise is a great location for exploring the Loire Valley and is a quaint town which has a lot to offer within walking distance of the property including great restaurants. Our favorite was La Fourchette, can't say enough positive about that. Gloria was helpful in explaining the "rules" of the road in France. To explore the area fully a car or bike is needed. We would definitely stay again and wish we could have stayed longer! Thanks for everything!!!

Room Tip: Free wifi in main house. We stayed in one of the cottages and loved the privacy and space. Getting...
See more room tips
Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
Thank Kathy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (363)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

149 - 155 of 363 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2014

We couldn't have chosen a better base for our stay in the Loire Valley. Amboise is small enough to remain charming and large enough to provide a variety of restaurants, shops, and sightseeing opportunities. We also couldn't have chosen a better accommodation than Le Vieux Manoir, which offered so much more than the typical B&B. Upon arrival, we were happy to note private and secure parking. The manor is centrally located and within walking distance of the chateau and everything in town, yet is set back from the road, quiet, and surrounded by beautifully tended gardens. Our room, "Josephine," on the 2nd floor, was spacious and decorated with carefully chosen antiques, though the bathroom had thoroughly modern plumbing--instant hot water!--and fixtures. Everything has been carefully selected to be environmentally friendly: plush 100% cotton bedding and towels, plus wonderfully scented bath amenities. The public rooms of the house--reception, library, and breakfast solarium are furnished with an exceptional eye to detail, and we noted the fine Limoges china upon which was served a delicious breakfast of fruit, yogurt, cereal, breads, and homemade preserves. The hot chocolate was to die for! Other reviews have mentioned the personalities of our hosts, but we found both Gloria and Bob Belknap to be welcoming, interesting, and helpful. Gloria helped us to map out our daily itineraries and recommended scenic routes, oft overlooked places to visit, and restaurants options along the way. Our stay would not have been as relaxing or rewarding were it not for their them and their wonderful accommodation.

Room Tip: All of the rooms we saw were attractive. The main difference seemed to be size and perhaps privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelWiz60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2014

An unusual experience. Quite frankly, my wife and I felt like we were second class traveler's from the very moment we entered this beautiful property. The property was magnificent and the breakfasts served by Bob exceptional
However, the only way I can describe Gloria is an elitist and somewhat out of touch with he world around her. We were given two restaurant suggestion one of which was very good, while the second was not, in fact it was poor. Gloria suggested that if she had not recommended a restaurant it would be no good, if not on here list. Not true at all, based on our sampling of several eateries.
On departure we paid our bill only to receive an extremely rude and demanding email later that day indicating that we left without paying. In fact Gloria had mixed up the bills and it had been paid.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
6  Thank newexperiences2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldladyfrance, Owner at Le Vieux Manoir, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2014

I am really surprised by your review..You both were greeted with wine and maps and given all the information you requested.... La Fourchette is an excellent restaurant really liked by everyone and rated in the top 5 restaurants by TripAdvisor, maybe is was an off day....My recommendations
are based on the restaurants that, I think, really cook the food you are paying for..In France, as throughout the world, more and more restaurants are buying all or part of what you eat..Some people really can't tell the difference, and unless you smell food cooking, I have severe doubts..As to the confusion of your bill, I had just left the hospital after open heart surgery four weeks before your visit, and as I told you in the email apologizing for my error, I was having some memory problems...As to being out of touch, I don't think so and I have never send a rude email to anyone. Sorry, if you weren't pleased by what we do and we certainly try to please everyone.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2014

My second visit was just as magical as the first one 2 years ago. Gloria and Bob greeted my friends and i with open arms and a glass of chilled wine. The room we stayed on the second floor was beautifully and tastefully re-done by Gloria. Bob provided the best breakfast with fresh home baked apple with cinnamon, organic yogurt with varieties of granola, and an assortment of fresh cheese and pastry. Afternoon tea under the cherry tree in the front garden with Gloria was the highlight of our trip. She was so informative and entertaining and what a well of knowledge!! We cant wait to return to the Manoir!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ping17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2014

Gloria, Bob, LeVieux Manoir and the Loire Valley in that order, were the highlights of my trip to France. In May five of my girlfriends and I spent 4 nights with Gloria and Bob at their beautiful Manoir. Beginning with a glass of wine in the exquisite gardens we always felt most welcome. Six women with luggage need a LARGE van and I appreciated Bob’s patience in guiding me and our van through the front gate upon our arrival. Gloria is a wealth of information, suggesting sites for us to visit and remarkable restaurants for us to try. We always followed her recommendations and were always delighted with the outcome. The rooms were beautifully decorated with antiques and fabric that has been reproduced to reflect the time period and exceptionally clean. After busy days of sightseeing, we all appreciated the quiet, calmness of the location. Bob-the-Breakfast Man served a delicious feast each morning in the conservatory looking out into the back garden...French cheeses, bread, pastries, his special coffee, cereal...yummmm! I look forward to a return visit with my husband as he's very anxious to meet Gloria and Bob and tour the Loire Valley.

Room Tip: Wifi available but not in the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2014

Gloria and Bob are absolutely delightful! From the very first minute we arrived until we drove away, our visit was exceptional. Gloria graciously offered us a glass of wine when we arrived so she could visit with us about our plans while in Amboise. She made dinner reservations for us every night at wonderful places within walking distance. She was a wealth of information about the Loire Valley from local guides, which chateau to visit, and even the local wineries. Our room was perfect. You can tell that Gloria had a hand in every detail of the renovation because nothing was overlooked. The breakfast every morning in the conservatory overlooking the garden was wonderful! We would highly recommend Le Vieux. In fact, we can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Craftyone1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2014

After spending over two weeks in France (Normandy, Loire, Paris) the only negative people we encountered were Americans running this resort. Perhaps we should have known as we were told no talking after 10, no walking the grounds after 10, must clean up, no internet in cottages, trundle and twin beds in hot room with inefficient and LOUD a/c. Owners really could not have been nastier, hostile. Perhaps they simply need a different lifestyle. Too stressful. Moved down the street to Le Clos d'Amboise, where the staff could not have been nicer, with pool, LARGE breakfast and energy. Life is too short for stress!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank rddevita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldladyfrance, Owner at Le Vieux Manoir, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2014

When your group arrived with six people for a cottage that only holds four, we were certainly surprised and when you accused us of fraud and "switch and bait", because you had not reserved the cottage you wanted, we showed you your email reserving the gatehouse and our website that clearly shows the photos and names of the two cottages in the garden. Nothing would change your opinion and your mistake remained our fault..We still gave all your group free wine and tried to find accommodations for the two extra people...We were sold out and so was everyone else, so despite your insulting and rude behavior, we tried to help you in every way possible allowing the two extra people to sleep on the couch and an air mattress you had with you...We provided sheets, blankets, pillows, towels for them, all without a thank you or a kind word even though this was in violation of our insurance and business permit. We ask all our guests here to be thoughtful of others and noise in the garden is restricted after 10:00 as it is throughout France..We are in the center of town and for our guests and our neighbors, we ask thoughtfulness. For the thousands of guests who have stayed here, it's not been a problem, there are bars and restaurants opened late within a five minute walk. In the fourteen years we have offered our home to guests, we have only had a very few people who were not a pleasure to share our property with. I hope this always will be so and we can continue to give our very best welcome to courteous and thoughtful people from throughout the World.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amboise hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Le Manoir les Minimes
0.1 mi away
Hotel le Clos d'Amboise
Hotel le Clos d'Amboise
#4 of 25 in Amboise
649 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Manoir Saint Thomas
Le Manoir Saint Thomas
#2 of 25 in Amboise
650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Chateau de Perreux - Amboise
Chateau de Perreux - Amboise
#1 of 2 in Nazelles-Negron
245 reviews
1.9 mi away
Chateau de Pray
Chateau de Pray
#1 of 1 in Charge
610 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Pavillon des Lys
Le Pavillon des Lys
#6 of 25 in Amboise
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Vieux Manoir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Vieux Manoir

Address: 13 rue Rabelais, 37400, Amboise, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Amboise
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Amboise
Price Range: $136 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step back in time into Le Vieux Manoir, an enchanting 18th century mansion, completely restored in 1999 by an American couple, hidden in the heart of Amboise, a historic village with a celebrated Royal Chateau. The Manoir grounds are surrounded by ancient stonewalls that enclose the exquisite gardens and private secured parking for guests and create a warm and private world. Within a short stroll are over 30 restaurants and numerous charming shops. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Le Vieux Manoir Hotel Amboise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing